On Side Restoration Services Ltd.

Fire & Water Damage Restoration
3157 Grandview Hwy Vancouver BC V5M 2E9
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Fire & Water Damage Restoration
On Side Restoration Services Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

81%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2021 winner 2 timesBest of 2021winner 2 times

Reviews for On Side Restoration Services Ltd.

Average customer rating:
8.2 10 (251 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Sidney, BC
0/10

Insurance on a home we purchased

Has been going onto 7 months, no organization, job not done, dont know how they are still in business. Absolutely no customer service.

Approximate cost of services:
$25,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sorry to hear your frustration. We typically forward concerns in reviews to the relevant branch and senior leadership for follow up. With HomeStars it's difficult as we are not provided with contact information for the reviewer. That's ok, and we understand confidentiality. So you are aware, On Side has a Quality Assurance Team that would like to hear your issues directly so they can assist. Our QA Team can be reached via email at qualityassurance@onside.ca. They do investigate issues and concerns with the parties involved. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

Shelley
Shelley
0 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Awful work

Update- a response on this site but still no contact from ANY of the avenues used to contact and address concerns.

This company has been a nightmare to deal with. There has been absolutely no coordination of the trades, which is their role. Workers came without instruction or notice, and the quality of the work has been subpar at best.

Despite escalating issues to the complaints department and the general manager (as the responses to poor reviews suggest), no one has even contacted me to address concerns. I am now dealing directly with my insurance company, hiring trades myself and trying to get the quality issues addressed.

In reading these reviews, I see individuals citing months to get their claims resolved. It has been 14 months for me.

Do not deal with this company and steer clear at any cost!

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback Shelley. Very sorry to hear you have not been contacted about concerns you have raised. We have forwarded your comments on to Calgary management, your PM, our Quality Assurance team and members of our Senior Leadership. This will be discussed. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Prince George, BC
0/10

Want a 2 month project to take 8?

This company was a disaster from the start. A small reno that should have taken no more than 2 months ended up taking almost 8 months in part because the project manager Steve is completely incompetent. The day to day workers were great, but anytime we would ask for an update or when they were coming to finish we would wait days for Steve to respond and often we would end up messaging him multiple times for an update. If I knew it was going to take them this long I would have done the job myself.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good day. We have viewed your similar feedback on our Facebook page and have forwarded this on to our Prince George Branch Manager, Quality Assurance team, and members of our Senior Leadership group to investigate. You'll also notice that we have commented on Facebook and reached out to you for additional details via direct message. Hoping you can get back to us so we can forward details on to Prince George so everyone is looking at the correct job file. If you would prefer to reach out directly to our Quality Assurance team, they can be reached via email at qualityassurance@onside.ca. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Hardwood Flooring / Kitchen Flooring

My insurance company recommended onside as on of their preferred providers to replace my hardwood flooring as a result of a flood in my condo apartment in June 2021. When I contacted them they were very pleasant and arrived to my home for an estimate of damage. Because of Covid the advised that material would not be available until fall. I decided to have them change my kitchen flooring as well (at my cost)

They finally arrived with their crew in November of 2021 and because they had to remove of the furniture so that they could take up the flooring and replace with new I had to leave my home for a period of 2 weeks. When I arrived on a Sunday I spent a good part of the day cleaning up sawdust, coffee cups and cigarette butts on the balcony, pile remaining flooring in the corner and then move saws and heavy pry bars. I then realized that they had put many dents in my brand new refrigerator I presume from placing he's pry bars against it. The flooring had numerous gaps, and they did not sort the material as I now have numerous black boards that should never have been used. They have filled a number of the gaps (because they did not tape the boards together) and there is glue on the floor which will require a cleaner to remove. Furthermore, they did not follow my instructions to hide cable wiring despite my placing at least 1 dozen signs around the place and no transition moulding was purchased at the time the order was placed. It is now January 2022 and my floor is still a mess with numerous gaps and the transition moulding is not in place, a floor tile has to be replaced because it has a fairly large flaw in the middle of the floor and I have yet to receive a new refrigerator door. I have been advised that dit will likely be end of January before the job is complete.
When the manger arrived I showed him /them the workmanship and frankly he agreed that the flawed flooring should not have been used and that the cracks and blemishes should have been fixed.
I advised that I truly regret using the company and if it was not so much hassle would have them remove the flooring and I would go with a laminate. It has been 8 months and the job is still incomplete and absolutely unprofessional.
Terribly disappointed and despite the recommendation of the Insurer would never recommend them again.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good day. Very sorry to hear about your experience. We can understand delays in materials arriving but quality of work and care while in your home is of critical importance. We have sent this on to our Toronto Territory Manager as it appears this is the branch that would have assisted you. As is the case with all feedback, we have also sent this on to our Quality Assurance team. The HomeStars system makes challenging for us to identify the reviewer and therefore tough for personnel to follow up directly on these reviews. If you can send details to our Quality Assurance Team via email at qualityassurance@onside.ca - it will help us review your file and follow up appropriately. Thank you for sharing your experience. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

Amy in Prince George
Amy in Prince George
0 reviews Vancouver, BC
0/10

Flood damage assessment

We had a toilet leak from upstairs which led to a flood in our rental unit. Insurance adjuster set us up with Brock from On Side. The guy did not respond to our adjuster’s and our emails or phone calls for 4 weeks. After 4 weeks he contacted us to schedule a quote assessment. On the day of assessment, he did not show up. He didn’t answer to calls or emails. No one could track him down so we wasted an hour to get to the site and an hour waiting in the lobby. His supervisor Wade said he would reschedule us for the following week but we got no response. We didn’t get any apology or follow up so we had to go with another company. We have met flaky tradesmen before but never seen a tradesman so irresponsible, unprofessional and unresponsive before. We have advised our insurance company not to use this Brock specifically anymore.

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Amy, we have forwarded your experience on to our Vancouver branch and Quality Assurance team to review. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

Sagehill Park
Sagehill Park
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Flood

Stay away from this company at all costs! Poor communication starting with the site supervisor all the way down to the workers. Time lines not kept, poor workmanship, damage to personal property by workers. Insurance companies should not use this company as preferred vendors and we strongly advise finding a different company.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good day. We are sorry to hear that you have had a poor experience. We would like to look into this at our Calgary office, but will need additional details so we know what job these comments are associated with. Would you please forward additional details to our Quality Assurance team so we can investigate this on our side? Our QA Team can be reached via email at qualityassurance@onside.ca. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

hi in Comox
hi in Comox
1 review Victoria, BC
0/10

Worst company ever dealt with

We were charged multiple over time hours for restoration work because an employee locked the keys in the company vehicle. We tried to have the bill adjusted by the amount overcharged to know avail. It was an asbestos matter and it took them 5-6 days to show up to seal the asbestos and then got a ridiculous bill. We will never call them again.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,500.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Very sorry to hear this. Our team is aware of this job and have sent your comments on to our Quality Assurance Team, Account Manager, and Branch Manager. If you have additional comments that you would like to share, please email our QA Team at qualityassurance@onside.ca. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

HJ
HJ
1 review North Vancouver, BC
0/10

Overcharged and treated poorly

We hired Onside for a blockage repair caused from a clogged pipe that was overflowing our toilet. We couldn't find any plumbers available within a couple hours and was forced to choose these guys. The good thing about hiring them is that they are fast. A team arrived at our property quickly and started working right away. We had high hopes for Onside but unfortunately as soon as it came time to payment and issuing an invoice, Onside's customer service immediately changed.

Without my knowledge, they overcharged, overstaffed and worked overtime hours which totaled to a bill at least 3x what it normally should be. What they don't tell you or clarify in the authorization ahead of time is that they require multiple staff and even different companies to be involved to solve one issue because Onside itself can't handle it. That itself is mind boggling as they are marketed as an emergency repair company. According to the invoice and conversations with manager Brock there was over 8 staff members involved in a few hour-long job all with different hourly rates that we were forced to pay. Just to cover the hourly rates and staff charges was over $2 grand!!! On top of that they also automatically do additional testing and lab work which is another hefty charge. You have to pay for every minute, every material, every item used which is way higher than needed or any other company. I've never seen a company within the industry break down their fees and rates like this before.

We kindly explained to Brock that we were shocked at the charges and extra hours of staff and labour applied without out knowledge or consent and did not feel it was fair to pay for things we did not require or ask for. Brock immediately was very rude, defensive, and threatening to us and as customers, made us feel very neglected.

I highly DO NOT recommend this company and advise you to stick to a regular plumbing/repair company to ensure you are paying fair market prices and have complete trust in their work. These guys will not only rip you off they will disregard your requests and treat you poorly. Very unhappy with how this situation played out. If only we were treated fairly and professionally, we could have felt differently about them.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

As with all reviews, both positive and negative, we have shared with the relevant branch. In cases like this one, we also shared with our Quality Assurance team at the time of receipt. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

Lisa in Winnipeg
Lisa in Winnipeg
0 reviews Winnipeg, MB
0/10

Clean up of water damage/business

One of the worst experiences I’ve had with a company. Staff started out nice, but communication quickly stopped. I got different timelines from different people, and cleaning was not done well. Teams of at least 5 people were coming in every night, and barely anything was completed by morning.

Melissa just called me to update(?). I let her know how disappointed I was, and that their work would not be finished by Friday night, when promised. I was very professional with her, but she insisted on talking over me. When I continued speaking, she hung up on me mid sentence.

0 out of 5 stars. They should be embarrassed.

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

As with all reviews, both positive and negative, we have shared with the relevant branch. In cases like this one, we also shared with our Quality Assurance team at the time of receipt. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

Krista in Calgary
Krista in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Burst Pipe Remediation

The absolute worst company I have ever dealt with for anything. I would never recommend having them do any type of work. It’s been over 5 months now and my 1 bedroom condo is still not remediated from a burst pipe. It took 5 months to patch some drywall, only to have it look like a 5 year-old did the work. The quality of the work is terrible. A complete waste of my time. Zero project management skills to get anything done in a timely manner, and zero ability to get work done to an even average quality level. Choose another company. Do not let them anywhere near your project.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Krista. We're very sorry to hear about your experience. We have sent this to our Calgary Branch Manager and our Quality Assurance Team to investigate with staff. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about On Side Restoration Services Ltd.

On Side Restoration Services is ready to assist you with your water / storm / flood damage, mould remediation, fire restoration, storm damage, catastrophic property loss, bio-hazard remediation, content pack out / pack in / restoration. For B2B organizations, On Side features On Side Live, our 24/7 call centre and eClaim, our web-based and transparent project management software. Many restoration companies will make promises, we deliver proven solutions based on over 30 years of experience in Canada.

CATEGORIES
Fire & Water Damage Restoration and Mold Detection & Removal
PRODUCTS
On Side Restoration Services is ready to assist you with your water / storm / flood damage, mold remediation, fire restoration, storm damage, catastrophic property loss, bio-hazard remediation, content pack out / pack in / restoration.
SERVICES
For B2B organizations, On Side features On Side Live, our 24/7 call centre and eClaim, our web-based and transparent project management software. Content specialists with one-stop service for all required restoration or rebuild needs.
BRANDS
On Side Restoration Services Ltd., On Side Live, eClaim
SPECIALITIES
Standing by to assist: Home Owners, Tenants, Property Managers, Adjusters, Risk Managers, Brokers, Insurance Partners, Government Facilities, Recreational Facilities, Schools, Churches, Retail and more.
WEBSITE
http://www.onside.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1979
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
1200
PAYMENT METHOD
Credit Card, Cheque, Cash
MEMBERSHIPS
Restoration Industry Association RIA; IICRC; RCOC; PAMA; BCARC; CCI Ontario; ; WICC Platinum Level
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
President's Guarantee, Craig Hogarth: "I guarantee that the quality of the repair materials, repair
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.