On Side Restoration Services Ltd.

Fire & Water Damage Restoration
3157 Grandview Hwy Vancouver BC V5M 2E9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Fire & Water Damage Restoration
On Side Restoration Services Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

84%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 2 timesBest of 2021winner 2 times

Reviews for On Side Restoration Services Ltd.

Average customer rating:
8.4 10 (246 reviews)

Sort by

Sagehill Park
Sagehill Park
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Flood

Stay away from this company at all costs! Poor communication starting with the site supervisor all the way down to the workers. Time lines not kept, poor workmanship, damage to personal property by workers. Insurance companies should not use this company as preferred vendors and we strongly advise finding a different company.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good day. We are sorry to hear that you have had a poor experience. We would like to look into this at our Calgary office, but will need additional details so we know what job these comments are associated with. Would you please forward additional details to our Quality Assurance team so we can investigate this on our side? Our QA Team can be reached via email at qualityassurance@onside.ca. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

hi in Comox
hi in Comox
1 review Victoria, BC
0/10

Worst company ever dealt with

We were charged multiple over time hours for restoration work because an employee locked the keys in the company vehicle. We tried to have the bill adjusted by the amount overcharged to know avail. It was an asbestos matter and it took them 5-6 days to show up to seal the asbestos and then got a ridiculous bill. We will never call them again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Very sorry to hear this. Our team is aware of this job and have sent your comments on to our Quality Assurance Team, Account Manager, and Branch Manager. If you have additional comments that you would like to share, please email our QA Team at qualityassurance@onside.ca. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

HJ
HJ
1 review North Vancouver, BC
0/10

Overcharged and treated poorly

We hired Onside for a blockage repair caused from a clogged pipe that was overflowing our toilet. We couldn't find any plumbers available within a couple hours and was forced to choose these guys. The good thing about hiring them is that they are fast. A team arrived at our property quickly and started working right away. We had high hopes for Onside but unfortunately as soon as it came time to payment and issuing an invoice, Onside's customer service immediately changed.

Without my knowledge, they overcharged, overstaffed and worked overtime hours which totaled to a bill at least 3x what it normally should be. What they don't tell you or clarify in the authorization ahead of time is that they require multiple staff and even different companies to be involved to solve one issue because Onside itself can't handle it. That itself is mind boggling as they are marketed as an emergency repair company. According to the invoice and conversations with manager Brock there was over 8 staff members involved in a few hour-long job all with different hourly rates that we were forced to pay. Just to cover the hourly rates and staff charges was over $2 grand!!! On top of that they also automatically do additional testing and lab work which is another hefty charge. You have to pay for every minute, every material, every item used which is way higher than needed or any other company. I've never seen a company within the industry break down their fees and rates like this before.

We kindly explained to Brock that we were shocked at the charges and extra hours of staff and labour applied without out knowledge or consent and did not feel it was fair to pay for things we did not require or ask for. Brock immediately was very rude, defensive, and threatening to us and as customers, made us feel very neglected.

I highly DO NOT recommend this company and advise you to stick to a regular plumbing/repair company to ensure you are paying fair market prices and have complete trust in their work. These guys will not only rip you off they will disregard your requests and treat you poorly. Very unhappy with how this situation played out. If only we were treated fairly and professionally, we could have felt differently about them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa in Winnipeg
Lisa in Winnipeg
0 reviews Winnipeg, MB
0/10

Clean up of water damage/business

One of the worst experiences I’ve had with a company. Staff started out nice, but communication quickly stopped. I got different timelines from different people, and cleaning was not done well. Teams of at least 5 people were coming in every night, and barely anything was completed by morning.

Melissa just called me to update(?). I let her know how disappointed I was, and that their work would not be finished by Friday night, when promised. I was very professional with her, but she insisted on talking over me. When I continued speaking, she hung up on me mid sentence.

0 out of 5 stars. They should be embarrassed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Krista in Calgary
Krista in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Burst Pipe Remediation

The absolute worst company I have ever dealt with for anything. I would never recommend having them do any type of work. It’s been over 5 months now and my 1 bedroom condo is still not remediated from a burst pipe. It took 5 months to patch some drywall, only to have it look like a 5 year-old did the work. The quality of the work is terrible. A complete waste of my time. Zero project management skills to get anything done in a timely manner, and zero ability to get work done to an even average quality level. Choose another company. Do not let them anywhere near your project.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Krista. We're very sorry to hear about your experience. We have sent this to our Calgary Branch Manager and our Quality Assurance Team to investigate with staff. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kamloops, BC
0/10

Poor service from On Side in Kamloops BC

I paid the $2500 insurance deductible for a flood repair to my business, total cost was not told to me (probably around $9000). On Side's web site says they will remove all the furniture and business equipment, store it safely off site during the repairs, and then reinstall it after repairs are complete, BUT everything was left in the business and exposed to dust and scrapes during the repair. They removed the floors and baseboards, dried out the walls, rebuilt some of the cabinets, and replaced the baseboards. The repairs made were substandard, we had to call them back multiple times to get a reasonable level of completion on the repairs, and our business was down for 2 months waiting for completion. The customer is apparently responsible for quality control when dealing with On Side, as they offered me to sign off on the repairs as complete multiple times when they were not complete. Throughout this process, when we brought up items that were not completed to pre-loss condition, On Side said they would complete them only if we paid them out of pocket. We did not want to do this, given the generally poor quality of their work, so some repairs were never completed. We needed our business running, so we will complete them ourselves at our own expense.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Very sorry to hear this feedback. We have forwarded your comments on to our Branch Manager and have made our National Quality Assurance Team aware of this. If you would like to share additional concerns with our QA Team, they can be reached at qualityassurance@onside.ca. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

Rob in Brantford
Rob in Brantford
1 review Brantford, ON
10/10

Dedicated Team

Fabulous people that respond around the clock when homeowners need help immediately. Folks in the restoration industry are called upon when people are experiencing one of the worst moments as a homeowner - water damage, a fire, storm damage, or another devastating impact that has temporarily taken over their lives. Workers like those at On Side help their customers recover with empathy, understanding, and a lot of hard work. Challenges will arise, but in the end, families will recover and lives will return back to normal. On Side Restoration has strong leadership, great training, and crews that will go to the wall for their customers. Certainly a dedicated team that you can trust.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate the positive feedback. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

John in Burlington
John in Burlington
8 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

On Side Restoration Hamilton - storm damage

Had a sewer backup incident after a big storm on Aug.4 in the evening and called the emergency number at 9:30pm. On Aug.5 Chris our project manager was on scene at 9:00am. On Side staff arrived that afternoon to start work and begin the removal of wet carpeting and drywall. It was a big job in my mind and we were very impressed with the quality, speed and thoroughness of the work performed. From the project manager to the construction manager to all of the front line workers they were simply excellent. The quality of the finished work is top notch. I highly recommend On Side Restoration!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words John. Our team appreciates the positive feedback. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

DennisDD
DennisDD
0 reviews Vancouver, BC
10/10

Flood Emergency and restoration.

We came home from a vacation to a flooded house as a result of a burst water line on our main floor fridge. We called Onside after a recommendation from a contractor friend and they were at house shortly thereafter. They immediately conducted the emergency work and to start the clean up and drying out process. The damage to our home was fairly extensive with flooring having to be removed from the entire main floor and walls opened up to dry them out. Our basement was an entire gut job. We were forced to relocate during the whole process and Onside was with us every step of the way from providing support with the move and back, and was communicative through the whole process during the renovation. They even got us back into the house slightly ahead of schedule. This whole whole process (after the flood) has been positive and would recommend Onside to anyone. Overall a very good experience.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dennis, sorry your family had to go through such an ordeal with the flooded home, but glad our team was able to assist you every step of the way. Thank you for the very kind review and for the trust you showed in our On Side team. We appreciate the recommendation. Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kelowna, BC
10/10

Floor repair

We had used On Side twice with excellent service. Both times were needed to repair our unit for water damage. We had flooring replaced as well as dry wall repair. The workmanship and supplies were of high quality and we always had great communication. We are very pleased with the service and quality and would highly recommend this company to do any repairs in any home or business.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for the recommendation. Nice to hear you received high quality of workmanship and supplies along with great communication. That's what we like to hear! Sincerely, On Side Restoration.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about On Side Restoration Services Ltd.

On Side Restoration Services is ready to assist you with your water / storm / flood damage, mould remediation, fire restoration, storm damage, catastrophic property loss, bio-hazard remediation, content pack out / pack in / restoration. For B2B organizations, On Side features On Side Live, our 24/7 call centre and eClaim, our web-based and transparent project management software. Many restoration companies will make promises, we deliver proven solutions based on over 30 years of experience in Canada.

CATEGORIES
Fire & Water Damage Restoration
PRODUCTS
On Side Restoration Services is ready to assist you with your water / storm / flood damage, mold remediation, fire restoration, storm damage, catastrophic property loss, bio-hazard remediation, content pack out / pack in / restoration.
SERVICES
For B2B organizations, On Side features On Side Live, our 24/7 call centre and eClaim, our web-based and transparent project management software. Content specialists with one-stop service for all required restoration or rebuild needs.
BRANDS
On Side Restoration Services Ltd., On Side Live, eClaim
SPECIALITIES
Standing by to assist: Home Owners, Tenants, Property Managers, Adjusters, Risk Managers, Brokers, Insurance Partners, Government Facilities, Recreational Facilities, Schools, Churches, Retail and more.
WEBSITE
http://www.onside.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1979
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
1200
PAYMENT METHOD
Credit Card, Cheque, Cash
MEMBERSHIPS
Restoration Industry Association RIA; IICRC; RCOC; PAMA; BCARC; CCI Ontario; ; WICC Platinum Level
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
President's Guarantee, Craig Hogarth: "I guarantee that the quality of the repair materials, repair
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.