Man With A Wrench

Appliance Repair
Toronto ON M3A 3A5
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Appliance Repair
Man With A Wrench
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of the Best '22 
Best of Award '22 winner 8 timesBest of the Best '22 Best of Award '22winner 8 times

Reviews for Man With A Wrench

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (282 reviews)

Sort by

Anne in Toronto
Anne in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Dishwasher Repair and Fridge Door handle fixed

Dishwasher was leaking. Archie came out and couldn't find the source of the leak but tightened a water valve. He fixed fridge door and told me to take photos/video if the leaking continued. It continued and I sent a photo to which Archie determined that a valve required replacing. He came promptly and completed the service. I had some questions as to how the invoice was organized (parts versus service vs labour). Christina from the office responded quickly and clarified the queries.
I am very pleased with this service (both the technician and the office staff).

Approximate cost of services:
$300.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Anne,

Thank you for your great review!

It is great to hear that Archie and Cristina provided their best possible service to help you resolve the issue that you were experiencing with your dishwasher. Even if the issue returns, we always make sure to leave instructions for our clients to resolve the issue interim, or stop it for occuring until our technicians arrive.

If you run into any other issues with your appliances, plumbing, electrical, and/or HVAC, please dont hesitate to contact us, and we will be more than happy to help.

Thank you,
Team Man With a Wrench

P in Toronto
P in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Miele Dishwasher

Josh responded quickly to our service request to diagnose an issue. He arrived right on time, was courteous, very organized and clean. He provided the right information to deal with the issue.

Approximate cost of services:
$120.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Thank you for your great review!

We are very happy to hear that Josh was able to assist you with your Miele dishwasher repair, and was able to provide you with all the required issue to solve the problem at hand.

If there are any other issues with your appliances, plumbing, electrical, and/or HVAC, please dont hestitate to contact us, and we will be more than happy to help!

Thank you,
Team Man With a Wrench

CarrieLawson in Toronto
CarrieLawson in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Dishwasher not working

My dishwasher was not working and man with a wrench sent someone out right away. Demitri noticed the dishwasher was not secured and that the latch was not engaging. He fixed it in minutes. The latch came loose again and I called him and he came right back and modified the latch so it would hold. I would use them again.

Approximate cost of services:
$75.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Carrie,

Thank you for the great review!

It is great to hear that Dimitry was able to repair the issue with your dishwasher within the first visit, as we always strive for minimal visit counts in order to provide the most efficient service.

If there are any other issues that you experience, please make sure to contact us, and we will be more than happy to help!

Thank you,
Team Man With a Wrench

Pam in Toronto
Pam in Toronto
9 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Don't recommend Man with a Wrench

Stay away from this company! Needed our Miele dishwasher repaired. Provided the serial and model number as well as the error, hoping this would mean they would come prepared with the part we needed. The technician diagnosed the problem as the gasket being worn, but he didn't have the part in his truck. We were charged $150 for labour plus cost for parts - $330 - which they were going to order in for us. Didn't hear from them for approx 2 weeks. When I tried calling during this time, no one answered the phone. Finally reached them only to be told that Purolator lost the parts being shipped/they were delivered to a convenience store and they were going to let me know...when? Ordered the parts again, technician came back and put them in. The next morning, the dishwasher was still broken, same error. The owner calls to talk about the purolator mix up, wants to talk about all the steps involved in fixing a dishwasher and then says he will give me a discount on the labor for the 3rd visit. I mentioned to him that the first technician informed me that their policy is free labor if there is a problem with the service within 3 months. He backed off when I reminded him of his policy. A different technician comes (I appreciated them sending their 'best' guy) puts in the new part (a relay) and charges us on the spot like the other technician for $62.00 (cost of the part).
I just got a voicemail from his accounting person stating that we owe another $240.00. I am baffled. Try to call but no answer so far. Will try again shortly...

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Pam,

Thank you for sharing your views of the situation and breaking it down in a way that will allow us to assess it diligently and improve it in the future.

I would like to help address the situation entirely from the technical perspective as well.

The miele dishwasher displays an error code in a single way. from the perspective of the user it will always say intake/drain and have a flashing light meaning it will look the same regardless of what the real reason for the failure is. In order to get exact error codes; service mode must be accessed which is done by a tech. The first error code was an F11 error representing a drain issue. Once this issue was repaired the technician tested the unit and it did not fault out. He left the dishwasher running to ensure it finishes the cycle and doesn't fail. If it does fail then we would receive a quick call back so that we may act fast. However the dishwasher only failed the next morning when it was used again.

When we arrived on site to assess it further the second error which did not exist on the first visit was an F24 representing a failure in the heating circuit. It is not possible to assess a problem that isn't present at the time of the assessment. The 2 errors are unrelated to each other. We had the parts in stock and we offered not to charge any additional labour as well as provided a partial refund for the first visit reducing the labour of 150 to our service call rate of 95+HST (107.35).

To repair the second error the cost of the parts was 240 and no additional labour was charged.

The dishwashers end result was that it was left operational after the F24 was addressed. It is currently working and fixed.

Regarding part deliveries:

We use Purolator for deliveries as that is the delivery company miele uses by default to ship parts to service providers. All Miele parts come from Germany if not in stock and with the difficulty of moving shipments with the current pandemic, part delivery times have increased in general while the demand for repairs has increased.

We take a lot of pride in our service and in times that things don't work out as planned we do our best to fix them within the means available to us. We would never intentionally have our clients go through a stressful situation.

In this case we only charged a total of $107.35 labour for both error code repairs and the rest of the charges were for parts. The price of this repair is very fair.

We are always working to improve the delivery times and do our best to stay on top of expediting orders. We will continue to work at this and eliminate the kinks as we go.

We appreciate all of our reviews as they allow us to improve and understand our clients needs better. Thank you for taking the time to explain your concerns.

Thank you,
The Man With a Wrench team

MEW
MEW
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Excellen Service

Man with a Wrench is an incredible service! Friendly, swift, and most impressive is that their technicians really know what they're doing. They found the problem with my new, still under guarantee Miele refrigerator when the Miele technicians (2 called for this problem) did not know what to do and recommended that the ice build up was normal, and so was the moisture accumulation as well as the buzzing sound that was driving us crazy. Luckily I called Man with a Wrench, who fixed the noise problem and diagnosed the rest as a problem with the Sealed System (whatever that means) and if it can't be repaired, then Miele should replace the fridge because it is definitely defective. So now I have to get Miele here to do that - unfortunately Man with a Wrench doesn't do this work, because I much prefer dealing with them than Miele itself!! Monica

Approximate cost of services:
$10.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Monica,

Thank you for the great review!

At Man With a Wrench, we always make sure to provide all required information for your repairs, even if it is a scenario as yours where the repairs are not possible to be completed. We are happy that we were able to help in resolving your issue with your Miele refrigerator.

If there are any other issues that you experience, please make sure to contact us, and we will be more than happy to help!

Thank you,
Team Man With a Wrench

Barb
Barb
7 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Water Dispenser on Fridge Repair

I hired them after reading their reviews on Homestars and I'm so pleased I did. A tech arrived promptly and diagnosed the problem quickly and efficiently. It was a clogged water line.

A lot has been said about deceit in the industry - the tech could have very easily said a part was needed and bill accordingly. After all how am I supposed to know? Not with "Man with a Wrench". They are most definitely my new 'go to' for appliance, HVAC, service and installation.
They're trustworthy, professional and very quick to service. I highly recommend!

Approximate cost of services:
$95.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Barb,

Thank you very much for the great review!

We always ensure full transparency with our repairs, as we feel that our clients deserve to know complete information when dealing with the repairs of their appliances.

If there are any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us and we will be more than happy to help.

Thank you,
Team Man With a Wrench

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Midhurst, ON
10/10

Excellent service

Recently we had problems with the ignition on our Miele gas range and were referred to Man With A Wrench. We had excellent helpful service from the first phone call, when the team member was very concerned to provide help even though we are located significantly north of Toronto. The technician who came was careful, thorough, courteous and efficient. We really appreciated his very professional help, including respecting Covid protocols. We would definitely use this company again.

Approximate cost of services:
$180.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Thank you very much for the great review!

It is great to hear that we were able to solve the issue that you were experiencing with your Miele gas range. Our technicians always take their outmost care when handling our clients appliances, and are always happy to follow any guidelines that are in place to ensure safety.

If there are any other issues that you experience, please dont hestitate to contact us, and we will be more than happy to help!

Thank you,
Team Man With a Wrench

Ray
Ray
3 reviews Ajax, ON
10/10

Leaking Bathtub Faucet

No words can describe how professional, knowledgeable, kind, clean, respectful this company is!!! They are absolutely amazing and we will be using them for all of our repairs going forward!!! We had multiple companies in and were giving the wrong information and charged for issues that were incorrect! These guys make you feel comfortable from start to finish from booking to dealing with their technicians! Will hire no one else but them going forward!

Approximate cost of services:
$850.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ray,

Thank you very much for the great review!

We always make sure to create comfort when we are in your household, as it is one of the most important thing for our clients. As well it is great to hear that we were able to repair your plumbing issue with your leaking faucet.

If there are any other issues you experience, please dont hesitate to contact us, and we will be more than happy to help.

Thank you,
Team Man With a Wrench

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Whirlpool Washer not whirling

Ancient Whirlpool washer began making strange noises and then stopped working. Called MWAW Friday. Knowledgable agent on the phone. Transparent about costs and process. Took preliminary info and forewarned the item might not be repairable. Appointment Monday. Tech Denis was delayed, called to advise, called again when on his way. Wore a mask, used gloves, respectful of pandemic circumstances. Reviewed 'symptoms'. Did a careful examination. Found and demonstrated the problem (drum bearing worn = repair would be too expensive relative to cost of replacing the unit.) This crew is straightforward, reliable and cost-effective. Highly recommended.

Approximate cost of services:
$107.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Thank you for your great review!

We are happy to hear that Denis was able to provide you with the correct advice to tackle your washing machine issue. With a bearing issue, the costs for repair end up costing almost as much if not as much as a new appliance, and therefore it is never cost efficient to proceed with repairs.

If there are any other issues with your appliances, please dont hesitate to contact us and we will be more than happy to help!

Thank you,
Team Man With a Wrench

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vancouver, BC
10/10

Dryer repair

I requested a video consultation to repair a dryer control dial. Within a few minutes, Man With a Wrench advised me what part I needed to order and how to order it. This service was provided absolutely free of charge. I hope that this business practice will be continued, perhaps offering a video consultation at a lower rate, to be followed, if necessary, by an in-person visit at a higher rate. That would be a wonderful business model, from a consumer perspective. I highly recommend this company.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Thank you for the great review!

Our virtual diagnostic tool is used for exactly that: a quick consultation to help you repair the issue yourself, and if not to then provide you the information that you require to order the part or have one of our technicians come out and complete the repair for you. We are happy to hear that we were able to help with your dryer repair without the necessity of coming out!

Thank you,
Team Man With a Wrench

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Man With A Wrench

We are committed to providing an excellent service across Toronto, GTA and nearby regions. In our decade of experience, we have learned that you can get your appliance, HVAC, electrical and plumbing issues repaired quickly, effectively, and relatively inexpensively. Our specialty is to provide quick solutions to all your appliance, plumbing, HVAC and electrical repairs and to achieve the highest possible customer satisfaction from our services. Our punctual and friendly staff will always provide budget-friendly repairs.

WHY DO OUR CUSTOMERS LOVE US?
"Slow is smooth, smooth is fast." This is our motto because we take exceptional care in locating your appliance and plumbing faults to have them fixed within the shortest possible period. We encourage our customers to watch us as we perform the repair and to ask as many questions as possible while we are on site. This will ensure the best service on the market because you will be educated on all of your appliances at no extra cost.
Man With a Wrench always provides an above and beyond service because we do not simply tackle the problem at hand. We also find its underlying cause. Most importantly, we provide our customers with education as to how to prevent such problems from occurring in the future. Our budget-friendly repairs are second to none and we will provide you with quick solutions to all of your appliance repair needs. Our goal is to delight you with our service. If you don’t go shouting from the rooftops how happy you are with your service following a work order, we will be very disappointed, for our business runs on word-of-mouth referrals and we strive to ensure you’re happy enough to tell your friends about our service

WHAT APPLIANCE REPAIR SERVICES DO WE OFFER?
We will repair any major appliance and any major brand for:
- Refrigerators repair
- Stove repair
- Oven repair
- Washing Machine repair
- Dryer repair
- Dishwasher repair
- Microwave repair

We repair all makes and models, we even repair Miele appliances! Other brands we service regularly: Frigidaire, Simmons, Samsung, LG, GE, Kenmore, Thermadore, Whirlpool, Kenmore, Maytag, Moffat, Dacor, Fisher and Paykel, Thermador, Electrolux, Bosch, Sub Zero, Amana, Jenn-Air, Wolf, AEG, Magic Chef, Viking, Blomberg, Admiral, Westing House, Ariston, MagicChef, Inglis - IF THE Brand is not on the list WE CAN DO IT (we just missed it).

WHAT PLUMBING SERVICES DO WE OFFER?
- Toilet repair
- Drain cleaning
- Plumbing repairs
- New installations (sinks, toilets, showers)
- Water pumps
- Water heaters
- Frozen pipes
- Re-piping
- Burst Pipes
- Leak Detection
- Inspections

We service Toronto and all surrounding areas. That includes: Toronto, Whitby, Oshawa, Pickering, Scarborough, Markham, Aurora, Newmarket, Brampton, Bradford, Oakville, Mississauga, Etobicoke, North York, East York, GTA, Burlington, Barrie, Innisfil and all of the cities that surround the cities listed

We look forward to servicing your appliance and plumbing HVAC and electrical repair needs!

CATEGORIES
Appliance Repair, Appliance Retailers, Plumbing, Electricians, Heating & Air Conditioning, Solar Panels, Solar Water Heating, and Electrical Vehicle Charging
PRODUCTS
Fridges, Oven, Range, Stove, Cooktop, Refrigerator, Freezer, Dishwasher, Washing Machine, Dryer, Microwaves, Gas Dryer, washer, gas stove, gas range, hood vent
SERVICES
Refrigerator repair, stove repair, oven repair, Gas stove repair, Gas oven repair, washing machine repair, dryer repair, gas dryer repair, dishwasher repair, toilet repair, drain cleaning, plumbing repairs, new installations (sinks, toilets, showers), water pumps, water heaters, frozen pipes, re-piping, burst Pipes, leak Detection, inspections
BRANDS
Frigidaire, Simmons, Samsung, LG, GE, Kenmore, Thermadore, Whirlpool, Kenmore, Maytag, Moffat, Dacor, Fisher and Paykel, Thermador, Electrolux, Bosch, Sub Zero, Amana, Jenn-Air, Wolf, AEG, Magic chef, Viking, Blomberg, Admiral, Westing House, Ariston, MagicChef, Inglis
SPECIALITIES
Appliance Repair Plumbing HVAC Electrical
WEBSITE
http://www.manwithawrench.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2015
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
4
RETURN POLICY
100% Satisfaction Guarantee or Your Money Back
PAYMENT METHOD
All Major Credit Cards, INTERAC, e-INTERAC, Cash
LICENSES
All of them
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Up to 1 Year Repair Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.