Riverwood Landscape

Interlocking Stone
Guelph ON N1E 2Y2
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Fences & Gates in Rockwood  >  Riverwood Landscape  >  Unprofessional amateurs that did a poor job
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Guelph, ON

Unprofessional amateurs that did a poor job

They delayed my job by a month, did a so-so job, demanded payment the second they finished even though we were on vacation and hadn't seen the job yet, left garbage and cigarette butts on my property, some sod died right away and they didn't replace it until a month later, and worst of all they didn't grade away from the house properly like we asked numerous times and we had a window well flood which flooded my basement. I hired them for two jobs at the same time and that's my
experience with the first. At the second job (at my work) they were meant to make a sensory garden for a lady whom is blind that I support. It looks terrible. They replaced half the plants we agreed on in the contract with other plants without consulting me and then charged me more money for them. Weeds are already coming up and it just looks pitiful. I would absolutely never recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response


I do agree that the management of your 1st project was done poorly. The big issue being that 1: the job was pushed back about a month later than it should have started. 2: when the small section of sod died it took us another month to replace it under warranty, this second issue is just a continuation of the first. As you can imagine if your job was a month behind, other clients were as well. In that period of time, we had not rectified the issues which had caused your initial delay.

When the first job was completed we received feedback from Luc that he was very pleased with the way everything had been done and it looked great. We in fact advertise the photos from your project because it was a major turnaround and improved the look of the backyard greatly. I am curious to hear if there has been an issue with flooding anytime in the summer before this event yesterday that dropped up to 75mm in a short time, which would be overwhelming for many grades.

As for the 2nd project we were only able to purchase what was available from suppliers as the selection has degraded significantly and is quite erratic with COVID. You should of course been advised of the change and I apologize for this. Pricing and supply during COVID has been very tricky. If you can see it from our perspective, we could get pricing from the supplier and a confirmation that the plants are currently available, when we then try to purchase them a month later for a project, we might hear that those plants are now completely gone, and the alternatives cost 75% more. We have been caught between a rock and a hard place for 2 years and our policy changed from "the price on the proposal is the price no matter what", to a more long term practical view of "we simply cannot operate at a loss and must pass unanticipated pricing changes on to the client".
I believe this could and should have been communicated much more effectively.

For the work done recently on the 2nd project, there has been no communication about the weeds but we are sending someone out to review the situation and ideally, we will get the garden re-weeded as we, of course, do not want to leave a project looking pitiful. Hopefully, we can work together to clean that job up and end the season positively.