Moose Condo Reno

Condominium Renovations
Vaughan ON L4K 1Z8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

80%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Moose Condo Reno

Average customer rating:
9 10 (29 reviews)

Sort by

Aaron
Aaron
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Stay Far Away from Moose Group!

I highly encourage everyone to stay far away from Moose Group. A promised 2-month renovation job turned into 6-month nightmare. Trades would not show up. When inquiring about the status of work, in the rare chance you can get the Moose Group team to reply, they would promise to send a schedule, re-book trades, or update their BuilderTrend app which tracks the renovation progress – which right up until the end of the project I never received a schedule that was kept. There was lack of quality in the finished renovation and poor workmanship causing multiple items to be redone. Some of the more egregious moments was when they left a bucket filled with paint water overflowing on the newly installed floors, and not measuring properly for placement of electrical switches and cutting into the door trim to place switches as opposed to moving the electrical. They left gaps in the flooring so they are visible at the trim. The painter hardly protected anything so I am still cleaning up paint blotches everywhere. I could go on and on. It was only with a mention of litigation Moose Group finalized the project as best they could do and I could tolerate. There still are repairs like the poorly installed pocket door will need to be rectified as they were unable to fix their poor install job. I did my homework and checked references prior to signing a contract. I have come to doubt the integrity or validity of their references. I feel stupid for ever signing a contract with the Moose Group. I see the other bad reviews under their various names - Moose Basements and Moose Condos - and their denials that those poor reviews are from clients. Those negative reviews are more in line with my experience. Take your money elsewhere and protect your property from these sub-par “contractors” if they can even call themselves that.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Aaron,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing Moose Condo Reno as the Contractor of choice for your project.

Secondly, we truly appreciate your patience in enduring the delays that we had mutually experienced throughout your project, and also with your patience and cooperation during the final stages including the deficiencies rectification period. We understand your feelings and would like to express our apologies for your frustrations.

We hope that you are currently enjoying the beautifully designed space we have created for you. Unfortunately, the photos you have posted are not of the finished product and are actually from the construction phase of the project. Moose Condo Reno never has, and never will accept sub-par finishes as okay. We strongly stand behind the quality of craftsmanship and feel dismayed that we don’t have the opportunity within the HomeStars system, to upload the photos that show your finished condo.

Regarding delays, especially in the era of Covid-19, they are a part of the reality of renovations and construction. Please keep in mind that ALL of our suppliers suffered numerous supply chain issues directly as a result of Covid-19/lockdowns. This was made worse by the fact that in accordance with public health, we could not have multiple trades on your job site simultaneously.

However, we took the delays and the inconvenience they caused you, exceptionally seriously. In full accordance with our contract, we have compensated you in excess of $8,000.00, which is close to 10% of the cost of your entire project.

We have taken full responsibility, including factors well beyond our control. Each and every deficiency was identified and then rectified in full. As is always the case, the final payment to us by you was made ONLY after all deficiencies were corrected to YOUR satisfaction.

We believe that the progress pictures shown shouldn't be part of a review.
It's a shame that the HomeStars system doesn’t allow us to post the completion photos that were taken of your project.

Nevertheless, we thank you again for being our customer, and we are here for you anytime you need us.

Your team at Moose Condo Reno.

Katerina
Katerina
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

FANTASTIC Kitchen and Bath renovations!

We found Moose Group online and invited them to our home to quote on our proposed kitchen and bathroom renovations. They were among 5 other contractors who we invited for our condo-townhouse project.

Price wise, they were not the cheapest, nor the most expensive, but we feel that they definitely over-delivered on quality for $ and we also always felt comfortable and respected. Their proposal was by-far the most detailed that we received and made it abundantly clear what we were and were not going to be receiving.

Steve was the first person we spoke to and met with. He is kind, straightforward, confident and immediately put us at ease.
On a return visit, we also met Daniel, the other estimator.
Daniel was also kind, sometimes a bit technical, but his construction knowledge is incredible and is ultimately very reassuring.

They were both very knowledgeable and explained what we realistically could and could not do, what would not likely be worth the cost, and what unique changes could really make the whole reno better.

Daniel was kind enough to help us visualize options with some 3-D modelling work (though I understand that he doesn't do this anymore!) which really helped a lot. Steve worked alongside him to field our numerous revisions to scope and plan and keep us on the right track.
When we realized our dreams were a bit bigger than our budget he even worked backwards to really try and cram as much stuff into our budget as he could. They both made great suggestions about what things we should do now, vs. later and why.

The two of them were very patient with our numerous revisions to scope and they worked hard to make the transition to the actual Designers (Viktoriya and Ruby) and project managers quite easy. They were also kind enough to always be available to us for extra questions during the renovation.

The renovation itself was fairly smooth overall and stayed reasonably close to projected timeline on their part, though the 1st covid lockdown definitely hampered things for them here and there. We also changed/added things to the job which caused some delays for engineering visits and ordering more materials etc., but they kept it moving along at a good pace and kept us informed of what was happening.

The tradesmen were all pretty friendly and polite. Special thanks to Val/Dima (electricians) for humoring my husband's many, many questions during their work. Also, special mentions to the tile guys whose work was flawless and the kitchen installer for his attention to detail.

I know everyone has a different experience and opinion, but we 100% recommend Moose. This was our first major renovation - and with all the horror stories out there we were nervous but we had confidence in this team. At the end of it all, we wouldn't do it any differently and LOVE the finished product!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Brenna in Brampton
Brenna in Brampton
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

So Thankful For Daniel (our PM) and Love Our Kitchen Reno

We are in the final stages of our full gut kitchen renovation by the Moose Group, and we could not be more pleased with how great it looks.
Our project consultant and manager, Daniel Borok went above and beyond for us every step of the way.
In the planning stages, Daniel was endlessly patient with us, providing recommendations for everything from bulkhead removal to enable ceiling lift to smarter storage solutions. The cabinetry suggested by the Moose team look even better than we imagined when installed and we know they'll last forever.
Our reno, which was very comprehensive, began just as Toronto was entering a tighter lockdown, and Daniel's professionalism and communication skills enabled us to get all the approvals (condo board, condo super for the elevator etc.) required to proceed on-time. The contractor teams were professional and friendly, and Daniel's pre-planning meant that we stayed on schedule, even after the demo revealed some more work would be required.
In order to keep our job on schedule, Daniel took extra time out of his own busy schedule to ensure that our cabinets were completely assembled so the countertops could be measured on time. As we were using a sub-contractor for the stone, this was really important to us, and we greatly appreciate his extra work to keep us on track.
All of the work completed - from drywall and tile install to electrical and plumbing - was of the highest quality, attested to by my dad who worked in construction for many years! Any minor corrections were pre-identified by Daniel during his many inspections, and fixed in a timely manner.
The office staff were also friendly and professional to deal with.

We highly recommend the Moose Team and highlight the hard work and dedication of Daniel Borok in particular. He was fantastic and made a complicated reno during a very challenging time pleasant and professional.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Richard in Richmond Hill
Richard in Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
0/10

STAY AWAY!

Signed a contract with moose group and it took a year of badgering to get it started. Once we moved out they demanded an EXTRA $40,000 to start the project due to “covid costs”. Never did anything and they never return calls. Taking them to court.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Richard and Cirho,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

All of us at Moose are extremely disappointed that we were not able to come to agreeable terms and resolve our differences.

You are correct in writing that your contract is old, signed in December of 2019.

At the onset of your project, you did indeed warn us that your property management was difficult to deal with the and Board of Director’s rules regarding renovation work were stringent. We wholeheartedly agree as they did pose a number of extraordinary restrictions and challenges.

When we began the formal evaluation and planning phase of your project after the contract had been signed, you had informed us of failures within your units unique ceiling radiant heating system which we all were under the impression was the homeowners responsibility to maintain and not the buildings.

To this end, we sourced the most experienced firm in Canada, a national firm with branches across the country, to come and assess and hopefully repair it for you.

The 3rd party firm had scheduling issues to which we were all at the mercy of, and then as with the rest of the world, the first Covid-19 wave hit and locked down society. During this time the tracing contractor could not attend your site per regulations.

Once the first wave restrictions were lifted we did have them attend as quickly as possible, and they attempted to find the faults and were unsuccessful in doing so. Your building management did eventually dispatch their own electrical engineering team, who were far more familiar with the very unique system in your building and they were able to repair it, which for all parties involved, is best.

While all this was occurring, our layout team worked with you, along with our interior design team, to try and pre-plan as many components as possible.

This also included a Structural Engineering consult and mechanical engineering consult and preparation of drawings.

As we worked together to finalize on components and design, we prepared the first application package for your Board’s approval which was rejected.

We then worked with our engineers to redesign the proposal, to satisfy the requirements and challenges your board presented.

We then proceeded with a revised proposal which was accepted.

Not wanting to launch a project in a rushed manner, and to allow you time to find alternative housing, we planned a launch for January 2021 after the holiday shutdown, which was in alignment with the notice you provided us that you had secured new housing.

We then completed a pre-launch walk through with our demolition leads to be ready to move forward.

During the pre-launch phase, our management team identified, that due to changes in scope and dramatic market changes in both material availability, cost, and labour costs, prior to the launch we identified that there would be a financial shortfall if we attempted to proceed with your project as planned.

We did notify you of this, though, understandably this was not to your satisfaction. All of us at Moose felt it was more appropriate to inform you of this as soon we realized it, rather than proceed, pause partway through and then attempt to revise costs or scope of work.

We appreciate that you had already moved out by this time as you had secured housing more than a month prior, and we also admit that it would have been more beneficial to all parties had we noticed this in December. For this, we are truly and genuinely sorry.

After correspondence between our office and you, you rejected our new proposal which was wholly within your rights, and elected to cancel the contract altogether and seek another contractor.

We provided you with summary accounting showing the cost changes between operating in December 2019 and January 2021, which we understand was not to your satisfaction.

As you had chosen to cancel, we performed a summary accounting of costs incurred to date, which included the 3rd party electrical contract, Structural and Mechanical engineers, design work, layout work, site visits, and administrative costs therewith. At this time, the total expenditure by Moose is actually in excess of the deposit paid on your project.

We appreciate your feelings that this situation is unfair and also that you wish to resolve this matter through legal channels.

We do wish that we would have been able to come to mutually agreeable terms and could have executed the project, which would have provided you with a stunning new home.

At this time we remain open to attempting to resolve this matter amicably and encourage you to reopen dialogue with our office/legal team.

Please rest assured it was never our intention to inconvenience you or anything of the sort.

We wish you and your partner the best in your upcoming renovation and sincerely hope that we can resolve this matter to a mutually agreeable level.

-Moose Condo Reno

Jimmy in Ottawa
Jimmy in Ottawa
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Terrible Renovation

Please, everyone who reads here should judge carefully. The original schedule was never followed and the deadline continued to be postponed. It unilaterally took twice as long as the initial schedule without any particular explanation or apology, and it was not completed nonetheless. Never trust the schedule the Moose Group is talking about. If you believe that and make and implement your schedule, you will be in great danger. Not only the schedule but also the initial designs were not kept, and communication between Moose Group employees was not smooth. Most of the promises were not kept and caused extreme stress throughout the project. The level of completion of renovation is also very low. You can't even have a basic life.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Jinhyun and family,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your renovation.

We genuinely appreciate it and are dismayed that you feel the way that you do, but are perhaps more dismayed that you have chosen to post photos which are from the progress stage and not the final product. Unfortunately, the HomeStars system does not allow us to show the completed work.

You had approached us after feeling quite uncomfortable with the lack of transparency and pushy attitude presented by one of our chief competitors. After extensive consultation, multiple site meetings, and many, many revisions to the proposed project we came to a mutual agreement on cost and scope of work, along with clear markers of required input by you, as well as very rushed and hard deadlines in the design and prelaunch phase to be able to meet your very rushed timeline.

We were exceptionally clear that if certain dates in design and prelaunch were not met, the timeline of your project could not be guaranteed. Unfortunately, for a variety of factors including numerous revisions and tweaks to design and scope, your project could not launch on the date that we had indicated was required to meet the timeline.

During the course of the project, your management office also posed numerous challenges to our team which also delayed us and made operations difficult.

Throughout your project, once underway, you continued to make amendments and tweaks to design which affected the ordering timetable and workflow. At each junction, we made every effort to add staff or request rush orders from our suppliers to expedite the process.

There were also numerous instances where you did not meet your payment obligations (delayed payments) which contractually, causes us to pause work. Throughout all of this, we continued to attempt to work with you in an amicable manner.

Once the project reached the final phase, we worked with you to complete an exhaustive summary of rectifications which included pre-existing deficiencies in your unit. We would also like to point out specifically, that the image in which you show a range exhaust unit- this unit was supplied by you and did not match our recommendations for an appropriate unit to meet the design and performance needs of your kitchen.

We thank you for continuing to collaborate with us through this process and have ensured, as always, that high standards of craftsmanship are achieved.

It should also be noted that your unit experienced a flood, not related to our work, for which we dispatched our plumbers to assess and rectify, and provided you with the documentation for your insurers/condo board.

At this time nearly every item has been revised to your approval. We would very much like to ensure that nothing remains outstanding and continue to stand behind the quality of our work and warranty it.

We hope to be able to close your project in an agreeable manner and that you have been enjoying the stunning space.

-Moose Condo Reno

cruise in Toronto
cruise in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Thank you very much, look forward to working on projects in the future with you!!!

The Moose Condo Reno just wrapped up work on my custom bathroom, and it looks absolutely incredible. This was a full teardown, full custom job. Icon crew was very knowledgeable, guided us through the process, and provided great advice along the way. Thank you very much, look forward to working on projects in the future with you!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Cruise for taking time reviewing your experience with our company.

enjoy your renovated condo in fullest.

lots of love

Moose team

Marco in Toronto
Marco in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Alexander did an amazing job on our bathroom

Alexander did an amazing job on our bathroom. The quality of work was outstanding. His advice and expertise resulted in a bright and beautiful new bathroom. We will certainly use Alexander of moose condo reno again for other renovations planned in our condo

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Marco thank you for your review, it was a great pleasure working in your home.

Moose team

Holly in Toronto
Holly in Toronto
0 reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Defensively will be back if will need to do other project

We had full renovation of two bathrooms on second floor. We like a lot final result Moose Condo Reno. suggested some re-planning that made one of our bathroom much more usable, because get more space. Everybody in this company very nice, work was done very accurate and final result my wife like a lot ( that difficult to achieve:)). Thanks for great job done! Defensively will be back if will need to do other project

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Its great to hear you loved the final outcome our team worked hard to make sure you were happy every step of way. We hope to take on another project for you in the future.

Moose team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Moose Condo Reno

Condo Renovating And Remodeling Company In Toronto

WE ARE EXPERTS IN RENOVATING & REMODELING CONDOS

If you wish to revamp, elevate, and renovate your condo, you’ve come to the right place. The team at Moose Condo Reno has the skill and expertise to turn your living space into a dynamic, lively area. We lead with passion and work around the clock to ensure our clients’ satisfaction.

We believe professionalism is the key to quality. This means that when you hire us to renovate your condo apartment, you sign up for excellent work, innovative designs, top-of-the-line materials, and a lifetime transferable warranty.

Moose Condo Reno is a one-stop shop condo renovation contractor, offering turnkey solutions and creative designs for condos in Toronto and across the GTA. Our services are organized, prompt, and always up to standard. Furthermore, we go the extra mile to ensure your safety, complying with the Ontario Building Code as well as municipal bylaws in every project.

SERVICE AREAS
TORONTO, NORTH YORK, RICHMOND HILL, MISSISSAUGA, NEWMARKET, KING CITY, VAUGHAN, SCARBOROUGH, BRAMPTON, ETOBICOKE, MARKHAM, BARRIE, NOBLETON, MILTON, BURLINGTON, OAKVILLE

CATEGORIES
Condominium Renovations
PRODUCTS
Renovation Remodeling Washroom Renovation Kitchen renovation Interior Design
SERVICES
renovation design architectural drawings permits
BRANDS
Stone Tile Ceragres Ciot Aquabrass Riobel Geberit
STYLES
Classic Transitional Modern Art Deco Brutalism Loft
SPECIALITIES
Design Based Renovation
WEBSITE
https://moosecondoreno.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2016
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
50
RETURN POLICY
no returns
PAYMENT METHOD
cheque, credit card, cash, e transfer, money draft.
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
LIMITED LIFETIME TRANSFERABLE
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.