H & K Stucco Inc

Toronto ON M5V
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Stucco in Toronto  >  H & K Stucco Inc  >  Stucco Painting
Mark B.
Mark B.
16 reviews Toronto, ON

Stucco Painting

I hired H & K Stucco to paint the stucco and wood beams on the front of my Tudor style house (2nd level only). Overall I was very pleased with many aspects of the work, although they chose not to pressure wash the stucco prior to painting or use primer, as is standard. When I agreed on the price ($4,000), I was under the impression that it would take approximately 3-4 days to complete the job. I was upset when I could see that the crew was finishing the job after just 1.5 days (around 25 hours total for both men). Assuming paint and materials were $200, the price they charged was equivalent to $150/hour! $40-50 per hour is probably fair and leaves room for overhead and a decent profit. H & K reduced the price by $200 when I complained, but I'm still not happy. Be very careful about the price if you hire this company and be sure to understand how long a job should take, if price is important to you.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mark,

It was nice to work with you. I'm happy that you are satisfied with the job we did and our prices.

In your review, you mentioned that the only projects we did were to paint your Tudor style wood and your current stucco. However we did two big areas stucco repair and some small repairs as well including using filler to fill parts of the wood. Leaning on my years of experience, I can say that there was no need to power wash - if here was, believe me I would do it without asking. There was also no need to apply a prime coat because there was paint on the stucco and wood already. No painter recommend primer if there is previous paint.

We were able to complete your project with no frills, and your satisfaction earlier than expected - we worked tirelessly to complete the project in 2 days instead of 3-4 days. We think it's unfair that you didn't want to pay us the agreed amount just because we worked harder to complete your project on a quicker timeline.We hope you enjoyed working with us and know you enjoyed our service which is why it saddens us even more that you threatened to write a negative review for a discount.

We wish you all the best,
John - H.K. Stucco