Maples Landscaping & Contracting

General Contractors
Calgary AB T3B 0H7
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
General Contractors
Maples Landscaping & Contracting
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

84%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Maples Landscaping & Contracting

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (19 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Cochrane, AB
10/10

Retaining wall and fence

Steve replaced a panel of our backyard fence and built a retaining wall for us after our previous retaining wall failed and buckled. He built the retaining wall extremely sturdy and will last for years to come. We would recommend Steve for any work you have to be done.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,600.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the great review! Maples Landscaping and Contracting enjoyed working with you on your fence and retaining wall project in Cochrane Alberta

Wendy in Calgary
Wendy in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Patio Build Rescue

After realizing that the neighbour kid and I werent up to the challenge of laying a concrete block patio in my sloping backyard, I contacted Homestars and Steve quickly responded, able to fit my smaller job between other contracts. He handled the challenge of the slope and butting against unevenly installed sidewalk blocks with expertise, communicating clearly throughout the project. We agreed on a price and, despite Steve also having to lift the blocks already down and do some extra cuts, it did not change. Steve and his crew were friendly, respectful and professional. It was a pleasure working with them and I w would highly recommend their work. Im very happy with the finished project!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much, Wendy, for the kind review! We are very happy that we could make your vision a reality! Steven and the team enjoyed working with you on your patio project in Calgary NW. Thank you for choosing Maples Landscaping and Contracting

Gerald in Toronto
Gerald in Toronto
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Backyard leveling and sodding

Steve and Stephanie and crew were friendly and very professional. Their knowledge and experience helped us with our backyard "makeover". The project was designed and completed to our specifications and wishes. The cost was as stated with no "overruns" or surprises. I would definitely recommend this company in a heartbeat!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$3,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Gerry for your review! We really appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to grow and develop our business. Our team really enjoyed working with you and your wife to make your backyard sod and rock installation project in Calgary, AB a success. We are happy that you are satisfied with the results. Thank you, and have a great summer!

Geoffrey in Calgary
Geoffrey in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Excellent timely Work

Came in on relatively short notice, got the job done on budget and ahead of schedule. Excellent quality of work. Highly recommended.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You so much Geoffrey for the great review! We really appreciate your feedback. We enjoyed working with you on you rock/trench installment and landscape design project in Calgary AB. Thank you for choosing Maples Landscaping & Contracting YYC!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Landscaping and patio

Extremely pleased with the results, we've been wanting to fix the backyard for ages. We had some work leveling out and then the patio built.

Approximate cost of services:
$12,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the kind review! We really enjoyed working on your patio project with you, and being able to turn your vision into a reality! Thank you for choosing Maples Landscaping & Contracting in Calgary, NW.

Ivo in Calgary
Ivo in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

River rock installation

Great group of guys. Professionally installed river rock around the perimeter of my house and garage. Great finished product.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Ivo for the great review! We appreciate your feedback. It was a pleasure working with you on your rock installation in Calgary, NW. Thank you for choosing Maples Landscaping & Contracting!

Ty
Ty
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Backyard renovation project gone wrong: poor quality, customer service, and accountability

The first time I hired Steven (owner of Maples Contracting) for a backyard renovation project (Oct 2022), he installed my retaining wall backwards. I should have walked away then, but I gave him a second chance and he eventually rebuilt it to an acceptable standard. I hired Steven to do additional work in May 2023 to remove some debris, install sod, and build a small extension of the wall he constructed at the end of my patio.

Unfortunately I can no longer recommend Maples Contracting. I am extremely dissatisfied with the quality of work I received and the owner Steven has made no efforts at reconciliation. Agreed upon work was not completed, and my yard was left messier than it began. Poor communication, workmanship, and customer service skills. Look elsewhere.

Details:

The sod turned out okay, but it was not joined properly with the rest of the lawn and I was very disappointed to find that the new wall does not line up with my existing walls as I had requested. The wall will have to be completely rebuilt. Additionally, instead of performing a cleanup like we had discussed, additional waste materials were dumped on my lawn (off-cuts and excess rock) that I am left to remove at my own expense.

I asked Steven to address my concerns and so far he has refused. He has also refused to account for discrepancies between the proposal and the final amount he requested. Instead of cooperating to resolve these issues, he has denied my claims and threatened legal action.

I will update my review if the owner responds amicably, but so far he has merely resorted to threats.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ty,
We're sorry to hear that you've been disappointed with the work we completed on your backyard renovation. We appreciate all feedback, positive or negative as our team strives to deliver the highest quality work and customer satisfaction. This is why Steven ensures each customer is happy with the work provided by doing a final walkthrough with the customer of the project. When Steven performed his final walkthrough with you of the project, you verbally stated you were satisfied with the services provided and no discrepancies were addressed. If there were discrepancies addressed at the time of the walkthrough, Steven would gladly resolve these issues to ensure customer satisfaction. It was not until after the final invoice was sent that you had disagreements with the work provided.
There are a few other discrepancies in your review that we would like to address below;

-At Maples Landscaping & Contracting, we value the integrity of our work. It was discussed prior to completing the retaining wall, that it would not be able to be built on a slope as requested to match both the side we completed as well as the work your brother did. Building the wall on such a slope would interfere with the structural integrity of the retaining wall itself, This was agreed upon and approved between yourself and Steven. We would also like to remind you that having jobs partially completed by people who are not professionals (although skilled) can lead to inconsistencies, as it did in this case. However we were able to match to the side that was completed by a professional company.

-As a landscaping business, it is our responsibility to complete all assigned tasks laid out in the approved proposal. In your case, you requested for a specific area of sod to be removed and reinstalled. This task was completed as outlined. No additional sod was removed or installed. Any additional work or installment would have to be approved by both yourself and Steven, and additional fees for extra work done would be added to the final invoice. This process was used to include the additional retaining block caps, decorative rock, and time and labor spent to install materials. The additional work provided was detailed and added onto the final invoice, as well as separately emailed to you including pricing.

-Maples Landscaping & Contracting is responsible for all personal debris and cleanup of a project. Any additional cleanup of your yard would need to be separately invoiced as a separate job, as discussed with Steven. This is because additional work that is not on the original proposal is not included in our pricing of the job. We discussed a possibility of coming back and doing a cleanup of the yard as a separate job, but would have to invoice this accordingly. As well, any pre-existing materials that were in your yard were neatly left, as we do not take materials or items from a job site that are not our own. The retaining wall bricks were pre-bought and left in the yard by yourself, so any leftover blocks were left where they originally were.


-At Maples Landscaping & Contracting, like many other companies, once a project or job is completed, an invoice is emailed to the customer with the remainder balance of the project, as well as a recap of the scope of the project itself. This invoice was sent multiple times to you, as well as a reminder as we did not receive payment for the job completed. As no final payment has been received, we unfortunately have to move foreword with the next step of the process. We apologize if you perceived our invoice as a threat, but assure you that invoicing customers after a job is complete is a fairly standard practice in any industry.

We try to ensure all of our customers have a positive experience, and are happy with the final product of our labor. It is unfortunate that we were unable to provide you with this experience, as were certain after the final walkthrough that we had achieved our goal. However, hopefully our response can clear any discrepancies that you perceived within the project, and can perhaps provide us both with more education and understanding moving foreword and onto future endeavors.

Aamir
Aamir
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Amazing Expereince

It was an amazing experience with Steve, he completed the project on time and as estimated

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Aamir for the kind review! Maples Landscaping and Contracting thoroughly enjoyed working with you to create a chain-link fence between you and your neighbour's yard in Calgary, SW. Hopefully it's helping to keep those pesky deer out!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ladysmith, BC
10/10

Landscaping, yard work

Excellent job, super friendly people, and great prices. I would definitely recommend for any landscaping needs!!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the positive feedback! It was a pleasure working with you! Maples landscaping and Contracting enjoyed being a part of your landscaping project and design in Calgary NW.

Sincerely,

Steven Willcock
Maples landscaping and Contracting

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Fence

Steven did an amazing job adding some privacy to our back yard fence. Highly recommend!

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the recommendation! It was a pleasure working with you to add privacy to your Backyard! At Maples Landscaping & Contracting, we're happy you chose us as your landscapers in the Calgary NW

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Maples Landscaping & Contracting

Maples Landscaping & Contracting is a family owned and operated business (est. 2011) serving Calgary and surrounding areas. We specialize in landscape design and implementation, ensuring your vision becomes a reality.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for General Contractors pros in ALBE?