Reliance Home Comfort

Heating & Air Conditioning
Toronto ON M2J 4P8
Write a Review
Write a Review


Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

84%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Reliance Home Comfort

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (13480 reviews)

Sort by

herb in Hamilton
herb in Hamilton
2 reviews Hamilton, ON
1/10

bought furnace

I estimated a furnace for 2500 by the time we were done with all the upselling and extra fees and costs it was 3500. the furnace installation took 4 days because they kept missing parts. i called the company to complain but i had already paid so I had to just wait. i would not recommend reliance to anyone.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm sorry to hear this Herb. Please email me at rmassingham@reliancecomfort.com and I will do my best to determine what transpired. Thanks. Rich

Epp in Dundas
Epp in Dundas
3 reviews Dundas, ON
8/10

Water Heater Rental

We've been very satisfied with Reliance as our water heater company. The rental rates are fair, and we've never had any issue with service or with bill payment. I would recommend Reliance

Approximate cost of services:
$20.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for sharing and the recommendation is much appreciated.

Theresa in Hamilton
Theresa in Hamilton
8 reviews HAMILTON, ON
9/10

Water Heater Breakdown

We had just bought a new home and within a week suddenly realized our hot water heater was not working at all, and it was after 10pm. We called Reliance and learned that the water heater was not covered - they sent someone out to take a look for us.
The gentleman who came to our home was great. He fixed the faulty equipment and then showed us a few other issues with both the furnace and the central air. He did not try to 'sell' us further services - just showed us what to look for, how things could/should be fixed, etc.
I was very impressed with the professionalism and courtessy. Needless to say we now rent from Reliance and have purchased a service plan from them.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to share Tessa. We sincerely appreciate the kind words.

A Choudhury in North york
A Choudhury in North york
4 reviews North York, ON
0/10

Installation of hot water tank

Since the day I moved into my new house Reliance kept sending door-to-door sales reps. Finally when I decide to change the previous owner's ancient hot water tank from Direct Energy, the service that I get is so bad!!! First, one guy from Dynasty (the contractor of Reliance) comes for site inspection and don't call or anything for over 1.5 months. Then I call them 2-3 times and finally someone comes to change the water tank. Now, the water tank has been changed, but the contractor has not given me the return confirmation form signed by Direct Energy after returning the old water heater!!! And everyone knows what that means! No water heater returned, no stopping the billing. I keep calling Reliance, they can't even find me on their system. I call Dynasty, they avoid my calls. If Direct Energy doesn't stop billing me, I am not paying a dime to Reliance. Why do they sell their product, if they can't give the service? My advise, stick to your existing water heater company, because switching is just a pain in.......

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm terribly sorry to hear about what is obviously a frustrating experience for you. Please email me at rmassingham@reliancecomfort.com and I will do my very best to assist with the issue. Thanks in advance. Rich

S. Ratanshi in Concord
S. Ratanshi in Concord
1 review CONCORD, ON
0/10

Rental Agreement

We purchased a home but have not moved in. I called Reliance because the paperwork given by the lawyer did not mention what product/service we were getting from Reliance. NO ONE RETURNED MY CALL. Bills started coming in from Reliance and Enbridge - Double billing. I phoned reliance again to find out what these bills were for. Spoke to Lucy who explained it was for rental of the furnace and air conditioning unit. I told her we did not want this service and wanted these out. She told me as per the contract there is a fee of $ 720. I told her to email or mail me the contract - NO THING. Emails bounced and Lucy is not there. Spoke with Melissa and was told that she will rectify this situation. NO THING. This has been going back and forth since April. Now Reliance has put this on collection with threats. What kind of a company is this. We are seniors and this company is not providing any information or customer service.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I sincerly apologize for the experience thus far, more importantly the lack of communciation regarding your requests. Please email me at rmassingham@reliancecomfort.com and I will do my best to get some answers for you. Thanks in advance. Rich

Mike
Mike
1 review ORANGEVILLE, ON
0/10

Hot Water Scam!

First problem was the water heater salesmen scammed his way in by saying our water heater was unsafe and government says it should be replaced. Unfortunately I was not home at the time. 2nd was it should have never been put in without the home owners permission which we are not we just rent. And 3rd like all the other comments in these reviews the customer service is non existent cause they always promise to call you back and have not called once. Direct Energy is coming Friday to put back in the water heater that still should be there and we shall see Reliance in court soon!

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I sincerely apologize for the experience Mike. Please email me at rmassingham@reliancecomfort.com and I will investigate the issue further. Thanks for brining this to my attention. R

Sharonne Katz in Ottawa
Sharonne Katz in Ottawa
2 reviews OTTAWA, ON
10/10

Replacement of our 20 year old Air Conditioner

Reliance Home Comfort came in with the best quote on the best air conditioner on the market. The installers kept the site clean and the AC is the quietest ever A+. I recently had my annual check up and I can honestly say that Reliance Home Comfort is the most professional, easy to work with, and reliable company I have ever worked with. Their salesperson is no nonsense and truly knowledgable. All my questions were answered completely. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for any of their home heating or cooling needs. They also service many of the models on the market - so even if you don't need a new one - they can likely service your existing system.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sincere thanks for the kind words Sharonne. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and are humbled by the accolades. Thanks again!

GORAN ANDULAJEVIC in Kanata
GORAN ANDULAJEVIC in Kanata
1 review Kanata, ON
0/10

What a scum!

Came in to repair hot water tank that is rental. They said that cannot do it that I had to call someone else. Yes, someone else...
Soon enough I got a bill saying repair of rental tank $102.00. I called to sent me WO that person that came in to `NOT REPAIR`unit and of course they never did. Hustle me for the payment that at the end I gave in.
NEVER NEVER NEVER CALL RELIANCE.

Approximate cost of services:
$120.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm sorry to hear about the experience Goran and would love to assist in any way I can. Please email me at rmassingham@reliancecomfort.com with your account info and I will gladly look into it. Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

Andrea in Bowmanville
Andrea in Bowmanville
1 review Bowmanville, ON
3/10

Water tank

I am not sure if I would be recommending Reliance as I have a complaint and I have yet to hear back from them about it. I have emailed them, sent in a letter and still nothing. My first service call with them was very poor. It was a Saturday and they told me I would get a call from there contractor Hot Sauce within 3 hours. After 3 hours no call. Each time I had to call back they never had my information and I had to wait while they found my info in there system. They said I am sorry the contractor has gone home for the day they will call you before 9am.

The bootom line is do not call them on the weekend as there weekend contractors do not get back to you.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm sorry to hear about the experience Andrea. Can you please email me at rmassingham@reliancecomfort.com regarding whether or not the issue has been addressed and I will be sure to follow up. Thanks in advance. Rich

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Reliance Home Comfort

At Reliance, the safety and well-being of both our Customers and our Team Members is always our top priority. We are actively monitoring the Coronavirus (COVID-19) situation and are taking precautionary measures to aid in keeping our communities safe. We have implemented strict safety protocols to provide both our Customers and Team members with peace of mind during this challenging time. We continue to provide the exceptional customer experiences we are synonymous for and want you to know that we are here for you when you need us.

Reliance Home Comfort has been delivering high quality home comfort products and services for over 40 years. Specializing in furnaces, air conditioners, water heaters and plumbing, we provide our customers with peace of mind and are with you every step of the way. When you choose Reliance, you’re choosing one of the largest HVAC providers in Canada, with over 1.7 million customers and growing. You can expect your call to be answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. With one of the largest networks of licensed technicians in Canada, we respond to over 500,000 service calls each year.
After all, we believe you are investing in much more than home comfort equipment, you’re investing in a relationship and your satisfaction is our top priority.
888-837-1451 is a TOLL FREE No., please feel free to contact!!

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing, and Water Filtration & Purification
PRODUCTS
Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Water Heaters, Air Purifiers, Boilers, Water Softeners, Equipment Protection Plans
SERVICES
Installation, Service, Repair, Plumbing
BRANDS
Carrier, Goodman, Rheem, Amana, Smart Air, Rinnai
WEBSITE
https://reliancehomecomfort.com/hvac-flash-offer/?mediaid=CTC-HS&utm_source=homestars&utm_medium=affiliate
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Cash, Credit Card, Pre-Authorized Payment
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.