Reviews

9/10

Darren was patient, respectful and kept me up to date right from the first meeting to determine a cost estimate which included pointing out areas of risk where costs could increase, through to the end when dealing with a small snag (more on that below). For the roof, they stripped several layers of old shingles and put on new ones and re-sheathed a portion of the house that needed it. I won't go into great detail here since, similar to a lot of other reviews, they did an excellent job. Time will reveal how the roof will perform but initial impressions are good and given the detail put in to the installation I expect that the risk of encountering an issue should be low. Now on to the snag - It's my opinion that an important factor that elevates one company from the rest is not necessarily how they execute the core roofing work (that should be the easy part), but how they handle unexpected issues and disputes that inevitably come up. A few days after the work was wrapped up, my neighbour pointed out to me that there was some minor damage to the parging layer on the side of his house that was not previously there, ironically, in the area where a sheet of plywood had been placed to protect his furnace/dryer vents. I called Darren to bring this up to him and to my relief, he did not argue and did not get defensive and pledged to come have a look and determine the best path forward to correct the problem. Within a week, the damaged section of parging had been patched up and as far as i can tell, my neighbour is satisfied. So while i think it's still fair to say that the damage should not have happened in the first place (hence the 1 point deduction on the score here), I greatly appreciate that this issue was taken seriously and a repair was executed quickly. I would be happy to recommend this company to friends and family.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for posting a review! We always like to hear our customers experience and appreciate your feedback! Thank you for your business!
Canadian Roofing Company Ltd.

10/10

We had an old “window to nowhere” that a previous owner of the home had drywalled over but neglected to brick up on the outside (love old Toronto houses). René listened to my concerns and clearly explained the different options available to me and Joe showed up on time and did an excellent job and left no mess behind either. The brick match was spot on and you really can’t tell what used to be there! They even were kind enough to fix a small section of cracked mortar without extra charge.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Justin! Glad we could get this taken care of for you and you are happy with the work!