Cozy Comfort Plus

Heating & Air Conditioning
1170 Sheppard Ave West Unit 48 Toronto ON M3K 2B5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

92%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winner 3 timesBest of 2021winner 3 times

Reviews for Cozy Comfort Plus

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (408 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Second Gas Fireplace

We decided to convert to a gas fireplace in our basement having previously done so on our ground floor also with CozyComfort.
As before the service was fast and efficient and preceded by helpful answers as to any questions we raised.
At the end the two fitters inspired me by "sculpting" the new fireplace out of the old when they removed some of the now unnecessary stonework. Two coats of paint (by me) finished the job.
Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your excellent review and high rating. Welcome to the cozy comfort V.I.P. club Have yourself a cozy comfortable day.
Yours Truly
Brian Kar
President

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

New Sunroom Gas Stove

I was looking for a new freestanding gas fireplace to replace an old unit and wasn’t sure what size or budget would be needed. This is the perfect place to go for an overview of all the best brands, their options and determining what would work over a variety of budgets. Brian came over and determined exactly that and even steered away from more expensive options if not necessary. Super happy with the Napoleon stove chosen. Installation date desired was provided (a surprise for a family member) and the installation techs were great. The stove heats the room super fast and looks fantastic.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure doing business with you and I'm not only we surprised you but also you surprised your dad with this beautiful free standing fireplace. Welcome to Cozy comfort family.
Regards

Todd M
Todd M
1 review Georgina, ON
0/10

Be Aware!

I was the Contractor for a property which required natural gas installation, a gas fireplace and a heat pump system installed. **Please know, the Company's response below is completely false! None of what is stated happened. **
First, when I met with Brian he stated that the Heat Pump refrigerant lines would be installed in the walls as I had left them open. There was lots of discussion including my clients who didnt want them on the outside of the house as well.
When the installers arrived (3 hours late!) he said that he could not do that and had to run them on the outside. There was no reason for that plan. Ive since spoken to other professional installers who all say that the lines should have been run inside while the walls were open. When I spoke to the installer about this he said that Brian told him to install it that way.
secondly, the gas fireplace failed inspection. The gas inspector was horrified at the "work" done and asked me if a qualified technician had actually done the work. Did not meet the Code requirements. The owners had to pay the failed inspection fee which Brian refused to cover. The installer did return to fix the problems and bring the installation up to Code but the installer charged the owners $650 for his time. Unbelievable!
Lastly, this summer (June) one of the Heat pump units was not blowing cold air. The owners had not yet run the system as the renovation took much longer due to COVID and building supply availability. The owner called Cozy Comfort, explained the situation ie had not turned the Heat Pump on, and set up a service call. The owner was informed that the Cozy Comfort warranty had just expired by 2 weeks so the service charge, etc., would apply. Are you kidding!?! After everything they had been through with this sub-par installation and subsequent expense Cozy Comfort should have waived that!
The installer arrived and didnt understand what the problem could be. He tested the system and said that it had sufficient refrigerant pressure. The system was full and couldnt take anymore coolant. He looked at the lines and I was informed everything was fine. After I protested and said it wasnt working he made some calls.
He left the property saying that he would return. Some days later he returned with an expert who quickly figured out the problem.
I was given the bill which had the service charge of $160 as well as a $100 fee for using refrigerant. NONE WAS USED! The owner did call and question this charge but was told that the coolant was added. I was there and that did not happen!!
This project from start to finish was unprofessional, Brian/Cozy Comfort took no accountability for the work which failed inspection ie at the very least should have covered the "failed inspection fee", not charged the owners $650 to fix it and not fabricate the installation of coolant into the Heat Pump line. And those lines should have been run inside the open walls!!
I've tried to be as kind as possible with this review. There's so much more I could say but I'll leave it at this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

**To the reader, everything stated below are the facts of the case. I do not have time to go back and forth with this contractor that has made up his mind to attack my company. Please read our hundreds of 10 star reviews and you will see what this customer states is not the norm and totally opposite of what everyone else is saying about Cozy Comfort Plus.**
Your review is inaccurate and unfair!
I have investigated this installation and you are incorrect on several accounts.
You seem to forget the many days and nights of constant calls from you needing detailed information which I provided without hesitation. You said you were losing money on this job and asked me to charge your client extra so you wouldn’t lose. I was very uncomfortable with this and refused. You then pushed my installation team to run pipes the way you wanted which was not recommended and ended up with one of my installers slipping from the roof and fracturing his ribs. Even after this you still insisted having it done your way.
The refrigeration piping could not be done the way you asked for so many reasons which were explained to you on several occasions. You cannot put so many elbows when installing refrigeration copper lines as explained in the instruction manual booklet. Let me speak with whomever you talked to so I can prove them wrong.
During this installation so many things were done on your side that could have caused this damage which is very common with renovators. Putting this on my installers shoulders, especially after them advising against so many of your costly ideas is not a nice thing to do.
We are good professional people here at Cozy Comfort Plus and work very hard to help our community. You trying to tarnish our good name because we did not agree with your terms will have no effect on us. The readers can clearly see all the 10 STAR reviews on this page with happy, satisfied, loyal customers that we will continue to be there for whenever they need us.
Yours Truly,
Brian Kar
President

Brigitte Hohn in Toronto
Brigitte Hohn in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

repair of fireplace

The technician Mory was professional and pleasant.He found the problem quickly and fixed it.I also got the appointment very soon after I called.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for writing a review for us.
Regards

Greg in Ottawa
Greg in Ottawa
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

My parents new gas stand-alone stove

Brian is very easy to work with, his advise about which gas stove to go with was excellent and my parents ending up going with the high-end Regency model. His installers were very good and were easy to talk to about the job and they did an excellent job. I like it when a contractor works with their customers and cares about their company to back up the work done. I highly recommend them and a special thank you to Brian who runs an excellent company! My parents are extremely happy and can't wait on those cold nights to go by to feel the warm heat of their new stove.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Greg for such a great review. It's my pleasure to have your parents as our new clients.
Regards

Denise in Toronto
Denise in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Air conditioning unit

Thank you Cozy Comfort Plus. It’s always a pleasant
experience dealing with your company. From
Brian who advised me on the unit to purchase,
to the installer Amir, and Elizabeth helping with
the Carrier warranty, I highly recommend this
very professional and helpful team.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your excellent review and high rating. It was a pleasure working with you throughout the whole process and it is customers like you that make us love the work we do. we are honored to have you as a customer of Cozy Comfort Plus and it is our pleasure to welcome you to the cozy comfort plus VIP club. Have yourself a cozy comfortable day.
Yours Truly,
Brian Kar
President

AP
AP
0 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Creative diagnostics!

Padding the bill.

Central AC, 6 months new, water on floor around furnace, during a hot spell. Beyond pump repair, they tell me: 'refrigerant is low'! Now I learn: can't happen unless there is a leak!! There was no leak. They added refrigerant. Also, no mention this service is under warrantee of new machine. Thanks a lot!

Same water just happened this year during hot spell. Brought in a different company. Technician tells me the AC is fine, no need for repair. Overworking in a hot spell, that's it.

Secondly, I used this company when my gas fire place wasn't working. The technician came and told me it could not be fixed and needed to be replaced ($3000). Another company came and fixed a loose wire for $100. I just had the same company come again today to start the pilot light which went out. He commented that the fireplace is in excellent shape (should be. I never use it!!).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. Good or bad it helps us improve as a company. With that said, extreme heat can cause condensation to accumulate around the ducts and appear to be leaking. I trust our technician was doing what he thought was the right call at the time when servicing your air conditioner and his only intention was to remedy the issue and to make sure your air conditioner was working for you. Feel free to give me a call at our office for a chat regarding the services our company performed on your behalf
Yours Truly,
Brian Kar
President
416-780-9760

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

HVAC Project. Did an incredible job!

What a difference between these guys and the "reliable" guys. Absolutely incredible service (the installation guys worked there asses off). I'm a very fussy client, and I can guarantee you that they went well beyond my expectations.

The level of professionalism, punctuality, product knowledge (yep, there is a HUGE difference between off brand garbage that the "reliable" guys install and the original OEM stuff that this company sells.

We had an AC, Furnace, and tankless water heater installed. In the middle of a heat wave.

What more can I say. You get what you pay for. These guys were reasonably priced, amazing service, and they stand behind their product (name brand manufacturer) so you know it's going to be great.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your excellent review and high rating.. It is customers like you that make us strive to do even better in the future. It was a pleasure working with you throughout the whole process and we are happy that we met all of your needs and requirements. We are honored to have you as a customer of Cozy Comfort Plus and it is our pleasure to welcome you to the cozy comfort VIP club. Have yourself a cozy comfortable day.
Yours Truly,
Brian Kar
President

Mark G. in Toronto
Mark G. in Toronto
5 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Broken Air-Conditioner Fixed Rapidly

Great fast service. Air-conditioner is working again, and Mory gave me a good explanation of the situation. I was particularly happy because I didn't expect same-day service on an air-conditioner at this time of year.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your great review and high rating. We take servicing our customers very seriously especially no heat in the winter and no cooling in the summer as these issues can be quite uncomfortable and very serious at times. it was our pleasure doing business with you and we would like to welcome you to the Cozy Comfort Plus VIP club. Have yourself a cozy comfortable day.
Yours Truly,
Brian Kar
President

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace

Excellent service and timely installation.
I have purchased furnace, A/C unit, 2 Fireplaces and get the maintenance all done by CozyComfort very prompt service and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your great review and high rating.. We are honored to have you as a customer of Cozy Comfort Plus and it is our pleasure to welcome you to the cozy comfort V.I.P club. Have yourself a cozy comfortable day.
Yours truly,
Brian Kar
President

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Cozy Comfort Plus

Cozy Comfort Plus sells, installs and services heating Ventilation, Fireplaces and Air Conditioning products. Along with all the major manufacturers, Cozy Comfort Plus is authorized by the Carrier, Lennox, Napoleon, Regency, Valor, Mitsubishi, Dimplex, Amantii, Corporations to sell and service all HVAC and Fireplace products. Stretching from the neighborhoods of Oshawa and Whitby to Burlington and Hamilton, Cozy Comfort Plus caters to Toronto and Toronto's greater home and business area since 1992.

Residential Heating :
- Furnace Forced air duct
- Boilers
- Fan coils w/elect hydronic coil
- Baseboard
- PTAC, incremental
- Fireplace, Gas, Wood
- Heat Pump
- Ductless Heat Pump
- Fireplaces
- Direct vent Fireplace
- Out door fireplace

Commercial Heating / Cooling Systems:
- Packaged forced air
- V.A.V. w/air terminals
- Unit Heaters
- Tube Heaters
- Radiant
- Portable Radiant
- PTAC incremental
- Fan coil unit
- Portable A/C air-cooled

Cooling:
- Central air/ air conditioning
- Forced air duct
- Fan coils
- High velocity
- Ductless A/C
- Heat Pump (regular air cooled / GEO Thermal )
- PTAC Incremental
- Portable
- Window

Accessories:
- Indoor Air Quality
- H.R.V
- E.R.V
- Electronic air cleaner
- Mechanical air cleaner
- Hepa air cleaner
- U.V. lighting
- Humidifiers
- Thermostats
- Dehumidifiers

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning, Fireplaces, and Fireplace Mantels
PRODUCTS
Gas, electric, wood Fireplace, AIR CONDITIONING, HEATING, TANKLESS WATER HEATER, HYDRONIC PRODUCTS, AIR CLEANING, OUT DOOR FIREPLACES, HUMIDIFICATION,THERMOSTATS, VENTILATION.
SERVICES
Installation of Air-conditioner cleaning, Furnace Cleaning, Gas Fireplaces, Boiler Cleaning, Fireplace Cleaning and Inspection, Tankless Water Heater Cleaning
BRANDS
Carrier, Lennox, Napoleon, valor, Regency, Montigo, Kingsman, Marquies, Payne,Aire-Flo, Goodman, Coleman, York, Mitsubishi, Noritz, Rinnai, Honeywell, WhiteRodgers, Goodman, Coleman.
STYLES
Designe products
SPECIALITIES
Wood fireplace Conversion to gas or electric or oil furnace to gas furnace,fireplaces,Central air conditioning.Wood, stone, tile Mantels. Oil or Electric to Gas conversion, Indoor Air Quality Testing, Installation and service of Indoor Air Quality equipment in both Residential and Commercial/Industrial market, and Supply Warranty Protection Plan
WEBSITE
https://cozycomfortplus.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
-1992
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
30
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Cash, Visa and Master card.
LICENSES
TSSA Contractor License, G2, G3, refrigeration 313
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB+, HRAI, TSSA, WSIB, BNI,
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Stationary Engineering, HVAC Diploma,
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
$100
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
10 year Ltd warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.