Omega Windows

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
Toronto ON M1V 5E4
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Green Products & Services in Pickering  >  Omega Windows  >  Extremely disappointed with their product and service, such a headache
Eileen in Toronto
Eileen in Toronto
1 review Markham, ON

Extremely disappointed with their product and service, such a headache

I contacted this company for a new front door and spoke with George. He seemed responsive and nice so we ordered a front door with one glass panel. Come installation, the door ended up being flipped from my original door. The company said it was miscommunication on both ends so they asked for a compromise of keeping the door as is with a discount or paying additional for a new door. After a lot of thought we decided to keep the door as new cost would be over our budget. The door was install August 2021, come January 2022, one morning after a cold weekend, the glass panel completely cracked. I emailed George right away and he responded he will get back on Monday, no response on Monday. I called and emailed again, no response by Tuesday. My husband called on Wednesday and finally they got back and said it would be extra $$ and 2-3 weeks wait to fix the glass and this is not covered under warranty. George said there is 10 years warranty on the glass when we signed. They said this was an act of Mother Nature because of temperature change and cracks are not covered under warranty.

In summary - a window company that installs windows for Canadians that live in winter climates can not stand behind the GLASS they use to sustain Canadian weather. Toronto goes through temperature changes every year, how can you trust their products if this is their response? I’m extremely disappointed at their service and product.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Eileen,

During the ordering process I was very clear on the style and design you were receiving. You asked for a picture of the door and I sent you your exact door with style, design, hinging and you approved it. The only thing I mentioned regarding the picture was that your door will be a different colour. I explained to you that we don’t hinge our doors on the sidelite because of strength and you agreed. When you placed the order I wrote up the contract specifying the hinging and there was no mention of changing any details and you signed the contract. When we installed the door I was shocked you said it was wrong because I was very clear on how it would open and you approved the picture and contract. You and your husband said you wanted a brand new door without paying any additional costs and I’m sorry that wasn’t a option so I gave you 2 chooses which I thought were more then fair. Option 1 was a new door but you pay for the installation, option 2 was a discount on current door and you picked option 2. I think this is fair considering I had on email your approval and contract.
As for the glass breaking, when you contacted me I told you I would be in the office on Monday and will get back to you. Unfortunately we had the snow storm and were closed Monday and Tuesday and re opened on Wednesday which is when I spoke with you through email. I explained to you that our warranty is for seal failures and cracks are not covered, and with extreme weather conditions that happen overnight (-25 or below) unfortunately this can occur due to the drastic temperature difference from inside your home and outside. Our warranty card clearly stats that cracks are not covered due to excessive temperature differentials over the glass surface but you don't want to except that as an answer but I'm sorry that is our warranty. I have stood behind my product 100% for the last 33 years and will always continue to do so.