Top To Bottom Renovations/Maintenance

General Contractors
King City ON L7B 1L1
Write a Review
Write a Review

Noa  from Whitchurch-stouffville
Noa from Whitchurch-stouffville
5 reviews King City, ON


Horrible Experience!!!!
I hired this company to extend my deck after i checked the rating on homestars. My deck is 10 feet high.
Shortly after this team started the job, one of the builder's contractors knocked on my door and told me the deck was not being built to code and advised me to fix the issue because it will be a safety hazard. I asked Chris about this and he assured me 1000% that he was going by the code (I admit i should have gotten an inspector right then but i did not). A year later, i had few people in the industry tell me the same thing about the deck. Since we were considering to sell the house, i got an inspector to inspect the deck. it FAILED inspection and the inspector said it was a Safety Hazard!!!
I emailed Chris about the issue and asked him to come and fix the deck to get it to code but he refused claiming the deck was built to code. I even advised him that i would take him to court if he failed to come and fix his errors. He again refused. I am now in the process of fixing the deck, which is costing me a fortune because all the contractors i got told me they have never seen anything as bad as this!!
I have attached the pictures that show clearly how bad this job was. IF you are considering this company for any type of work, my advise is to get an inspector to inspect their work.

Approximate cost of services:
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Unfortunately as per the above description the work done was only a deck extension to an existing structure which was already crudely put together by the developers subcontractor. The structural fasteners used were hidden between the the beam layers so as not to be visual unlike the numerous nails on the main structure. Also the cost indicated was severely exaggerated as that amount was not invoiced.