Norseman Construction & Development Ltd

Builders
1304 Woodbine Ave Toronto ON M4C 4E7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Builders
Norseman Construction & Development Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2021 winnerBest of 2021winner
Giving Back Award winner 2 timesGiving Back Awardwinner 2 times

Reviews for Norseman Construction & Development Ltd

Average customer rating:
9 10 (62 reviews)

Sort by

Laura and Andrew
Laura and Andrew
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Two very successful large renovation projects

We hired Norseman to help us transform our new home into a place that made more sense for us. Our first project with them began just before the COVID pandemic hit in March 2020. We were completely renovating our basement, turning it into a 2-bedroom basement apartment and a family room, powder room, and laundry room for our use. Kris and our project manager helped guide us through all the issues that arose with the pandemic and lack of supplies and construction crews. Despite all those issues, the project ended close to schedule and is beautiful.
Our second project started much quicker than we anticipated thanks to the knowledge of Norseman’s architect and how to create designs that suit city permitting. This project was a new build 2.5 car garage with a 680sq feet laneway suite on top. It was done through the second and third wave of the pandemic, and again, despite some supply struggles, the project was completed close to budget and close to the proposed timeline.
Throughout both projects, we were impressed with Norseman’s communication and professionalism. If we encountered any issues, they were very responsive and really do strive to keep the homeowner happy - even extremely difficult to please Type A’s like me!!
I recommend Norseman to others purely for the dependability and accountability. I know many who have hired other companies and been stuck living in an Airbnb for months longer than projected while their project sat not being worked on. We didn’t encounter those issues with Norseman and if a trade couldn’t show up on a specific day, they made it up somewhere else.
We have our third and final large reno project scheduled in a couple of years time - a second story addition. We will most certainly turn to Kris and the Norseman crew to get that done.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Laura and Andrew,

Thank you very much for taking your time and reviewing us! We strive to make the renovation journey an enjoyable one. We hope you enjoy your new space and looking forward to working with you again in the future!

Norseman Team

Robert
Robert
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Nightmarish renovation

We hired Norseman in the summer of 2019 to demolish and rebuild the kitchen at the back of our house, to modernize and widen the structure. It was to be a three-month project. It took 13 months for them to complete the work, and an additional 12 months to close-off open defects.

Quality:

We discovered quality issues with virtually every task and phase of the project. Plumbing installed in the wrong location. Electrical circuits that failed. Unnecessary framing, which reduced the size of the kitchen (an error which we wound up having to pay Norseman to correct). Needlessly obstructive bulkhead framing in the basement. Incorrectly installed bathroom shower floor tiles. Incorrectly connected vents. A crooked heat register. Missing baseboards. Improperly installed custom exterior windows and doors (none of them were properly anchored to framing, and could have literally fallen-out). Gaps in the insulation (which were not discovered until after all the work was done; as a consequence, our kitchen is and will always be cold and drafty.) Exterior Hardie-board panelling that was installed incorrectly and smeared with adhesive. Drywall that was installed over top of light-fixture boxes, covering them completely (twice). A deck that was not square or structurally sound, and then was rebuilt using the same, now-splintered lumber (Me: “would you want a deck that looked like this in YOUR backyard?” Norseman COO: “That’s not relevant.”) A gate that would not latch. An interior door that would not close. Missing or incorrectly installed roof flashing (later, the roof leaked, in two separate places).

Every single one of the above problems with the quality of trades work was discovered by us, the client, and not their project manager, whose job it is to supervise the work. Then we had the task of hounding Norseman to get their people back onsite to fix the issues. Often this took numerous phone calls and text messages, sometimes to several people at Norseman. There was a constant problem getting them to communicate: answer emails and phone calls or update us on the status of the job or the progress in addressing defects we had found.

On several occasions we discovered that workers had helped themselves to our tools and supplies, stored in other parts of the house: a space heater, a ladder (many times, which wound up getting splattered with paint), a hammer (which never reappeared), painting supplies. We also had a constant battle with Norseman workers to not park or leave equipment in neighbours’ parking spots, and to clean up debris left in neighbouring public spaces.

And the structure they built is in the end is several inches narrower than specified in the drawings (they blame the survey.) Remember, the whole point of the project was to widen the kitchen.

We made our final payment to Norseman in September 2020 (we knew there were many open defects, but they threatened to put a lien on our house, so we paid it). Since then, we have found quality issues with insulation, ductwork, electrical/lighting, roofing, plumbing, flashing, window and door installations. It has required numerous calls and constant hounding to get them to fix these defects (a roof leak was blamed on an “unusual” 7-inch snowfall).

We note that, at the start of the project, they were a “Mike Holmes Certified” contractor (this influenced our decision to proceed with them as our general contractor). As of today, there is no longer any mention of Norseman on the Holmes’ website. Emails to Holmes asking why this has changed go unanswered.

Schedule/Timeline management:

The project was originally slated to be completed in three months. It wound up taking 13 months. Of this time delay, two months is explainable due to agreed and necessary scope changes, and one month due to a temporary shutdown due to COVID. The rest was pure schedule slippage.

Security:

During the 13-month duration of the job we found that, on FOURTEEN (!!) separate occasions, at the end of the day, the workers had left our home not secured: doors unlocked, locks missing, gates wide open. Note we had personal possessions stored in other parts of the house, and Norseman contractors effectively left the house in a state where anyone could literally walk in off the street and help themselves to our stuff. More worrisome, from time to time our young-adult children needed to have to access the house to retrieve items. An intruder could have been hiding in the house – a serious security concern.

Integrity:

At the start of the COVID pandemic, the job was shut down. After a month, we received an email from the president of Norseman saying that they would start the job back up if we paid them a “COVID Management Fee” of $3500. This was supposedly to cover for the fact that our project manager would only be working on our job and no others, that trades would only work onsite individually rather than as a group, that materials would no longer be delivered to the site by suppliers, and also some mysterious “incremental vehicle insurance costs”. If we would not agree to pay the fee, we were told they would just proceed with competing the work of another client, and our job would wait until they could complete the job “economically”. (They knew we were renting an apartment in the neighbourhood at the time and knew they had us over a barrel.) After much arguing we agreed to pay half of this fee up front and half after a month; this was the only way we could get them to start up the job again. It immediately became clear that our project manager was in fact working on multiple jobs, that trades were perfectly willing and able to work onsite as groups, and that suppliers were indeed still delivering materials – some were even waiving their usual delivery fee. To their credit, Norseman did not have the nerve to ask for the second half of this “fee.”

To add insult to injury, they have posted highly misleading “before” and “after” photos on their social media sites, without our permission, and have refused to take them down.

Summary:

We have over two years’ experience dealing with Norseman Construction and Development on this three-month project, and have dealt with five different company representatives, including the president and owner. The funny thing is, aside from the fact that it is narrower than per drawings and is drafty in winter, we are quite happy with the addition. But our experience with Norseman was so bad that we would not recommend them to our worst enemy. The fact that our extension is satisfactory has nothing to do with any “excellence” in construction project management and customer service on the part of Norseman staff; it is purely a consequence of us checking on their work on a near-daily basis (with drawings, tape measure, and spirit level in hand) throughout the project and hounding them (sometimes for months) to fix defects.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Robert,

We apologize for any misunderstandings on your renovation. However, if you are going to write a statement to cause harm, we feel that the actual events and trials that created your animosity should be transparently elaborated. So, that real judgement can be established.

We started working on your home at the end of August 2019 and the project started as a full rear addition constructed on piers. However, the scope of work expanded to a basement renovation including an underpin with a complete annex of the primary drawings. Not only did an addition of services extend the time frame, but we were also working next to an uncooperative neighbour on a semi-detached home with zoning issues and inaccurate survey of which the drawings were assembled from.
The project was stated to be 3 months for "substantial performance" NOT completion, as completion would have been in 6 months. However, we do not charge for the management of the completion period. So, our contract reflects the period that we bill for, knowing that 3 months (as in 90 days) are set for substantial completion prior to work being officially completed (this is a Norseman Construction benefit; it helps keep costs down).
The extended work required a full permit revision with new drawings and a new permit to compensate for this extended period. It also required a full rework of how your project was to be assembled and completed.
This extended your project after demolition had already started by 3 months and into Christmas and this was just to catch up on where we were to be two weeks into the initial project.
On Fri March 20, 2020, at 9:51PM we alerted all active clients that we were shutting down for an undetermined period and that under section 6.5 of our contracts we would wait for further instructions. We updated all our clients as we navigated through the initial COVID-19 panic; this was followed by very detailed updates to our continued temporary closure for 3 months.
On Sat April 11, 2020, at 1:23PM we alerted all of our active clients about the continued shut down and once again about a month later, May 13, 2020, at 2:32PM alerting all active clients and trades that we would be making a slow re-entry back to work.
Unfortunately, some of our trades did not make the time crunch and their businesses did not make it through the impact of the pandemic. However, we did not give up and we did not abandon our clients, and though it was a tough road we looked for new trades to finish the renovations. While we admit that there were some problems reassembling projects with new trade groups and with new people on site, the work did get completed and they did pass all inspections.

All the work we completed was following the code and had passed all government issued inspections. Your project had some zoning issues which were caught on site and unfortunately the drawings did not reflect the actual sizes. Therefore, the project was further lengthened due to the structural issues to the existing structure that led to a plan revision. In addition, you had increased the scope of the work by including a basement extension and renovation. This in turn lengthened the project timeline and increased the budget of which you were further unhappy by the situation, and it is evident in this reaction.
The pandemic hit hard in March 2020 and as mentioned, we temporarily shut down to protect our staff and our clients. We did not open until the end of May 2020 and even then, it was a slow restart as we wanted to ensure the safety of our staff and our clients. As mentioned, this was tough and for some of the clients who lost their jobs during this time which led to more trying times. However, we worked together hand in hand to complete the projects during this tough time.

The initial start of your project was August 21, 2019, however, on September 11, 2019, your project was deemed unfit to be completed as it was intended. Engineers, architects and designers had to create and redesign new drawings, the draft was completed on Oct 23, 2019.
The CWO accepted the new drawings on November 4, 2019. This increased the project timeline increased in work by approximately 3 months due to additional items added to the project.
On November 18, 2019, the property required an underpin to continue after excavation; inspection and revision was required by the city to proceed.
By November 27, 2019, the new set of drawings had been approved, the trades were booked, and everything was ready to restart up again.
On December 11, 2019, the underpin started, 7 days later, on December 18, 2019, the underpin completed.
On December 23, 2019, the footings were completed, and we were awaiting the survey to verify the points.
Between the dates of December 23, 2019, to January 2, 2020, we were closed for Christmas.
At this point, the project is now being held during winter and as a result, to acquire and build the required additional material was slowed due to poor weather (snowy conditions and below 0 temperatures).
The project continued on schedule until the COVID-19 pandemic, and we faced a temporary closure which lasted from the lockdown between March 20, 2020 to May 13 2020. The project starts up. It was a slow restart as we wanted to ensure the safety of our staff and our clients, which continued until September 2020. We would have a 90 day hold back to add to this amount of time after completion. Then we would validate the entire warranty period and repair any outstanding deficiencies for the entire length of time allotted to this project.

During the of COVID-19 pandemic we were forced to shut down and none of our staff were working at this time, while many of our clients were renting due to the ongoing renovations to their home. We understood greatly that they were in a hard spot and so some of our project managers selflessly offered to work independently from us to finish the job and we offered this option to some clients who we knew were in a hard spot.
Once we were back up and running and our project managers were back on salary, we did not charge our clients the remainder.
We, at Norseman Construction, stood by our clients during such a difficult time in our company's history.
We use the photos of our completed projects as a strong and positive testament to the various trades and to the people who worked on them through these difficult times. Some of these renovations turned out to be one of the nicest looking projects and we took pictures to show our pride and perseverance through adversity.

We have a deep sympathy for your personal and difficult strife while this renovation was ongoing, and the construction expansive issues, which you requested, that caused delays and further financial burdens on your life as this project continued. We apologize sincerely for the negative impacts the pandemic has on you as well as the issues it caused you while this renovation continued.
However, we feel that although you might not like the way things went. As you have mentioned the result (in which we will differ on whose accomplishments merit the praise) turned out to be a great project and although you intend harm in this review of our relationship during this project. We wish you nothing but the best in the future and we congratulate you on finding employment.

Sean in Toronto
Sean in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Pandemic Home Renovation 2021 - 35 Glen Davis Crescent

We engaged Norseman Construction for an overall renovation project for our home that had three distinct and somewhat disconnected segments: a main floor bathroom gut and renovation, a re-orientation of our front entrance, and an update to our interior stair.

None of the projects were large, so finding a contractor to take them on individually had always been a problem for us. Norseman did an outstanding job of managing all phases of our project with stunning results.

We especially wanted to highly recommend Robert, our Project Manager for the our project. Under some of the most challenging circumstances with the pandemic, the lockdown, material shortages and schedule changes, Robert always kept us up to date and the project moving. There were clear lines of communication, and an extremely collaborative approach to making sure our vision for what our home would look like was realized. Robert made a process that will always be stressful and anxiety inducing as straightforward and enjoyable as possible.

If you can select a PM, grab Robert.

Norseman's use of Builder Trend as both a project management and client communication tool is a cut above any other construction management company I have dealt with, and I would recommend them solely on the basis of their use of this app. It provides good guidance on scheduling, messaging and documentation, which keeps the relationship on track.

I would recommend Norseman for anyone looking for quality workmanship, outstanding project management and clear communication for their project.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Sean,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with us! We loved working with you and hope you enjoy your new space!

Norseman Team

Sandra D in York, Ontario Canada
Sandra D in York, Ontario Canada
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Home Reno

My reno was completed a couple of months ago and i want to especially thank ROBERT (project manager) from NORSEMAN who was so helpful and took the time to explain things to me and made sure it was done right! My overall experience with NORSEMAN was good and i am glad i have my home practically brand new again :)
Thanks ROBERT !

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Robert will be very happy to hear your lovely review. He takes pride in making his clients dream space a reality.

Norseman Team

Aaron and Sabina
Aaron and Sabina
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom Reno

We had already purchased our tile, bathtub, shower column, tub door, vanity/faucet, bathroom door and required a contractor to change the layout in our (very) small main bathroom. We received quotes from 3 separate companies. Norseman was the mid-range quote.

Draft contract had to be revised, because wording in 2 different sections implied that we were paying more than the quote that was given to us. This was fixed by Norseman very quickly with no problems.

Greg and Yuri were assigned to our project.

The renovation went smoothly and quickly.

After demolition was completed the scope of work had to be changed to include some insulation in an exterior wall, the quoted cost for the additional work was reasonable.

We were required to buy some additional items after the renovation started and both Greg and Yuri were very specific and helpful with what needed to be purchased, so we were not wasting time or money with incorrect items.

Final hand off had occurred on a Friday. Over the weekend we noticed a few small things missing. We informed Norseman on the following Monday, and the fixes were addressed by Wednesday.

We are very happy with the end results. We will contact Norseman again for quotes on future renovations needs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Aaron and Sabina,

We hope you're enjoying your new bathroom! Thank you for taking the time to review us! It is much appreciated!

Norseman Team

Karrie in Renfrew
Karrie in Renfrew
3 reviews Renfrew, ON
10/10

Bedroom Reno

Kris and Kevin are wonderful guys, they are precise and very professional.- making sure every last bit is accounted for before starting the job. We had a contractor called Mario remove our upstairs wardrobe and flooring - he managed to remove all the dirt and flooring without leaving any trace through the house, work was a little behind at times mainly because he was trying to work around existing furniture and not deciding before hand what flooring and banister to purchase for our stairs. Ameen came and finished off the job and he is meticulous - takes his time on everything he does and is a great energy in the house when you are having work done.
They will make sure you are 100% happy before finishing the job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Karrie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us!

We at Norseman hope you enjoy your new space!

Have a great day!

NORSEMAN TEAM

Christine & Piera in Toronto
Christine & Piera in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Renovation Rescue

Norseman Construction came highly recommended with the stamp of approval from Mike Holmes. We reached out to Norseman after a horrendous experience with our previous contractors who gutted and then left our newly purchased home uninhabitable (and took 70% of our money while only completing 5% of the work) Thankfully, Norseman’s owner, Kris, responded to our plea for help. His sincere appreciation for the nightmare we were left in was apparent and heartfelt. His vast knowledge, expertise and professional candor was coupled with his respect for our home since his first correspondence and his extensive walkthrough. Kris provided us with a detailed contract, outlining timelines, scope of work, expectations, cost, warranty and indicated that payments are to be made upon project milestones being achieved. This was very reassuring to us, given our previous experience. NC used a platform called Buildertrend, which ensured a fluid correspondence amongst the various trades on site with client, as well as step by step photos of our project, daily updates, invoices and payments, mitigating any surprises. They professionally addressed any issues or suggestions that arose and provided us with sound and ample advice and options.

The renovation scope consisted of 2 floors beginning with major structural work to our 116 yr old home, extensive plumbing and electrical, removing load bearing walls, framing, spray foam, drywall, paint, hardwood floors and new windows. Based on our drawings, NC created a new open concept main floor, kitchen, family and dining area, 3 bathrooms: a new elegant powder room, new 2nd floor bathroom with a shower, and converted an existing bedroom into a stunning wet bathroom with heated floors and walk-in closet, as well as relocation of our washer/dryer. NC transformed our gutted house into a gorgeous home. The exquisite custom carpentry, exposed brick and stained glass, maintained the original features of our home while also achieving a balance of modern design.

It is with absolute certainty that we recommend Norseman Construction. You will be in great hands irrespective of who project-manages your home, as they are all respectful, knowledgeable and debrief amongst each other daily. The Norseman team is honourable and prides itself on their workmanship while being client focused and striving for a positive experience throughout the duration of the project. They have the depth and expertise on all levels to be entrusted with any scope of work. It is with sincere gratitude that we thank Kris, Kevin and Robbie for their extensive work, care and diligence on building us a beautiful and safe home for our family. Thank you! We couldn't be more in LOVE with our home!

We've attached before and after pictures for anyone to see the incredible transformation. Note: All custom cabinetry for our kitchen, walk-in closet and bathrooms were provided by Royal Cucina.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Christine and Piera,

It's always lovely hearing from you! Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate hearing feedback from our clients.

We hope you enjoy your new space for years to come!

Norseman Team

Adam M
Adam M
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Basement & Stairs Renovation

My wife and I needed to expand our space for our growing family. Our basement was unfinished and unsightly. Norseman came and drew up a plan to build a beautiful functional living space, storage area, proper staircase, and a second bathroom for our home. Our contractor Juan was always available to chat - and would ask for insight on any detail to ensure our home was exactly as we envisioned it. Kevin managed the project to completion, and ensured that we were satisfied with every element. Would recommend Norseman for any family looking to build upon their current space to unlock its potential.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Adam,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Your feedback is very important to our team.

We hope you are enjoying your new space!

Norseman Team

Lisa from Toronto
Lisa from Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Basement & bathroom reno

Our home reno project was delayed by COVID, but as soon as it was safe to get started again, Norseman's team was on the job, guided by project manager Robert Hansen. We really appreciated Robert's attention to detail and his advice when it came to fixtures and materials. Also he is an all around great guy - and he loves dogs :-)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Lisa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for Norseman. We really appreciate our customers feedback. Robert will be very happy with your comments! I will be sure to pass them onto him!

Have a great night!

Norseman Team.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

New Roof, eavestroughs and gas Fireplace install

Overall very happy with the quality of the work and customer service. We had to completely repair our roof, fascia and eavestroughs and installed a gas fireplace in our home. The work was completed in a timely manner, the prices were fair and we are happy we went with norseman.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience! Our clients feedback is very much appreciated! We hope you enjoy your new renovation!

Norseman Team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Norseman Construction & Development Ltd

Based in Toronto, Norseman Construction & Development Ltd. has been a leader in residential renovations and custom home construction since 2005. From concept to completion, we take a client’s vision and make it a reality through a comprehensive process to ensure the finished product exceeds expectations.
Our wealth of experience, skilled expertise and attention to detail enables us to offer you innovative solutions, competitive pricing and the ability to meet milestones. We appreciate how much your project means to you. That’s why we approach each project with professionalism, integrity and adaptability while maintaining open communication with you every step of the way.
We pride ourselves in Home additions, renovations, custom home building and design.
Let us partner with you to create the home of your dreams.

CATEGORIES
Builders, General Contractors, and Home Additions
SERVICES
Home additions, renovations, custom home building, architectural design
SPECIALITIES
Home Additions, Custom Home build, Architectural Design, Renovations, Engineer Reports
WEBSITE
https://www.norsemanconstruction.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2005
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
26
PAYMENT METHOD
We accept Visa, MasterCard, Cash, Cheque, Money Order
MEMBERSHIPS
Covered by Workplace Safety Insurance Board (WSIB)Member of Toronto Construction AssociationMember
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
2 years
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.