Home Improvement Source

Bathroom Renovation
167-71 Old Kingston Rd. Ajax ON L1T
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Bathroom Renovation
Home Improvement Source
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

87%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Home Improvement Source

Average customer rating:
9 10 (30 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Whitby, ON
1/10

Basement Renovation

My wife and I had an extremely disappointing experience with Victor. We had previously used him to complete a bathroom renovation in our home which we were very happy with. We relied on this to have him renovate our basement (it was already renovated but we wanted a couple of walls put up, the storage room expanded, and new flooring installed). So not a full basement reno by any stretch. Victor started in November/December 2020 and the work on various aspects of the project was/is subpar and, unbelievably, still not complete (we are now in September 2021). Workers had to redo various parts of the job on several occasions. Despite NUMEROUS assurances to return to complete the work that week or the following week, he did not show nor did any of his contractors. Work that we paid for. He has left us no choice but to hire another contractor to complete the work he was contracted to perform. Very disappointing, both quality of the work completed and paid for and having to literally chase him for the past few months to just complete the basement. Which he never completed. I would and could never recommend him for anyone's home project.

Tom

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We really are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this project but exceeded them in the previous 2 projects we completed for you.
We did experience some delays due to labour shortages but I was not aware you felt our work was in any way not up to par. If you did feel that way, I apologize for your experience.

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Whitby, ON
10/10

Master Bath Reno - Very Satisfied

Vincent and his Home Improvement Source Team are just nearing full completion of a master bathroom renovation and we are very pleased with the results so far. The quality of the work is great and the team has been very professional. They were able to answer all our questions and address any concerns that came up. Great communication.
They have been very respectful being in our house and were always friendly and considerate.
Will use their services in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review R. it was a pleasure working for you and your family.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathrooms

We renovated our 2 bathrooms with Home Improvement Source and from beginning to end it was a fantastic experience. The team ensured that any of our questions or concerns were addressed promptly.
Everyone was polite/courteous and professional.
The final product was better than expected on time and within our budget.
I would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the vote of confidence K.
It was our pleasure to work for your family.
We look forward to the next project

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

Master Bathroom remodel

We hired Home Improvement Source to renovate our Master Bathroom. Victor and his crew did a fantastic job and made the whole process seem easy.
We were specially impressed how Victor took the time to fill us in on the day's progress every night before cleaning up and leaving.
Definitely recommend these guys.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review Maria.
We are greatfull to have earned your business.

Ken in Port Perry
Ken in Port Perry
5 reviews Port Perry, ON
10/10

Two Bathrooms

My experience with Victor, owner of Home Improvement Source was without any disappointments. Victor and his team are well qualified and knowledgeable, leaving us two beautiful completed bathrooms. He completed two full bathrooms, one was a renovation, and the other from scratch.
The little extras at no charge were also greatly appreciated.
The entire team never left at the end of the day without cleaning up.
I highly recommend Home Improvement Source.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review Ken.
It as a pleasure working for you.

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bathroom Renovation

We hired home improvement source to renovate our tired 2nd floor bathroom and love how it turned out.
Victor and his crew did a great job and the price was exactly as we agreed.
The job did take a little longer than planned, but we had heard that having renovations done during Covid would probably be a challenge.
We are glad we did it, thank you guys

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review.

Jackie
Jackie
3 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Bathroom Renovation (2)

Victor, of Home Improvement Source,

Our overall experience: Poor quality of work, unsafe (electrical not to code), not timely, not communicative, not clean, unprofessional and difficult to work with.

We hired Victor in Aug 2020 to renovate two bathrooms. The small basement bathroom was moldy and the upstairs needed a bathtub.

Financial: Not standard. Victor’s contract asked for 60% of the total contract to be paid by the first day, which we paid (Consumer Protections recommends 10-20%). He also required us to purchase items that were included in the contract and did not reimburse us.
Victor told us the project would take 6 weeks.  Renovations started the week of ‪Oct 26‬, and by Feb 22 (18 weeks later) we asked to sever the contract as the basement bathroom was still incomplete and the upstairs bathroom not started.

Quality of work: Tile work is crooked, uneven, and large grout lines throughout. Electrical was not to code. A GFI rated plug was not used by the shower and vanity which protects from electric shock in damp spaces. The fan would not turn on due to crossed wiring. The drain for the vanity was plumbed with a significant negative slope so water will have issues flowing out, increasing the risk of clogging.  The wall hung toilet carrier was incorrectly installed in the wall. We called a professional plumber in to install the toilet so we would at least have a functioning toilet. They said the plumping and framing had to be redone due to improper alignment with the drain, all of which had already been drywalled.

Cleanliness: Victor’s team continued to leave construction waste in our backyard between Nov and Jan, they finally removed it once we asked.

Timeliness: Unreliable. Four different schedules over five months, always late and often unreachable.

We are a young family with two babies and new to home renovations and we feel Victor took advantage of us and put our family at risk.

We do not recommend Home Improvement Source.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jackie,
We regret you feel this way.
I am sorry the work did take longer than we had planned because of the difficulties we encountered in trying complete your bathroom renovations in the middle of the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Getting our supplies took much longer than we were used to, and on top of that, a couple of our workers got sick and had to quarantine.
When they did return, trying to maintain 6 feet apart while working in a 3x8 foot bathroom, took an a huge amount of effort and time causing further delays.
We did ask you for an initial deposit of 10% and the items you mentioned as unsafe, where work in progress that had not yet been completed, such as installing a regular outlet temporarily instead of a GFCI to provide power for our tools. At the end of the job it is our practice to have our electrician come in and change it.
The Handmade tiles you choose for your bathroom came in different sizes, thickness and color and the grout lines reflect that, which is part of their charm.

We truly regret that you did not allow us to complete the project to your full satisfaction and count you among our many happy clients.

Benn in Courtice
Benn in Courtice
1 review Courtice, ON
10/10

3 Bathrooms and Others

Victor is cut differently. Hire him.

I reached out to 8 contractors in May/June 2020 which is during the easing on COVID restrictions but Victor was the only guy who came in with mask and gloves. Respect. Shockingly also he was the only one without a tape measure. But I guess he knew the type of work that was needed. He also gave his estimate within a couple of days while I had to wait a long time (2 weeks) for the rest and had to follow-up on 2.

We asked to renovate our main bath, master ensuite, foyer, powder room, laundry room and a few odds and ends. His price was on par with everyone else but unlike the rest, there were no extra markups and upsells on vanities, cabinets, toilets, faucets, accessories, etc. I do recommend that you ask about those options with him as he will give you his contacts and you deal with them directly. No middle person markup from him and I am very satisfied with all of them.

Victor works with his main man Pat and both are amazing workers. Victor is more the quality assurance guy and Pat is the get things done guy. Victor’s eye on quality is exceptional. He looks at the type of work and suggest the proper way of doing things. There are many times that I wanted to get things done by cutting corners to speed up things but he refuses to give sub par quality work. And there are times that I saw a few things that can be done better and he did not argue. He has pride in his work.

He is the type of guy who communicates consistently by email, text or phone even before I had booked him. I had a few questions and he answered right away. During the work, he consistently gives updates on the progress, where there can be challenges, and possible options on how to move forward. As a client this was an important part of the process.

Like many home renos, you may have accidents like leaks or dings on the wall but he makes sure that those are taken care of. Accountability. His team lost a small piece of accessory but he made sure to call the supplier to send a replacement right away.

This is my third house and I have dealt with many contractors. Victor has been the best to deal with. I trust him enough to leave the key to my house. The pictures don’t justice. Reach out to him. Talk to him. Show him your renos. You won’t be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the excellent review.
We are honoured you chose us and It was our pleasure to remodel your bathrooms and other work for your familly.

Zeeshan
Zeeshan
1 review Oshawa, ON
10/10

Basement renovation

Very satisfied with the work done. Very professional and detail oriented. Had nice working with Victor.

Was this review helpful?
moutsat .
moutsat .
3 reviews Whitby, ON
10/10

Master Bathroom Shower Renovation

When our master bathroom shower was leaking into our family room ceiling, we had Victor from Home Improvement Source come assess where the water was leaking. Unfortunately, he found several places the shower was leaking, so we had him tear out the old tiles and floor and rebuild our entire shower so it was waterproof. He used the highest quality materials and he was meticulous about his workmanship. He was professional, friendly and easy to have in our house, and he cleaned up so nicely after he finished working every day. My husband and I are so happy with our new shower! It doesn't leak anymore and it looks beautiful. Thanks Victor and Patrick!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the excellent review. It was a pleasure working for you and your family.
Anything you need, we are always here.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Home Improvement Source

As experienced home remodelers, our priority is to provide you with high quality workmanship, in a timely manner and at reasonable prices.

When you call Home Improvement Source to carry out your remodeling project, you can be confident that we will always listen to you and provide you with the expertise to carry out your vision.

We can renovate any room in your house, but we specialize in bathroom remodeling, kitchen makeovers, as well as all types of flooring and tiling.

CATEGORIES
Bathroom Renovation and Kitchen Planning & Renovation
PRODUCTS
Bathroom Fixtures and Building products
SERVICES
Bathroom Renovations and Remodeling, Kitchen Renovations, Tiling, Flooring, Painting and Home Renovations
BRANDS
Schluter, Moen, Grohe, Hansgrohe, American Standard, Centura Tile, Olympia Tile, The Tile House. Benjamin Moore, Sherwin Williams and Dulux
STYLES
Modern to Classic
SPECIALITIES
Bathroom Renovations and Remodeling Kitchen Renovations and Makeovers Tile and Wood Flooring
WEBSITE
https://homeimprovementsource.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2007
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
4
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, e-transfer, Visa, MC, Amex
LICENSES
N/A
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Engineering Technologist
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
$750
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
3 Years from the date of Invoice
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.