Reliance Home Comfort

Heating & Air Conditioning
Toronto ON M2J 4P8
Write a Review
Write a Review


Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

84%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Reliance Home Comfort

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (13484 reviews)

Sort by

Jeremie
Jeremie
2 reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

Rental of filter and humidifier gone wrong

Renting a furnace humidifier and chlorine filter for the kitchen for over 2 years. They never sent the filter replacements that are due every year despite multiple calls. I decided I'm done with them and wanted to buy out. The units are basically $200 new. I was told I was on a 7 years contract with 5 years remaining. Buy out is $2100. More than 5 times the equipment price. I'm also on a protection plan. Twice I called for a furnace issue and the tech had no clue what was wrong despite a clear error code on the furnace board. Once I called for furnace maintenance, the tech did his job and inadvertently clogged the drain pan leading to the AC flooding my basement floor which I had to replace.

Stay away.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry to hear that you have had a troubling experience. If you would please email your account details, and a further description of your situation, I would be happy to help. Thank you, Karen – KBisson@reliancecomfort.com

Meghan in Saskatoon
Meghan in Saskatoon
1 review Moose Jaw, SK
0/10

Reliance will not call us back and our Boiler hasn't worked properly for 3 months

Old boiler was leaking constantly and we replaced the parts many times before but it was heating the whole house. We decided to just get the boiler replaced and rent from Reliance most feasible way at the time to pay for a new one. It was replaced in November. It was set up(piped) incorrectly and it was leaking gas for a good Month before that was fixed. After the Gas leak and the piping were "fixed" The heating started working upstairs but still wasn't working in the basement. We have had technicians in 12+ times still to no avail. We have been trying to get someone from management to call us back for over a month now with no avail as well. We just want the boiler out of our house and to go with someone else.Very disappointed with the customer service and the professionalism of this company. Will be reporting to better business bureau DO NOT RECOMMEND.

Approximate cost of services:
$16,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Very sorry to hear about this experience. Please email me with your account details and I can follow up with the local branch. jdeboo@reliancecomfort.com -Jessica

Shayla in Peel Region
Shayla in Peel Region
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Furnace Installation

Our furnace suddenly stopped releasing hot air and we got same-day diagnosis from Ali who was wonderful to speak with. Also same-day we spoke with Monesh at our home about what options we had for replacing the furnace. Very informative, incredibly helpful and understanding, and a joy to speak with. The warranty that Reliance offers is also top-notch and the dedication to working with customers is very appreciated.

We will be continuing to work with Reliance in the future if we ever run into issues with our home or if we need to replace anything. 10/10!

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind review and taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate you choosing Reliance Home Comfort! -Jessica

UxQb4NaFR@DwCP4
U. R.
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

Water tank Issues-Disappointing Experience with Reliance Home Comfort's Customer Service

I recently had a water heater replacement with Reliance Home Comfort, and unfortunately, my experience with their service has been incredibly frustrating and disappointing.

Upon the water heater replacement, my family and I noticed an unpleasant smell and a pungent taste in the hot water coming from the tank. While the cold water seemed fine, the issue persisted with the water from the heater. Multiple service calls were placed, but the technicians were unable to resolve the problem. This led me to escalate the matter to a manager and a skilled technician, both of whom advised waiting for a few days for a follow-up. However, no one reached out as promised.

After more than 10 days of ongoing issues, I contacted Reliance Home Comfort again on January 18, 2024, seeking further investigation into the matter. I was given a reference number and assured that the head office would call within 48 hours to arrange for a new tank replacement. Disappointingly, no one contacted me within the specified timeframe. Upon reaching out, I was informed that the case had been closed without resolution.

This lack of communication and failure to address the ongoing problem is unacceptable. It seems that Reliance Home Comfort is more interested in securing customers' money than providing satisfactory support when needed. The frustration of the customer appears to be disregarded, and the company seems unresponsive to genuine concerns about the quality of their service.

I have been assigned another reference number (Ref#31799877) after expressing my dissatisfaction, and I am left hoping that this time someone will address my concerns and provide a solution. However, the repeated issues and the company's apparent unwillingness to rectify them have left me questioning the reliability and customer-centric approach of Reliance Home Comfort.

In conclusion, based on my experience, I cannot recommend Reliance Home Comfort to others, as their customer service has been far from satisfactory and has failed to resolve the issues with the water heater replacement.

Approximate cost of services:
$75.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Very sorry to hear about this experience. If you require further assistance please email me with your account details and I will follow up with the local branch. jdeboo@reliancecomfort.com -Jessica

kelly in Winnipeg
kelly in Winnipeg
1 review Winnipeg, MB
10/10

Josh the Sales man

Josh came out to help me with the lease of a new furnace. He was very pleasant and helpful. I was very comfortable talking with him and it was a sales visit I actually enjoyed!
He helped me select the best furnace for my home.
Josh is very personable, quick to smile and great to talk to.
Thanks Josh!!

Approximate cost of services:
$12.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words and great review! We appreciate your business and are thrilled that Josh was so helpful.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kars, ON
0/10

Absolutely Horrible. Do Not Recommend

I filled complaint with the BBB and their escalation team come back with " we have put a hold on sending to collections or any interest bring charged..what the heck!!! I have also asked for information to escalate higher but they have not provided any information for their ombudsman or next level of complaints. My account in paid in full only their mistake is outstanding so on them not me!! On my current monthly bill I might add!! This is not a customer service gesture when the error is theirs. I will pay my bill and advise all my friends and family as well as everyone here. Beware of reliance they are horrible. They made a mistake with people's accounts back in July, only caught it now so 6 months later are charging their clients for their mistake and any acknowledgement or corrections they are calling a customer service gesture...what a joke!! As soon as we can leave them we most certainly will.

Sincerely,

Terra And Eric Miron

Approximate cost of services:
$198.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Very sorry to hear about this experience. If you require further assistance, please email me with your address and outstanding concerns and I can follow up with the local branch. jdeboo@reliancecomfort.com Thank you, Jessica

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Electrical

I recently had an electrical Panel Change done. The electrician Adam did the diagnosis to the problem and recommended I upgrade from Fuses and get a panel change. He was knowledgeable, friendly and explained the issues and solutions. He went over and above my expectations. And reassured me of the positive change I was making. After the panel was changed he made sure EVERYTHING worked each light, outlet and made sure appliances all came on. He even labeled the panel box so I know what switch is for what area. I am very lucky. He took the time so I felt safe, He made this experience a pleasant one. Thank You Adam you are an inspiration and you work is really appreciated. Thank you
Lola from Hamilton

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate you choosing Reliance Home Comfort! -Jessica

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kaministiquia, ON
10/10

Water Softner

I did not have to pay an instillation fee, first 6 months free, 26.99 there after because I also have a water heater. The install was extremely quick (the next day). Great service by the tech who came out to test and the people that installed. So far I have 0 complaints. Just need time to figure out if it works with my water.

Approximate cost of services:
$27.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, thank you for choosing Reliance Home Comfort and thank you for your support! - Karen

Laurie in Kincardine
Laurie in Kincardine
1 review , ON
0/10

Disappointing customer service

Do not recommend trying to get anything out of the claims department with this company. We started a claim for Reliance to pay for a window on October 12, 2023 when we had to replace our basement window after their technician slipped and broke the the current window with the new hot water heater we were needing to have replaced.

After several attempts to contact a representative on the status of our claim, our emails are ignored. We are only asking for the cost of the window, without labour. You would think with all of the technology Reliance has at their fingertips this would be resolved before now and we would have had a cheque submitted to us for the cost of the window by now.

Approximate cost of services:
$276.13
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, I am sorry to hear that you have had a troubling experience. If you would please email your account details, and a further description of your situation, I would be happy to help. Thank you, Karen – KBisson@reliancecomfort.com

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
0/10

Customer service

After 11 years renting furnace and AC I called to pay out my furnace and AC. I got the price and I agree to pay . Costumer service Kim told me that she did it and gave me the confirmation # and she told me that when I got the bell it will be the last bell . Also I will pay until the day I call and not the whole month rent.
The bell came and miss Kim did everything wrong .
Kim let me pay out only AC and continue rent furnace.
For AC that I pay out ,I have to pay all month rent.
When I call to explain that it is Kim fault for two hours and no one can solve Kims mistake. It end with I did another request to cancel the rent for furnace and I pay the rent 80 $ for that month.
Very bad experience, they cannot solve mistakes that one of their employees did and told me that there was no request. Put one of them told me there was a note but we dont know why the request to cancel the rent of the furnace didnt go through.
I want my 80 $ .

Approximate cost of services:
$80.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry to hear that you have had a troubling experience. If you would please email your account details, and a further description of your situation, I would be happy to help. Thank you, Karen – KBisson@reliancecomfort.com

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Reliance Home Comfort

At Reliance, the safety and well-being of both our Customers and our Team Members is always our top priority. We are actively monitoring the Coronavirus (COVID-19) situation and are taking precautionary measures to aid in keeping our communities safe. We have implemented strict safety protocols to provide both our Customers and Team members with peace of mind during this challenging time. We continue to provide the exceptional customer experiences we are synonymous for and want you to know that we are here for you when you need us.

Reliance Home Comfort has been delivering high quality home comfort products and services for over 40 years. Specializing in furnaces, air conditioners, water heaters and plumbing, we provide our customers with peace of mind and are with you every step of the way. When you choose Reliance, you’re choosing one of the largest HVAC providers in Canada, with over 1.7 million customers and growing. You can expect your call to be answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. With one of the largest networks of licensed technicians in Canada, we respond to over 500,000 service calls each year.
After all, we believe you are investing in much more than home comfort equipment, you’re investing in a relationship and your satisfaction is our top priority.
888-837-1451 is a TOLL FREE No., please feel free to contact!!

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing, and Water Filtration & Purification
PRODUCTS
Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Water Heaters, Air Purifiers, Boilers, Water Softeners, Equipment Protection Plans
SERVICES
Installation, Service, Repair, Plumbing
BRANDS
Carrier, Goodman, Rheem, Amana, Smart Air, Rinnai
WEBSITE
https://reliancehomecomfort.com/hvac-flash-offer/?mediaid=CTC-HS&utm_source=homestars&utm_medium=affiliate
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Cash, Credit Card, Pre-Authorized Payment
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.