Reviews

10/10

We had a series of floods from damaged pipes which required repairs ranging from a simple patch to complete replacement of our main drain. Vlad, was courteous and made a point of coming quickly to resolve our flooding problem. The price was fair and he did whatever he could to minimize collateral damage to our house while he was working. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful?
9/10

Overall price and service were excellent. The installers were very helpful and solved problems on the spot. Delivery etc was exactly as promised. We have a narrow stairway to our basement and they really worked hard to get the washer to our laundry room

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You! You are joining thousands of other Canadians that already enjoy our service.

Sales Manager

1/10

We chose beyond landscaping partly because of the reviews on this board, and partly because of their professional manner during the sales process. We were sorely disappointed throughout the project and continue to be disappointed with the quality of work. We have since had to replant much of their plantings and repair the deck after only 1 year. Our experience is detailed below. TIMING In part we hired beyond because they committed to completing the project by August 1st. They dug out our backyard in late July( I presume so they could collect the deposit) and left the hole there for over 3 weeks. The project was not finished until mid September, too late for us to enjoy the patio last season. RESPONSIVENESS Between the first hole digging in mid july, and when they resumed work sometime at the end of August we called them daily to inquire as to progress. We would have been happy to talk to someone in person, but no one showed up at our house for over 3 weeks. Our calls were unanswered. When the answered e-mails they offered lame excuses about whether or being otherwise busy. We were left with a hole in our backyard for 3 weeks with no one explaining how long until it was remedied and our backyard finished, as no one answered our calls, unless I masked my phone number. This is totally unacceptable. This spring, after most of their plantings did not survive (apparently they were planted too late in the year because of their delay), we asked them to take a look and replace. The same plants looked like they hadn't ever taken root last year, but we were told they would emerge healthy this spring. They apparently came by to look and they said the plants looked OK and should come back (This was late april). Eventually in Late May they said they would come by again and check it out and replace the plants. It is now late june and they have yet to keep their word, so we have given up. DESIGN We were not given the opportunity to choose materials (stone colour etc) and no rendered drawing were provided. We indicated a desire to hang a hammock, but when the deck was built they told us it wouldn't be sturdy enough. We had to repeatedly communicate our desires as we felt they did not listen clearly to us. QUALITY OF WORK Several of the joints are cracking. The latch on the door is metal but fits into a hole in a wooden piece which is wearing down. Due to settling of the deck, the latch no longer closes, and the door continually swings. Most of the plants died upon being planted. The stone work is actually pretty good. COST Beyond landscaping was between 20-30% above other contractors. We chose them because we had a time constraint on the project, and wanted things done well. This was money wasted as any contractor can take more than twice as long and do mediocre to poor work. CONCLUSION I can only conclude that smaller jobs <50000 do not interest beyodn landscaping, and they do not feel these smaller customers are deserving of their attention.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I want to thank you for your feedback. However I would like to respond to a few of your issues:

TIMING/RESPONSIVENESS: At the beginning of the job we indicated we were very busy and would heather@beyondlandscaping.cado our best to complete your job as timely as we could. We offered not to dig it up immediately but you said you weren't using your backyard and to get started when we could. According to our records we completed the job August 12, except for the plants. We did not screen our calls and apologize you felt that way. We did keep you updated throughout the process and apologize we weren't able to complete it as quickly as you hoped.

PLANTS: these did not die because they were planted late in the year, they died because there were not watered. When requested this year we came by your property to look at them and indicated there were some dead leaves that needed to be removed (otherwise looked healthy) and they needed water. This had nothing to do with timing, we planted other jobs at the same time with irrigation and they are fine.

DESIGN: The stone was discussed prior to installation, we thought you understood what stone we were using (square cut grey flagstone) and you said you were happy with it. We apologize if this wasn't clear. The problem with the hammock was the existing fence was not strong enough and we did not want to recommend you hang a hammock in case someone got hurt. I am not sure what desires you communicated that we didn't listen to. At the time you were thrilled with the design.

QUALITY: Thank you for commenting on our stone work. Plants are out of our control if not watered. The problem with the gate is that it is attached to the existing fence (which we are guessing does not have a post set below the frost line to reduce shifting). Some shifting and settling is normal in our climate. The ‘joints’ that are cracking is sand. If you did not want it to ‘crack’ we would have to lay the patio in concrete.

OVERALL: We are very sorry you have such a bad impression of our company. When we finished last year we were under the impression you were happy, and when we did not want to replace the plants you did not water, we received this review. We do our best to ensure our customers are happy within reason. I also see you have given another company a bad review and wonder if you are not being slightly unreasonable.

3/10

Note response below is not correct. We purchased our materials form them and had this experience. The fact that they would claim that I never purchased anything from them shows their complete lack of integrity. We needed to begin our renovation as soon as possible and had a contractor lined up. We were looking for tiles etc. that were in stock and visited bath emporium on a Saturday. Jodi from bath emporium committed to be able to provide tiles Thursday of that week. On Wednesday we called just to confirm the delivery and were told that the tiles were not available and that we would have to choose other tiles-I have no idea what would have happened if we assumed everything was OK. On the phone we settled on an alternative tile that Jodi committed to 'courier' to us. At the end of the day we wondered why the tiles hadn't arrived and called. She said she 'could' send them fedex but that takes a day. I had to send my own same day courier to pick them up. The tiles she packed were the wrong ones. We repeatedly told her everything needed to arrive Monday morning. Monday morning: contractor here, no materials. Called Jodi and she said there was no commitment to a time on monday and that she never committed to delivering either last week or this week. She accused me and my wife of not communicating and inventing commitments she made to us. I strongly recommend against this supplier

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This particular customer did not buy any tiles from us. He simply wanted samples for which we obliged and let him take home some of our most popular colors. There weren’t any courier company involved in this whole episode!. The customer simply picked-it up with the understanding that he would bring it back, which he didn’t do.

Since this was a popular tile, we needed it back in order to show it to other customers who were visiting our showroom. And so, after repeated requests to kindly return it, we finally had to put our foot down and be firm with this customer, hence this whole story!