Chouinard Bros Roofing

Roofing
194 Earl Stewart Drive Aurora ON L4G 7P4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Roofing
Chouinard Bros Roofing
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

84%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Chouinard Bros Roofing

Average customer rating:
8.2 10 (195 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Aurora, ON
1/10

Always losing shingles

I had Chouinard replace my shingles in 2014. As always I asked that they install a long lasting shingle... 25 or 30 year life. They repeatedly delayed the installation until very late in the season.. I left a message and told them I wanted to wait for the warm winter. They didn't respond, but the next day I returned from work to find the workers in the midst of removing the roof..... so now I was forced to le5 them go ahead un spite of the weather being cold.

EVERY YEAR since then, I lose shingles. The first couple of years I called the company and paid a couple of hundred dollars for them to repair. Now I climb on the roof myself to do the ANNUAL repair .

The problem is twofold... 1. They didn't remove the plastic strip from the tar adhesive on many of the shingles.... result is a lack of adhesion . See the attached picture 2. They often only used 3 nails when 4 or 5 would probably have been needed... also, the nails they did use are much smaller than the replacement nails I have been using.

I would definitely NOT recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, It is unfortunate that your expectations were not met. As we can not identify you. Please reach out to the General Manager of the Home Improvements Division so we can try and make this right.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews New Tecumseth, ON
1/10

Worst Product Ever

In 7 years I've had to fix my roof 3 times. 2/3 times I was the only house on my street who lost singles. The company does not stand by their product and blames everyone else. Do not waste your money or time as I am already replacing my whole roof next year. You cannot put a price on all my time and stress over these years. The 3 pictures are from the 3 separate incidents.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, It is unfortunate that your expectations were not met. As we can not identify you. Please reach out to the General Manager of the Home Improvements Division so we can try and make this right.

Tony J_in Toronto [North York], ON
Tony J_in Toronto [North York], ON
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Re-Shingling & Ventilation Install

Very pleased with all aspects of Chouinard's service, now for a second time. Our old roofing shingles were installed 16 years ago by Chouinard. Unfortunately, they wore out prematurely because our attic never had proper intake ventilation, which caused us to repeatedly suffer blow-offs due to high winds. Of the 3 quotes we got, Chouinard was the lowest and best. We easily could confirm this because Rob, Chouinard's sales rep, made sure he priced our job on a like-for-like basis with the other 2 companies we considered. Next, Rob helped us figure out how best we could fix our attic's ventilation deficiency. The work done by Chouinard's installation crew, including their job site keep-up, was all well done and completed in just one day. Throughout, the installers demonstrated high professionalism under the expert supervision of Adam, Chouinard's production foreman. Happily, Adam came by several days later to check that my job was done right and to my satisfaction. After having decided to invest in better quality shingles with a higher wind rating and proper venting this time around, I now look forward to 30 years or more of no roof-related problems!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Tony, thank you for the glowing review and continued support. Everyone at Chouinard bros works diligently to provide the best service possible, and your testimony shows just that. Again thank you for your kind words.

David in Ajax
David in Ajax
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Roof Shingles Replacement

The Chouinard team for the fantastic job re-shingling our roof.
The project was done on time, clean-up complete, and the crew very polite.
They even offered to help my wife to the door with her shopping.
I would highly recommend them for any roof work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

David, Thank you for the kind words. I will be sure to pass them along to our installers. I was delighted to hear that not only were we able to provide a beautiful new roof but that we provided exceptional service.

Homestars2017 in Newmarket
Homestars2017 in Newmarket
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Roof replacement

I had my roof replaced. Their work was quality and on time. They cleaned up after each day. At the end of the job, a supervisor came by to ask if I had questions, went up on the roof to inspect,took pictures and provided a comprehensive report. Excellent service and dependable. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the glowing review. Chouinard Bros. takes pride in providing exceptional service to all our customers, and I am glad to hear we did just that!

Jeff from Toronto-627
Jeff from Toronto-627
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Roof replacement

We had a leak a few months back after a wind storm and so I called Chouinard Bros for the repair. They had done the original install back in 2002. They showed up pretty quickly (one week; keep in mind lots of other roofs were damaged in TO) and agreed to waive the repair costs as part of a roof replacement. Since the roof was about 18 years old, it seemed reasonable to do a replace. I had gotten a quote from them six months earlier, which they honoured. The sales person Chevy was very reasonable and fair throughout, and Linda was very good to us in terms of coordinating the repair as quickly as possible. I got one other quote and Chouinard Bros was competitive. I ran the proposal by a knowledgeable family member who confirmed it was a good quality roofing system in CB's proposal (and also thought highly of CBs due to previous projects. The job was done well, on time and the cleanup was thorough. The project coordinator Adam was very friendly and was very responsive to questions. I recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jeff, thank you so much for the kind words. The entire team here at Chouinard's works hard to provide exceptional service to all our customers. It looks like a few of our favourites(Chevy, Linda and Adam)assisted you on your most recent project. Please know that our family will be here to help your family or any of your friends for years to come should the need arise.

Maryanne Hatcher from Toronto
Maryanne Hatcher from Toronto
6 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

New Roof

Previously in the Spring of 2020, I utilized Chouinard Bros. for the repair of my roof from raccoon damage. I was very pleased with every aspect of their service. Naturally, when it came time to replace my very old roof, I contacted this great company! From beginning to end of this project, inclusive of each department from sales to inspection, my expectations were more than exceeded! I WOULD HIGHLY RECCOMMENDTHIS COMPANY!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Although it is never pleasant to experience animal damage, Maryanne testimonials such as these speak volumes about the services that we offer, small or large Chouinard's, will be here to support you. Thank you for trusting in us and for the kind words.

geoffdean
geoffdean
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Very reliable, professional and efficient

Just had third roofing by Chouinard and would not consider any other roofer. This time I asked for a quote and Chevy discovered a major hole caused by raccoons on the far side not seen from front of house. They came the next day to repair and patch, then completed the entire roof promptly.
As the raccoons again attacked, Chouinard replaced the plastic vents with metal ones free, and that seems to have worked. However, another attack at the bottom edge meant recommendation to install metal edge all around, and this again was completed promptly.
Highest recommendation for work, communication and prompt attention.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the glowing review, geoffdean. Its repeat customers, such as yourself, have kept Chouinards in business for almost 50 years. And rest assured, whether it is a full replacement or small repair, we will be here to support you for the life of your roof.

Nicole
Nicole
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Great experience all around

My parents recommended Chouinard Bros for our new eavestrough installation after using them for a roofing job. I was so impressed from beginning to end! From Chevy providing a detailed quote and recommending the addition of an extra downspout to solve a water volume issue we were having, to Arin completing the installation in a timely manner with excellent workmanship, a very clean area afterwards and being so polite, plus Donna handling everything expertly from the office. Not to mention everyone's attention to COVID safety protocols. The eavestroughs look amazing and work beautifully. I will definitely be calling Chouinard in a few years for our roof replacement. Great experience all around!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Nicole, thank you for the kind words. We take COVID very seriously and hope that you and your family are safe during these times. Our staff, including Chevy, Donna and all the other people who made your job run smoothly, separates Chouinard from the rest. We look forward to helping you with your new roof in the future.

Rosalind
Rosalind
0 reviews King City, ON
10/10

A new roof

My neighbour recommended this company when we needed new shingles for our roof and I see why. They were excellent, from Don, who looked at the site and recommended what we needed, to Adam, who made sure we were satisfied with the job. Any questions we had were answered quickly and to our satisfaction. There were two clean-ups to make sure all the debris was gone. The job was inspected by a manager to make sure it met all the criteria. I'm glad we don't have another roof that needs doing but if we did, I know where we'd go!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rosalind,
We are so happy to hear that your experience with Chouinard Bros. went well! We always appreciate personal recommendations given from friends / family / neighbours and have based our business on them during the almost 50 years we have been operating. Our whole team uses their many years of experience to provide every homeowner with the best experience possible...down to the clean-up which in winter can sometimes take a few tries when snow can hide the debris. Cheers!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Chouinard Bros Roofing

Provide the best Installation & Service experience to a discerning group of Homeowners & Businesses requiring property improvement solutions including Repair / Replacement of Roofing, Siding and Aluminum for Residential / Commercial properties.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Roofing pros in Markham?