LeafFilter Gutter Protection

Gutters & Eavestroughs
Toronto ON M5V 2J1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Gutters & Eavestroughs
LeafFilter Gutter Protection
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

78%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for LeafFilter Gutter Protection

Average customer rating:
7.7 10 (132 reviews)

Sort by

Mark in Toronto
Mark in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Is this any way to run a business ?

After signing the contract (a $4000 job) and booking installation, the installer showed up without the appropriate equipment to reach our “taller than he expected” roof. Not a problem we said, just let us know when you can reschedule our job. Three weeks, and three unanswered calls to the sales rep and head office, we have had zero response from LeafFilter. No reschedule date, or follow up of any kind.
Thank goodness we haven’t paid anything. If this is how they treat clients before they’ve been paid, imagine how poorly they would respond to us if we needed them after payment.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Mark. This is not our standard and we would like to help right away. Please call us at 800-749-4566, or email us at support@leaffilter.com. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

skline333 in Toronto
skline333 in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Buyer Beware Not as Advertised

Buyer Beware. Leaf Filter eaves-troughs. Do not buy. Expensive glossy commercials - false advertising and false promises.
Installed in 2019, nothing but problems with clogs, which they have tried to fix 2 times already.
Tonight after water coming through my window from clogged gutter above it, they said they only guarantee parts below the filter if they fail, so just try and sue them. Read the fine print everyone. No guarantee they will not clog or fail on the filter on top. In fact the fine mesh filter guarantees clogs on top that you must manually clear regularly of debris. This is not what they advertise.
Don't do it. Do not buy.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,600.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable record of your situation. Your situation is not our standard and we would like to ensure your satisfaction. Please give us a call at 800-749-4566 or email support@leaffilter.com to discuss this with a corporate team member further.

Kelly in Toronto
Kelly in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Waiting for service

Original install was great and done in a timely manner. Unfortunately two months ago we had leaf filter remove the guards so we could get our roof done and we are still waiting for them to return to reinstall the filters. It's been several months with a few no shows on their part.......I'm still waiting for someone to return my calls to set a date before I put my home on the market.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Kelly. We'd like to get our support team involved. Please visit https://gutte.rs/3aLsVDi, where you can submit a service request at the bottom of the page, and someone will contact you shortly. If you prefer, you can also email support@leaffilter.com. We appreciate your cooperation as well as the opportunity to resolve this for you.

Jonathan P. from Toronto
Jonathan P. from Toronto
7 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Great sales pitch, horrible installation and damage caused to roof and gutters!

I did some brief research and was interested in their product my my detached garage, as my home already had existing gutter protection from the previous owner that was working well. I submitted an inquiry and received a call promptly, and got an appointment with a very friendly estimator that same evening at my convenience. He looked at my gutters, showed me the product, and explained in detail what they would do. He had me so convinced of the product that I opted to have them install their product on my house as well. The cost was relatively high, but certain key points convinced me to do it anyways: 1) I was sold on “peace of mind”. I might be paying more, but the product is top notch and the professionals who install it at the very best. He convinced me that the premium I was paying was because I would be dealing with professionals who do top notch work. Fair enough. 2) The gutters would be maintenance free for life. “Not even dust or pollen will enter your gutters for life.” All openings outside of the mesh were to be sealed with silicon preventing anything other than water from ever entering my gutters again. 3) They were to adjust and secure the existing gutters and I even pointed out specific spots where this would be beneficial. Excellent. Done deal. He asked when I wanted it done, and I said as soon as possible, so he scheduled an appointment the very next morning, starting that I would be charged after installation was completed. So far so good. Everything after this point was a disaster.

The next morning, the installer showed up and began working. I might as well share every detail that bothered me, so here we go. Firstly, I was kind of surprised that it was only one guy. Secondly, he parked in front of a fire hydrant so I asked him to park on my driveway instead which he never did. I am working from home so I went inside and came back out at lunch to take a look. I was immediately concerned. Per of the scope (not cheap) was to install some downspouts from our dormers that connect the the gutter below. It was visibly very wrong, both functionally and aesthetically. I pointed it out to the installer and literally pointed to the house across the street for reference what it was supposed to look like. He said he would fix it and I went back inside. I was very concerned at this point so I went upstairs to see if I could see any of the work that was already completed and my concern only got worse. Instead of adjusting the gutters as discussed, he simply lifted up the shingles and forced the gutter guards under them such that they are mostly covered and now exposing my roof under the shingles. I went back out and mentioned it to him. His response was along the lines of “the shingles can be trimmed” which is not only incorrect (the gutters should have been adjusted/lowered which was in scope) but also implied that someone could do it, not necessarily him (although I’m actually glad he didn’t try and cause further damage). The next time I came out on the afternoon, he was gone. He had adjusted one of the downspouts which was an improvement but all of them were (and are still) functionally and aesthetically incorrect. The extra corrections that were made resulted in extra holes being cut and patched in my gutters which to be honest looks horrid (and leaks as I found out today when it rained). The existing gutters now need to be replaced. My other immediate observation was the mess left behind. I had to pick up parts from all over my front lawn (parts of my previous gutter protection system) and as many screws as I could find, which were at least a dozen. Our driveway was left covered in gutter junk from what was cleared out from the garage gutters, which did not have prior gutter protectors installed. Next I went back upstairs to see what I could see from my windows and of course the installation was still incorrect. The ends were NOT sealed at all. Not only could pollen or dust get in… far larger objects could easily get in. The shingles were still bent upwards, prying away from the roof and covering most of the gutters. I IMMEDIATELY called the sales rep who was very understanding but said that I needed to call Customer Service. I immediately called them and told them that the installation was NOT complete and was told that they would arrange to have someone come by to address my concerns. I didn’t hear back so I called again the next day. Explained all over again. I was told someone would call me back by 4pm the next day. Well, it’s 7pm. No call so I called yet again and this time just couldn’t get through so I left a voicemail. No call back yet. Amazing how prompt they were at the sales stage but now that my credit card has been charged I cannot get a hold of anyone. Oh, and it rained today. Got some videos of the product causing more damage than good. Honestly I’m worried about rain damage to my home with the compromised shingles and downspouts overshooting my gutters directly where water is not supposed to drip. None of the gutters or downspouts that were to be adjusted or secured we’re done. This by the way in only what can see. I of course have concerns with the gutters that I can’t see based on what I can see. The estimator was able to use a long “selfie stick” and take BEFORE pictures. I definitely need AFTER pictures once all of the corrections are made. If I can’t get them to come back promptly, I will have to call another company to fix this as I’m concerned about water damage in the mean time. I will then have to file a dispute with Visa (which thankfully I used) to be reimbursed. What. A. Headache. So much for peace of mind. Not the high end service I was sold. The videos I took while it was raining is the most damning, but some pictures will have to do.

TLDR: ONGOING DISASTER

Update: We continued calling customer service just about daily who would simply tell us that “someone from the Canadian office will have to call us back”, which just never happened. I continued calling, texting, emailing, and leaving voicemails with the sales rep who at some point just ghosted me (stopped picking up his phone, and never replied to me again). I predictably got fed up and on my final call to customer service, I told them that my very next call was to Visa to file a dispute if I didn’t have a date and time for the work to be completed before I hang up because the work was still incomplete and my gutters were malfunctioning badly and I could not get a hold of anyone to arrange for service and there was no plan to complete the work whatsoever. And I wasn’t kidding. They were not able to schedule anything for me and my very next call was to Visa to file the dispute. They told me that someone will definitely reach out to me once the dispute was filed and they were right. A couple of days later I got calls from 2 different service managers on the same day! The first of which was very understanding and apologetic but I advised him that it was too late and I already engaged with another company to fix everything. He was determined for an opportunity but I stood my ground because I had already paid a deposit and told him that I had no other option but to engage with another company because I was enduring water damage every time it rained and I couldn’t previously get in touch with anyone at leaf filter who was willing to help. The next sales manager who called started off understanding and apologetic too… but started saying the I “contractually have to give them an opportunity to fix the damage and complete the installation”. I guess he forgot that I was calling every day for weeks lol. Anyways, another company was hired and they were upfront at the estimate stage that they weren’t willing to try to repair my gutters in the state that they were left in, so I ended up having to replace all of my gutters which was way more work than I was planning to do in the first place. They ended up doing a fantastic job however. During the installation, I saw something that would have infuriated me previously. As they removed the leaf filter gutter protectors to collect the product for my return, I saw the inside of my gutters and they were filthy. I don’t think that they were cleaned at all. The local service manager came to pick up the removed leaf filter product the next day without issue. I supposed that warrants one star lol, although that’s seriously generous. To be fair, he was newly hired and was probably exactly what this company needed (just a few weeks sooner).

Review has 1 previous version
Approximate cost of services:
$5,060.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable record of your situation. Your situation is not our standard and we will share this information with our team to minimize issues like this in the future. Please contact us at 800-749-4566 if you would like to share any additional details we can take into consideration.

matt
matt
2 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Company Does Not Care

During our LeafFilter installation one of our security cameras on our garage was accidentally destroyed. We were assured by LeafFilter that we would be reimbursed for a replacement camera, but after we paid for our installation in full, we have literally been ignored - our phone calls and emails are no longer being responded to. DON’T BE FOOLED by their slick sales presentation about their unbeatable customer service - as soon as this company gets its money they no longer care about you… that’s the type of customer service $14,000 gets you. Not to mention that we are also still picking up scraps of metal and sharp nails all around our property left by their install team. When we look out our upstairs windows we can see several piles of nails still on our roof. I just hope when they eventually fall off I’m able to find them before any of the kids who often play barefoot around our pool do. Do yourself a favour and DO NOT EVER purchase anything from this company! We could have saved thousands of dollars and went with a company that actually cares.

Approximate cost of services:
$14,000.00
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Matt, we're concerned to hear about your experience. We'd like to get our support team involved right away! Please visit https://gutte.rs/3aLsVDi, where you can submit a service request at the bottom of the page, and someone will contact you shortly. If you prefer, you can call us at 800-749-4566 or email support@leaffilter.com. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

roxiane in Richmond hill
roxiane in Richmond hill
13 reviews Brechin, ON
0/10

LeafFilter North

This company has great homestar ratings and BBB but in Canada it seems to be very shifty. I made an appointment and a fellow turned up to do measurements. I know they are assessing how much they think you can afford as there's no reasonable product/labor explanation for the cost. My purchase hinged on the cost. I was prepared to buy it because of the American reviews. The price started at an OUTRAGEOUS $10k+ for '206' linear feet but dropped about 1/3 when I said that wasn't going to happen. Then I was told if they could put a sign in front there could be a further discount. Even $5500 is outrageous, as it didn't include HST. $6400 for gutter guards? When I further inquired about including/removing the HST, the salesperson kept saying he'd have to pay for it himself if the price got any lower! LOWER than $6400?!! I signed the contract because of the heavy rain but it was a poor decision on my part. Thank goodness for Buyer's Remorse law in Ontario and google reviews. I have sent two emails asking for the head office address so I can send my registered letter, or if the email canceling the contract will suffice and no reply. It might be a great product but the sales pitch is definitely bogus. It's odd that there is a reply to all of these terrible reviews yet the problem is never fixed. I am now off to the post office to send my registered cancelation letter to the head office. Note to LeafFilter sales team--when you are OVERCHARGING by a MILE, tell your sales reps to lay off the guilt tripping 'I'll have to pay for it myself' line.

Review has 1 previous version
Approximate cost of services:
$10,897.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing this with us, Roxiane. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Please call us at 800-749-4566 or email support@leaffilter.com. We appreciate your cooperation as well as the opportunity to resolve this for you.

Trainman
Trainman
0 reviews Peterborough, ON
10/10

There is However a problem

We had your product installed in the summer of '19 and recommended it to family and friends. We Were very pleased..but..this year a problem has arisen. Heavy wet snowfall covered gutters and because as weather warms snow melts from top down...it drips onto driveway and freezes.
Got any ideas other than using pails of "Ice Melt"?

Approximate cost of services:
$3,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are so grateful for your kind words. Awesome to hear that we are a trusted gutter cleaning resource for you and your friends! When you get a chance, please reach out to us at 800-749-4566 so we can help directly.

David in Old East York
David in Old East York
9 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Full gutter protection - broken contract

I had a Sales rep come out to quote me on full multi-level gutter guard installation. He spend an hour or so taking photos and writing information down. I got a call a few days before the planned installation asking if they could install a few days early (I agreed). He sent someone out with the wrong color gutter protection who could not complete the job. On my planned installation date, an installation manager came out and said they’d be back to me the next day. When I didn’t receive a call, I called in and was told that I would either have to pay for the rental of a lift (approximately $1100) or wait until spring. Needless to say, very unprofessional.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,800.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review, David. Your satisfaction is especially important to us and we sincerely apologize for your experience. Please contact us at 800-749-4566 to share any additional details so we can help you directly.

Jim
Jim
2 reviews Welland, ON
8/10

New Eavestroughs

Just installed the Alu-Rex through MBa Aluminum in the past weekend. No rain yet to see the product at work. But based on the looks from the install, it looks very nice.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about LeafFilter Gutter Protection

If you’re looking to upgrade your home with attractive, low-maintenance gutters, look no further. The experts at LeafFilter Gutter Protection are ready to provide you with the best service, by offering gutter replacement, cleaning, and repairs in addition to installing gutter guards. From its innovative design and award-winning technology to ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Gutters & Eavestroughs pros in Toronto?