Mattamy Homes

Builders
2360 Bristol Circle Oakville ON L6H 6M5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Builders
Mattamy Homes
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

32%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Mattamy Homes

Average customer rating:
2.8 10 (205 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oakville, ON
0/10

Sad experience

I have nothing good to say. The sales team passes my emails to service department. The service department does not respond to my emails. We found out that Mattamy did not pay their share of property tax and now Oakville town is after us for the April installment plus penalty. The contractors pass the issues to the 30 day warranty team. The whole company is about passing the blame while the buyers sit and wait . There is no quality control over their subcontractors.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
0/10

No aftercare once you move in, inflates prices for upgrades that are done poorly

Paid inflated prices for upgrades, to only have poor craftsmanship and sloppy work. Mattamy has no say or control over the hired contractors they use to build these poor quality homes.
Mattamy has used Covid as an excuse for everything, meanwhile construction of homes has not slowed down one bit…but aftercare and service is at an almost halt.
Literally waiting for resolutions on issues for months before getting a response or answer.
Service techs come in to fix issues but only need up making them worse. I have been passed through 4 customer service reps and the worst part about that is sharing the concerns all over again with the new person in charge. What sucks about all this is as a customer or purchaser you have no power or are treated like nothing once you close the home and the big company has it’s money.
Even employees complain about the lack of management within this company.
I don’t know one person on my street who is genuinely happy with the home they bought. Yet this company is making so much money and even through A pandemic.
To sum it all up…they don’t actually all care about their customers.
Also noticed and been told about insider sales reps giving privilege to certain homebuyers and spots during lot releases. One neighbour was able to purchase 3 homes on different phases allowing him to upgrade from a small 1500sq foot home to a 3300sq foot.
Using market price increases to make that available to them.
So when you hear about how inside sales rep give spots to people it’s true.. I myself had to line up to buy this disspointing home.

Was this review helpful?
Downsview Unhappy
Downsview Unhappy
1 review Burlington, ON
0/10

Terrible builder and company to work for

We were not happy at all with our new Mattamy townhouse in Downsview Park. We bought from another builder but Mattamy bought them out so we got a really bad house. Our site super was terrible and changed. We thought Angela was going to help us but she only begged us not to talk to the head office because she could get in trouble. Next time Kena came. She was the only one who ever helped us and really cared about our investment. I heard she was let go because she was trying to help our community and not walk away like her bosses wanted her to. George tried to help us too but then another lady (his new boss) came and told us we are out of warranty because they have to "close up this site". Leaving us with stuff not done because we didn't go to Tarion based on Angelas begging. They have a bad way of treating people that work there and that buy houses from them. Stay away from this builder.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Gerald in Kingston
Gerald in Kingston
1 review Oakville, ON
2/10

Worst Construction Methods Possible

Terrible construction methods and lazy subcontractors looking for every shortcut possible. Runaway from any home built by this corporation as fast as you can. Corporation may attempt to stay competitive but, have certainly moved away from their core values. Lost control of the their subcontractors with no accountability.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Barbara in Thornhill
Barbara in Thornhill
1 review Milton, ON
0/10

Product, service and workmanship

Do not buy a Mattamy home.
The workmanship that you recieve when they delay your closing 3 times and they don't want to compensate you so they "rush" to get things done in time for your closing is terrible! Sure everything looks great when you move in and within the first year. But then things start to shift and you see the poor finishing in the moldings, casings and flooring amongst other things. We have drafts in some of our windows which they said was okay at the 1 year mark. All our flooring has shifted where you can see the short cuts they made (but of course that is not warrantable if you don't note it earlier). 3water leaks in 2 windows and the garage repeatedly happening over the last 3 years. Multiple visits and multiple "fixes" that are not working. I have 2 holes in the bulkeaheads above each window and a hole in the ceiling of my garage since July/August last year. Let me tell you, you are not getting a "sealed" energy efficient home. I may be a "one of" case but either which way they have poor customer service. #poorcustomerservice

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Bracebridge, ON
1/10

The Mattamy Way

A purchase agreement was signed Sept 2018, with a tentative closing Dec 4th, 2019.
In Nov 2018 I requested a design guide from customer service but was told “Thank you for your email. I’d like to apologize for the previous correspondence and provide clarity as to why we no longer offer any design guides.” When we initially visited the Mattamy design center to choose options, the staff refused to provide us with any pricing.
On Wednesday July 31st, 2019 we were requested to attend a meeting to review the new house details. At the meeting we were advised that the construction progress was on time for a closing date of early December 2019.
Two weeks later on August 14th, 2019 we were advised that the Closing was extended until Mar 10th 2020. No specific explanation or apology was offered as to why we were mislead.
The house closing was delayed and finally closed 18 months after purchase date.
Mattamy design center originally refused to provide us with a list of design guide prices. We were expected to sign the final papers with absolutely no advance idea of pricing. I suspect, there was a purchaser uprising and Mattamy finally conceded to provide a basic design guide with “some” pricing.
At the PDI, the house was filthy inside and outside and full of defects and missing infrastructure. Apparently, Mattamy purchasers are responsible to ensure the house has been built correctly.
Apparently, this is the Mattamy way.
Luckily, we have had less problems than most of our neighbours. They have experience flooded sewage in their basements, leaking roofs causing considerable interior damage, vinyl siding that keeps falling off, incorrect kitchen cabinets that had to be replaced, cracked counter tops, hardwood flooring that was installed incorrectly, etc, etc, etc.
Mattamy used to build quality homes and provide quality service, but something has changed for the worst in the last couple of yeras

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Priyanka in Richmond Hill
Priyanka in Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
2/10

Poor work and cheap materials

I bought a townhome in Scarborough. I am extremely frustrated with mattamy. Cheap materials, poor workmanship of homes. The builder tries to get out of repairing defects by quoting the building code and does the the bare minimum fixes.

Advice to anyone that buys with mattamy, note all defects in your 30 day claim or mattamy will try to get out of fixing certain defects by using “this is due to natural shifting of the home.” Also, ask for plans of where utility box and mailbox will be placed or you’ll end up finding out after you move in.

Was this review helpful?
German in Winnipeg
German in Winnipeg
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
1/10

Town House unit

Stay away from this builder ! Poor quality work , cheap materials, customer service below any rating (it takes weeks before they give you any answer except " we will update you " ). Company breaks their own promises like no tomorrow. Warranty department does everything possible to avoid responsibility and fix the issue. Appliances department does want he wants without even letting you know about the changes or delays. Bottom line do yourself a favor and stay away from this company if you want to get good quality house and reliable customer service.

Was this review helpful?
Priyanka in Toronto
Priyanka in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Poor quality house

Never buy house from Mattamy!!! Terrible builder.

We bought a brand new house from Mattamy and moved in 2 months ago. Since day 1 of our moving we are facing numerous challenges and difficulties. We having been dealing with roof water leak from our move in. Water is leaking from kitchen and also dripping through smoke detector. They have been sending contractors every week for repair but they can’t get it fixed.
Horrible service after paying so much for the house.

Was this review helpful?
Mehdi in Toronto
Mehdi in Toronto
0 reviews Milton, ON
2/10

Poor quality houses with worst customer service

Just moved to a one year old townhouse in Milton. Day one I opened a valve and water leaked from all over the main floor ceiling and floor covered with water. There is a disconnected pipe in the ceiling! ridiculous! Called warranty and they sent an inspector to find the disconnected pipe. The inspector made three big cuts to the ceiling until he found the disconnected pipe. After 4 days they sent me an email which says I have to wait for 3-4 weeks until they fix the issue. I called to ask for an expedited service but the agent said it is not possible, then I asked to talk to a manager but the warranty coordinator refused to transfer me to a manager!

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Mattamy Homes

Welcome to Mattamy Homes: One product, lovingly crafted, humbly sold, then proudly owned. That's how it starts for most companies. That's how it started for Mattamy Homes in 1978.

Mattamy Homes is rigorous about every single aspect of community planning. We acquire the land, design the homes, plan the streets, and we create the people spaces—the walking and biking trails, parks, and other community features.

Still, our process remains unchanged in one fundamental way. We continue to keep our eyes, ears, and minds open. We talk to our future and present homeowners to completely understand diverse and evolving styles of living. And we continually attempt to provide for you the best, most liveable spaces with everything we learn.

Mattamy Homes is the largest privately owned homebuilder in North America, with a nearly 40-year history of operations across the United States and Canada. Every year, Mattamy helps 7,000 families realize their dream of home ownership. In the United States, the company is represented in 10 markets – Charlotte, Raleigh-Durham, Phoenix, Tucson, Jacksonville, Orlando (where its US head office is located), Tampa, Sarasota, Naples and Southeast Florida – and in Canada, those communities stretch across the Greater Toronto Area, as well as in Ottawa, Calgary and Edmonton. Visit www.mattamyhomes.com for more information.

CATEGORIES
Builders
PRODUCTS
Townhomes, Detached Homes, Single Family Home, Highrise, Mid Rise Condo, Attached Homes, Two Story Home, Single Story
STYLES
Modern, Contemporary,
SPECIALITIES
New Urbanism
WEBSITE
http://www.mattamyhomes.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1978
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.