Empire Communities

Builders
73 Blackburn Drive Brantford ON N3T 6R9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Builders
Empire Communities
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

30%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Empire Communities

Average customer rating:
3 10 (29 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Trash developers

These are the worst developers in Ontario hands down. Please avoid like the plague. You will thank me

Approximate cost of services:
$800,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Wite
Wite
1 review Breslau, ON
3/10

Empire Riverland

Overall the structure of the house is good but for the finishes they use crappy trades with cheap fixtures. The drywalling and trim work is all done by armatures. Window seals are already shot after two years. Hardwood flooring creaks and pops. Customer service ignores you unless you follow up multiple times. They refuse to fix anything with their standard line being that the house needs to settle and the issues will resolve themselves.

Land grading is also painfully slow. 3 years later and grading is still not approved and we cannot put up a fence.

Approximate cost of services:
$800,000.00
Was this review helpful?
CS in Toronto
CS in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Phoenix

My Empire experience was a nightmare. Do not recommend anyone considers buying from this builder. The houses are basic, with cheap materials and no accountability once you have purchased. Avoid!

Approximate cost of services:
$800.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Leasette in Toronto
Leasette in Toronto
1 review Niagara Falls, ON
0/10

Purchased home

second new home. My experience in Barrie by another builder was great so when i decided to move to Niagara Falls I also decided to purchase a new home . However it was a grave mistake going to Empire for what should of been a great experience . They are unprofessional . They overcharge, under develop , and make empty promises that they dont fulfill. I purchased a home with a double a garage and was given a 1 !/2 garage space. The hallway was very narrow, had problems bring in furniture and appliances. I cant get anything in the basement because that space is also very narrow . I had to fight with them to complete the master bathroom , the hallways sounds like a haunted house . The tiles were uneven and started cracking. Bad judgment on my behalf . Should have done my homework on this company.

Approximate cost of services:
$700,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Alan from Toronto
Alan from Toronto
6 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Condominium Project Eau Du Soleil in Etobicoke

Will never buy from this builder *EVER* again. Will recommend against it to anyone I meet. What a nightmare it was to wait for a condo to be built with years of delays. The entire project is shoddy and used the cheapest labour and construction materials. The paint that I paid extra for was spelled out as latex in the contract however it was a powder based paint. The finishes were not fulfilled (frameless mirror closet doors however the top frame was metal -- bent out of shape as well instead of mirrors like in the showroom for upgrades). Everything delivered was poor. The paneling on the outside rattles and are misaligned. The carpeting was laid over cement in the hallways, and the cement was not smooth. Parking ramp is so narrow that two vehicles simultaneously passing in both directions are a huge danger. I had to offload this unit as I could not live in it for even weeks. Pre-occupancy was a year before title transfer. Noisy elevators in this building too that run 24/7 with mostly careless tenants. Sales promised it would be mostly owned units. Sales also promised a beam would not run down the waterfront view from the unit. Well it did in the worst spot obstructing the view and light from the living room. What a mistake it was to purchase this unit preconstruction. Empire is following in the footsteps of most other builders with reputation dwindling.

Approximate cost of services:
$410,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Ross  in Toronto
Ross in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Unethical Company

UNETHICAL COMPANY! I would never recommend Empire to anyone. They have absolutely no sense of solving problems all they want to say is no we cannot do this we cannot do that. I have been given a parking spot in the middle of 4 other spots with just lines. When asked about switching they said no. When I suggested installing a camera in case of an accident they said no. Moved in to the unit with bath tub clogged, BRAND NEW dishwasher not working, damaged hardwood floors and cabinets.
They also tried to force me to upgrade during the decor. They purposely show you a sink a size of bowl and scare you to upgrade to a $600 sink.
I even contacted the CEO, sales Director, VP of sales etc and none of them was able to do anything at all. No compensation no solution nothing.
Please stay away and go to other reputable builders out there and save yourself headaches.

Approximate cost of services:
$400,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
1/10

Not a pleasant experience

What can I say, this home has been a crazy experience. Let’s start by waiting over three years to move into it. On top of the three year wait the job was rushed, and the quality isn’t good. There have been many things wrong with the house. I obviously would expect a few but not over 100 items. To say the least I have tried to be understanding of the situation. What makes the entire process worse is that the employees are so rude and full of attitude. I actually can’t belive the amount of attitude you receive when trying to contact them about items that are broken, such as the front door doesn’t work due to the weather strip, the window doesn’t close, tiles are chipped, tile choices are the wrong colour. You have to be available for service Monday to Friday 8-4 as they will not work with your schedule. You book off work and lose out on money and no one shows up. The joys of building with this builder have been overwhelming. This will be my first new build and my last unfortunately.

Approximate cost of services:
$350,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

Delay delay delay

I had purchased a detached house in Stoney Creek Lush Phase 1 in September 2014. Since then my closing has delayed four times. Now they gave me new closing date of March 2018. Given their track record, I can't trust this builder.

Empire is the worst builder of Canada. Worst customer service. Management has no idea about customer service. They don't care about their clients. I had made the worst decision of my life when I bought the Empire house.

Despite my several calls and emails, they had no solid answer. Empire management only care about money. Very unethical and non professional attitude.

I would urge all potential buyers to please stay away from this mafia style builder. Buy from a reputable builder.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We value our customers feedback and would like to discuss further. Please send us an email to support@empirecommunities.com and we will look into your comments with more detail.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

Nightmare

We closed almost 2 years ago and it has been nothing but a nightmare. They have come to redo our hardwood floors and kitchen tiles several times to fix our sloping floors. And none of that worked. They even brought in their own engineer who told them they had to add more support in the basement. The engineer signed off on his report by only looking at pictures that empire sent him. Now I have to be out of my house for 3 weeks while they redo the entire main floor flooring and support it correctly as it still slopes. Our shower door has been leaking since day one
and it still isn't fixed. It is causing mould. All which tarion agrees has to be fixed. Our upstairs
where the bedroom the flooring also slopes. They have made the lives of my family horrible
for almost 2 years. Incompetent is an
understatement. Mike Holmes supports them but when u try to get him to step up you are ignored. I have so many pictures of all of the defects.
And we are not evening talking about the minor
things. The builder is despicable and all they care about is themselves and getting their
money. They don't care what they put you through and how much you have to fight to get things done.

Approximate cost of services:
$575,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for bring this to our attention.
It is unfortunate that there are extra repairs required in your home, we are committed to completing all repairs to your satisfaction. As per your agreement with Empire, we have scheduled dates coming up when the work will be completed. If you have any questions please contact us at victoryservice@empirecommunities.com Thank you.

Kul in Toronto
Kul in Toronto
1 review Brampton, ON
0/10

Algae in dishwasher/hoping for grass next summer from it

This house is totally nightmare. We complained so many times that our dishwasher is not working due to no power. they keep on making excuses that no 30 day warranty form. we got appliances after 30 day warranty form and still almost 6 months but no solution. my dishwasher has algae now. i hope to see grass from dishwasher next summer. it is not only dishwasher, nails are pooping out from everywhere. the powder room washbasin is not glued properly,and about to fell down any time. they fixed door many times still making noise.
we are very disappointed. they didn't provide me house for free. I paid for it. We learned a lesson never ever buy house from any builder.
it is totally a mental challenge.

Approximate cost of services:
$419,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Empire Communities

Empire Communities is one of Canada's largest integrated master-planned community home builders. Over the past 20+ years, we have built more than 10, 000 new homes and condominiums in some of the most sought-after locations in the GTA and Southwest Ontario. Our diverse portfolio includes neighbourhoods of beautiful homes, as ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Builders pros in Vaughan?