Reviews

10/10

- Very fast response to my initial inquiry - price was provided same day - Scheduling the hook-up was easy - Service was fast and painless, and George spent some time giving me an overview of my BBQ afterwards (something he didn't have to do)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Ben for taking the time to write about your experience with GasGuys.ca Inc. It was a pleasure working with you and getting your gas line setup. We try to go the extra mile and ensure all of our customers remain satisfied and are comfortable with using their appliances after installation is complete. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and for your business. Enjoy the new grill!
George

10/10

I called Flow Control Plumbing because I had a toilet that was running. They diagnosed the issue quickly, replaced the necessary parts, and also reseated the toilet to stop it from rocking. Everything was quick, professional, and affordable. I will definitely use them again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Glad I was able to fix your toilet issues. Happy to help without with anything in the future!

10/10

My old furnance and AC were nearly 20 years old. When the compressor went, we decided to replace rather than repair. I got multiple quotes from different people and Boris was by far the most professional and informative person I dealt with. He took his time examining the current state of things and sat down with me for 30 minutes or so to explain the ins and outs of how heating and cooling work in a residential home, and what the different options were for my house (we went with a 2 ton AC and 60k BTU modulating furnance). (The other people I spoke with spent about 5 minutes with me, and didn't even tell me basic things like the size of the furnance or AC without prompting.) After we decided to go ahead, Boris was able to schedule the work for a few days later. His crew (2 guys) showed up on time and were also very professional. The very first thing they did was laid down some drop sheets to protect our floors - something many contractors do NOT do. They told me at the start the work would take about 7 hours - and completed it in almost exactly that amount of time. When it was done, they explained the ins and outs of the new thermostat, filters, and that I needed to keep the existing humidistat fully on all the time (because the thermostat has a separate control for it). I can't recommend Cozy World enough. Everyone I worked with was very friendly, professional, and happy to answer every question I had.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Ben,
Thank you very much for your detailed review.

9/10

After buying a new house we discovered that the shingles were in terrible shape (the previous owners hired very poor contractors to do it). Mega City replaced my entire roof (on a ~2500 sqft house) in a single day. They were on time, friendly, communicative, and as far as I can tell, the work was done well. The thing that impressed me most was that they showed me exactly what was wrong with the old shingles (nails were placed incorrectly), and showed the correct way, and how it makes a difference. The only negative I have to say is that the garden beds around the house were not well taken care. One lavender bush was crushed, and when they were tearing out the old shingles some of them landed in our newly planted vegetable garden. I understand now that it's difficult to be absolutely perfect in this regard, but a heads up would've been appreciated so I could've taken extra precautions myself. Despite that, I would fully recommend Mega City. UPDATE: May, 2018. I just wanted to add that my roof survived both the ice storm we had this spring, and a crazy wind storm that knocked over tons of fences and ruined many roofs in the area.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ben,
Thank you for your support and review!!!
We appreciate your feedback and concerns.
Protecting homeowners property is our main priority but the odd time plant's and garden's can get damaged, especially when they are along the perimeter of falling debris above... Our biggest challenge and more concerns are windows, doors , air conditioning units things that are breakable!
Thanks again for your recommendations!
Keep well and dry for many years to come!!!

9/10

We purchased our current house knowing that there was a bit of mold in the attic. We called The Mold Guy to deal with it shortly after closing, and they were here within a few days. They showed up at 6am, because the attic can get quite hot mid-day. This wasn't ideal for us, but understandable. The work was completed by 3 men in 3-4 hours. They were quiet and clean throughout. They provided before and after pictures, which was very nice. At the end, I was informed that there was _still_ a leak in the roof that I should have addressed ASAP - they saw damp areas. This was surprising to me (the sellers of the house told us it had been fixed, and our home inspector didn't notice anything), but was clearly true. I was quite happy with The Mold Guy, although I was a bit surprised at the price ($2600 / 3 people / 4 hours = 216/h/person), but I'm not sure what the materials, travel, and other costs involved are. This might be totally normal for the industry. I would certainly still recommend them for their quality of work and the fact that they told me the roof was still leaking.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review Ben! As you suspected the costs of materials get costly, especially on large attics such as yours. While I have an audience here, attic mold is typically a winter problem caused by ventilation or insulation issues that need to be addressed. It is important to check or have the attic checked on a cold winter morning (like -5) before the sun comes out, if you have frost or icicles in your attic you still have a moisture issue. Call a professional. Enjoy your new home Ben....Cheers...Ross

10/10

We bought a house that previously had a roof look, and knew there was some mold in the attic. When we had that cleaned up the mold people told us that there was _still_ a leak. We called Tom and he was there the next day and discovered that the shingles were barely hold end by anything - just a little bit of of glue and/or nails at the top, but the bottom 4/5ths could essentially flap in the wind. He took a couple of videos to show it just how bad it was - no wonder we had water in the attic! Tom gave our roof what we called a "tune-up", and fixed it up enough to make it through the winter. This was done by glueing it down in many places, add some nails in others (with caulking on top of it), and doing additional caulking around the flashing and other places. He also advised us that despite the fact that the roof was recently done, that it was done so poorly and with cheap materials that we should do it again next year. Tom was extremely friendly and handled breaking the news of how bad it was to me well. He didn't try to skirt around it, and showing pictures/videos of the problems was a really nice touch. I'd recommend him to anybody.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ben,
Thank you very much for your support and review.
I always prefer being upfront and honest when it comes to roofing disasters. No beating around the bush kinda policy i always say.
In your case it's unfortunate that you purchased a home with a very poorly roofing installation. But were here to make it right and leak free.
That's why today it's so important to do your dudiligents, in finding the proper professional company's as you found us here on HomeStars.
Thanks again for everything and please don't hesitate to contact me anytime if you require any further help or assistance.

Keep well Tom Geo

10/10

I called Aire Max to repair the air conditioner at my new house, which turned out to have blown a capacitor. They came the next day and quickly diagnosed and fixed the problem. They also gave me advice about maintaining it, because the grass had grown taller around it, and the filter was covered in dust and dirt.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking your time to write a review hope in future we serve you again if you need

9/10

Draincom replacement my water main shut off, which was leaking, with a new ball valve shut off. The new valve works perfectly and the work was performed relatively quickly. I called around to a number of places before choosing Draincom and their price for this was competitive. One thing I particularly liked was that Yuri asked me to call the city about 15 minutes before he was done to get the curb stop (outside shut-off) turned back on. This minimized the amount of time the water was off for, which was much appreciated. The only negative I can say is that he arrived about 20min after the original scheduled time - but called me within the original window to let me know.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much! The staff at DrainCom Inc would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for your patronage. It is our pleasure to service your home. We want you to know that we truly value your business and appreciate that you trust us with all your Plumbing, Drain, Waterproofing needs.

10/10

After making too many mistakes trying to install them myself, I called a number of handymen to find someone to install them for me. Matt was the only one to call me back, and they were installed within 24h of getting in touch with him. He put down drop cloths to protect my floors (something not all contractors I've had in the past have done), and all the rods are installed in the perfect place and rock solid. I will definitely be using Matt again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Ben for the great review, we always use drop cloths to protect your flooring on any project. Glad your happy with your new curtains.
Sincerely Matt the Reno Guy

10/10

Our new house required replacements for the kitchen drawers (which were falling apart) and new ones for the ensuite (which had none at all). Dan was here within a couple of days for a quote, and the drawers were installed within a couple of weeks of booking the job. Dan was friendly and professional, and the drawers are absolutely perfect. I can't recommend him highly enough.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Ben!

10/10

I first got in touch with Newridge when I was looking for a new house - I was looking for ballpark quote on hardwood, and Scott responding very promptly, which helped my wife and I make an informed decision. When we eventually bought a different house, I got in contact with Scott to do about ~1,200sqft of hardwood floors in it. He sent Sebastien out to have a look, and I had a full quote in hand within a day or two. We decided to do the carpet removal ourselves to save a bit of money, which they were happy to accommodate. We also included a buff of the stairs in the quote, which were previously covered with a carpet runner. A week or so before the work began Sebastien came by again with samples so we could choose the wood. We were doing our best to match an existing one, and he helped guide us towards the right choice. The work began on a Monday and there were a couple of complications: 1) The stairs were in too rough of shape for buffing to be useful (they need restaining) 2) The nosings at the top of the stairs and edge of the landing were too low (the old flooring was carpet, which sat lower than the new hardwood). Sebastien recommended foregoing dealing with the stairs for now, and had to bring in someone else to deal with the nosings (someone who specialized in stairs, I believe - because the pickets had to be removed to raise the nosings). The price was adjusted accordingly for both of these changes. The work was completed ahead of scheduled and is absolutely perfect - not a scratch anywhere. One thing to note is that Newridge doesn't do the work themselves, they hire others (in my case, Sebastien of Mr. Sandman). This wasn't obvious to me at first, but is clear when reading their website. Based on my experience I'm confident Newridge doesn't hire bad contractors, but I can only speak directly to the work done by Sebastien & Mr. Sandman.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Ben for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure for both Sebastian, myself and his crew to work with you.

I do want to make one comment in regards to Ben's last point. He is 100% correct we partner with independent contractors that do great quality of work and how our company operates is explained in full detail on our website. But to further clarify we do not hire or sub-trade the contractors are invited and remain in the group as long as they continue to meet certain criteria. We are two sided business to benefit both the consumer in finding the right contractor to work with and as well for the contractor helping them with state of the art customer service for clients and access to marketing opportunities with an ever growing brand. We will also be expanding our business including offering additional services like a new financing solution for the homeowner. Feel free to contact us for more info.

Please keep us in mind for any future projects and let your friends and family know if they are looking to update there hardwood floors and/or stairs. Thanks again.

Regards,
Scott

6/10

My wife and I put an offer in on a house on a Tuesday evening. It included a home inspection clause, and the seller's were insistent that we do it the very next day. I found 4Sight on Homestars and give them a call immediately, and got the inspection scheduled for 2pm the next day. Steve showed up early and went to work on a VERY in depth inspection, including: * Close to an hour outside inspecting the foundation, vents, downspouts, and eavestroughs * Significant amount of time in the basement checking the furnance, electrical, hot water tank, and exposed structure. * Water pressure checks * Attic inspection * Thermal imaging * Much more than I can't recall He found many minor issues (old caulking, old windows, low water pressure upstairs), but the most important thing was the small amount of missing shingles on a peak of the roof. After looking around the attic he discovered that a small amount of water had penetrated, and that some shingles, and possibly some sheathing. He used thermal imaging to check whether water had gotten down past the insulation (it had not). A small amount of mold was found as well, and gave me advice on both how to deal with making sure the roof was fixed before closing, and how to keep an eye on the mold (it was such a small amount, not worth removing unless it grows). The report was delivered as a PDF the same day as the inspection, and included many pictures showing the potential problem areas. EDIT a few months after closing on the house: I'm a bit disappointed that the extent of the issues with the roof were not found. We had the mold removed recently, and they told us there was still a leak. When we had a roofer in, he discovered that the shingles were barely held down at all - only about the first 1/5th of them. This means they could essentially flap in the wind, and water could easily get in during high winds. Due to this, I need to downgrade my review.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Response to .... EDIT a few months after closing .....

Ben, Thank you again for your feed back.

Home Inspectors are no different than family physicians, we are generalists, we can only report on what our 5 senses may tell us. A family doctor may recommend that their patient see a specialist thus determining the cause of the problem. Home Inspectors like Doctors get the ball rolling, in most cases the specialist will discover things outside a typical examination.

The evidence and clues that we presented on site and in the 82 page report was very clear that the home had roofing issues. The very 1st page of the summary section, we reported on Leaking. This was captured by a photo showing missing shingles at the roof transition outer ridge, and by another photo in the attic showing water stains in that location of the missing shingles. We also reported on and photographed suspect mold in various locations in the attic. We were very clear in the report that the probability of leakage was high and that a qualified roofer be consulted immediately.

We would not have been able to determine how well the shingles were fastened as we indicated in the report that the roof was inspected from the ground because of (Lack of access (too high/steep)).

If you choose to, please consider adjusting your rating.

Origonal Response - Thank you very much for your review, others reading this will benefit for sure. A Thorough inspection comes from years of experience and a methodology of refined practice. I use a search and rescue approach to my inspections as you had witness during the inspection. I have done many inspections where the client wants me to jump around randomly, that approach does not work. Thank you for your patience during the inspection, there was a lot of ground to cover. Thank you again. Steve Blayney, 4Sight Inspections Inc.

10/10

My garage door cable snapped at a very inconvenient time - right before the buyer's for my house were about to have their first viewing. I called Markham Garage Doors first thing next morning, explained the situation, and they had someone here within hours. Both cables were replaced, everything was tightened up, and my door was back to 100% in less than an hour. The speed, quality, and value of their service was amazing, and I would recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review. We are happy to have had the chance to earn your business. We are here to help with any garage related issue. The Markham Garage Door Team!

10/10

We had Oborne redo our aging upstairs bathroom, and it turned out fantastic. The obvious parts of the job (tiling the shower/floor) were done perfectly, but it's the attention to detail that really impresses me, including: * Levelling the floor where it has sagged * Very careful attention to ensuring waterproofing around the exterior window inside the shower stall * Consultation when little things come up (eg: new vanity doesn't centre perfectly underneath the lights, what to do about floor transition to hallway after old one couldn't be removed intact) * Very detailed contract, with all items of work called out, and checked off on the on-site copy as completed. This was my second time working with Oborne, and I will not hestitate to call them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Ben, it's quality first with us. Sometimes it takes longer but it's a small price to pay for good workmanship. Hope to work with you again soon.

10/10

We had been hearing scratching noises in our main floor ceiling for a couple of weeks. We called in one company, and the person they sent was not very attentive, didn't listen to us very well, and ultimately recommended treating the entire house. I called Joe, and he thoroughly went over the house, answered all of my questions, and established that we did NOT in fact have a full house infestation. We treated the one problem area, and saved money doing so.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks guys.Joe

10/10

My experience with Oborne contracting was extremely good. Their communication (both with John and Dean) was top-notch. The work they did was done quickly and with attention to detail and quality. Even after the job was done, John was willing to talk and advise me on maintenance and other things I had questions about. Before the work started, John advised me on who I had to contact to get a building permit, and also provided assistance with the application itself. I consider this above and beyond what he had to do, and was invaluable for someone new to the process. On the first day of work, John was on-site to introduce me to the foreman (Dean). Colin was also here to make sure the drawings and plans were well understood. When the work did begin, Dean was attentive to any questions I had, and was even happy to step aside for a minute when I wanted to take a picture of the in-progress work. Dean organized both the initial and final building inspection, and waited patiently for the building inspector both times. After the work was completed, John came over and spent an additional 20-30 minutes with me, answering all questions I had, and even providing useful advice on things I hadn't thought of. I can't exaggerate how good the communication with Oborne was, that alone makes them worthwhile. I will definitely be calling John again when I need more work done, this was by far the best experiencing with contractors I've had.

Was this review helpful?