Reviews

10/10

Trevor (and Skene) showed up when he said they would, were knowledgeable, gave advise, and gave a quote on the spot that was far more reasonable than other quote I had, and was able to perform the job quickly. Then ensured the area was clear of brance debris.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I am quite seasoned with property management and renovations, and designed a kitchen based on days of hours of research. I took this, and measurements to Rockwood. Included in their service, was revising my designs based on their extensive years of experience. All of their suggestions vastly improved the design. Then they came, measured, delivered precisely in the date-range they initially provided, and installed quickly and with no after-mess for me to deal with. However this review is about their customer service. It has now been four years since I first required their service. In this time I have contacted them on various questions, and often the same day, or within 24 hours, they have not only responded, but also provided a video of the solution. This kind of customer service is priceless. I look forward to eventually using their service to replace and renovate other kitchens.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
8/10

Many Pros: Ali assessed the jobs, replacing shower faucets in three apartment units, provided a quote, and stuck to the price even after discovering more faucets needed replacing. I respected this. He came at the time he said he would, and wore shoe protectors while inside the apartments, and left the bathrooms clean as he had found them. Con: My new taps drip for 10-15 seconds after being turned off but this may be normal, I don't know.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Madam and thank you for posting this review for Unique Plumbing and I’m happy to have gained your trust and l look forward to servicing your plumbing needs in the future.

10/10

I hired Cummins Restorations to perform extensive brick replacement and tuck-pointing work at four separate properties. My evaluation of each project, is the same: - completed on scheduled date (except once when rained-out); - initial quote fee was same as final charge; - several days were involved in two of the properties. At the end of each day, the entire area was broomed and/or blown absolutely clear of debris, and materials still needed were organized neatly away from walking traffic; - Brian, Ben and Tyler are soft-spoken, respectful, and meticulous in their work performance and work attitude, working steadily the entire day in scorching sun and humidity. - exceptionally high caliber work, and professionals.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Rhonda!

10/10

Sue is a pleasure to deal with. She promptly responds to phone calls and emails requesting information. Sue carefully provided a quote and helped us with our decisions about options such as sink size proportionate to counter. And when we should her our ideal stone, she quickly got the quote and we had it installed within a few weeks. By the way, her quote was among the best I had, and I got many. About Martin, the owner. They say one test of a truly great company is how it handles a challenge. There was some minor mixup at one point, and immediately upon my contacting the Company, it was resolved. Martin personally saw to it being corrected almost within minutes (actually, within 15 minutes). He was calm, sincere, on top of everything, and in general, a true professional. I will be happy to work with him and his company in the future. I Highly recommend them!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words!

10/10

Gloria always promptly responded to my phone calls and emails, and provided whatever answers and information I requested. She provided a quote and options quickly and was among the most competitive price, and I really looked around. Vincent promptly arrived to take measurements and show me samples of various options. He also added value in allowing slight extra clearance above stove vent, and ensured dishwasher door opening clearance before we selected our pull hardware. Vincent arrived punctually to install and left the place clean upon his departure. Gloria, you emailed me to ensure all was fine with the installation. The answer is, most certainly, yes, and that I am glad we worked together on this.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Rhoda. It is our pleasure to serve you and work with you. We are glad to know that you are very happy to our service and workmanship. Enjoy!

10/10

Lukas arrived on time to provide quote, and stuck to quoted price. Before expanding work, Lukas provided additional quote, and stuck to that price as well. Quality work was done, and proper materials used. Lukas genuinely wants to do the job right, and gets to the root problem so the job stays looking good after they leave. Lukas also manages the client well, placing customer satisfaction tied with providing excellent workmanship. Both are critically important to Lukas, who continually checks to ensure the customer is happy with the job. I am now in the process of obtaining quotes from Lukas with the intention of hiring his team for two other projects.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

After Kevin from The BBQ Guys patiently answered my many questions via phone conversation and emails. His response time for both, is quick. And I finally selected and ordered from them a Weber bbq. The day before delivery and installation, I cancelled the order, and was given a full refund. My existing bbq had seemed to resume working fine, only to stop, once again. As in the beginning, I called Weber directly to trouble-shoot my problem. (Weber is also great to work with.) However Weber just kept directing me to replacement parts, some of which were under warranty, which they quickly shipped to me free of charge. But my BBQ still only worked inconsistently. So Kevin - after my cancelling my order and now still asking him questions - Kevin asked me to describe the problem that was causing me to consider replacing my existing bbq. Within seconds of my explanation, Kevin told me what the problem was. It turned out that human error was the root of the problem. (Weber hadn't considered that.) But Kevin was certain from the symptoms. Kevin could have sold me extra parts, or even a replacement Weber bbq, but instead, he honestly advised me of the fix. I went home and the fix, has fixed the problem. We have used our existing bbq repeatedly now, which prompted me to write this. I want to promote an honest and knowledgeable professional who runs his business with honour and integrity.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Something was stuck between dryer drum and surrounding cavity and Sam removed it. He showed up on time and charged within the rate quoted

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Rhonda for taking the time to write a review for our work. It was a pleasure fixing your appliance.
Looking forward to serve you in the future.
We appreciate the business of great client like you!
Regards,
Sam Alexander

3/10

Pros: I've used their services twice and: they provide a quote upon arrival, do the job successfully, and stick to their quoted fee. The second job was messy, snaking a kitchen sink, and the plumber advised me before he began, to remove items immediately surrounding the trap. The plumber also tried to wipe up dislodged splatter that had landed on the floor and walls. He also had some rags to protect the area directly below the trap. Cons: For both service calls, the plumber arrived almost three (3) hours after the scheduled appointment time. On the second "snaking" job, the clogged-grease that had been released by snaking landed on nearby curtains, ceiling, furniture, floor, shelving, and everything on the shelves within several feet of the snaking. The plumber should have advised me in advance to lay a drop sheet in the area, or better still, he could have come prepared with a drop sheet. The entire area had to be disinfected after the job.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rhonda,

I am glad we had a chance to connect on the phone about this review. This is very uncharacteristic of our team as we work very hard in the office to schedule everyone appropriately. We did check with the technician that he was going to be on time to your call however we failed to come through. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience.

10/10

The day of service, I was called with an approximate time of arrival, which they met. They provided a price we agreed upon, and the stones were quickly and neatly removed. I would contact them again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello there!

We're glad we were able to get rid of those stones for you so quickly! Thanks for the feedback! We look forward to your next call!

Regards,

Tyler and the 1-800-GOT-JUNK? Toronto Team

1/10

Today, I found a side table from West Elm and two pillows from Urban Barn that I wanted to purchase. Because I knew these brands, I looked up both products online and discovered that Of Things Past listed the first "mark-down" price at a higher price than what West Elm and Urban Barn were charging for these items - brand-new. The West Elm side table - new - cost $279. Of Things Past had listed it at $307. The Urban barn pillows - new - cost $99. Of Things Past had each listed at $106. So what is happening here, is that Of Things Past marks-up the original value so that when they show the discounted prices, it appears like you are getting a bargain, when in fact, you are paying more than the original value of the item as if it were brand new. I paid Of Things Past $269 because my purchase was in the second month so the table had been marked down from $307. (By the way, the table did have scratches and imperfections, and shows that it had been used.) Unfortunately, I price-checked after purchasing these items from Of Things Past. When I discovered that Of Things Past base-price for the table was more than the brand-new price, I felt I had been duped by this under-handed "pricing strategy" and wanted to return the items I phoned Of Things Past to explain the situation and was advised that this has happened "only once before", yet they didn't seem surprised nor did they offer to rectify the pricing. For me, a satisfactory customer service response would have been to apologize and offer to adjust the pricing accordingly based on pricing information that can be verified both online and by phoning the respective stores. What under-handed marketing and pricing. BUYER BEWARE. Of Things Past did offer that I could return the item even though it's not their policy.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We're sorry that you had a poor experience. We have thousands of items in the showroom, and while we do try to investigate pricing and ensure that we are below retail pricing, we are not infallible. Some stores will price - brand new items - higher than other stores. We can't control pricing from other stores, nor can we control when they decide to lower their prices.

It is unfortunate that you think that we are trying to 'dupe' customers and the general public, with our pricing strategy, but this is simply not the case.

We wouldn't 'rectify' the pricing, because if we've already agreed to a price with the consignor, then we are obligated to sell it at the price that it was agreed to. Those are the terms in our agreement.

We did offer for a full refund of your purchase, which you've stated. The offer still stands,however we prefer that you do it within the next few days, or at least let us know that you will attempt to come in to do so.

10/10

I actually got PMT's name as a referral from a roofing company. Phillip promptly provided a quote, came when promised, did the work expertly and thoroughly, with his crew cleaning up everything. Fast. Efficient. Tidy. I would use their services again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the awesome review! We really appreciate it, and continue to serve our customers the best way possible!
Thank you

10/10

I reviewed Anta Plumbing in 2013 when I had an emergency first in one building of mine, then another building. Both times, I was impressed with their efficiency, deep knowledge, and hard workers. So 4 years later, I contacted them as I had a basement flooding from four directions. They quoted me on exterior water-proofing, and completed the work in horribly difficult conditions (from freezing cold, to down-pouring rains with a make-shift cover over the work area, to hot sun and hard clay ground). They completed the work when they said they would, and price didn't change. But I must give a special mention to SLAVA, who has worked with them for years. He is incredibly knowledgeable, honest, and transparent. I work with trades constantly, and his qualities, set him apart. I trust him, and I don't trust (trades) easily. I also value Tanya, who essentially runs the place. She knows the business from ground up, and sticks to her word. I eagerly recommend this company today, as I did four years ago. Absolute pleasure to deal with them.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

To say thank you for your trust, patience, cooperation and help will be not enough ! We so much value your assistance, without you it will be hard, very complicated project with so many different nuances all over the corners in a very specific time frame! I will keep your e-mail so human, so warm and full of kindness in our office main board for rainy days, for cold days, for days when projects are not going the way we try, when hope is always disappears. We need to have our valuable customers opinion on our work when we need support, as we all humans and it makes our life so different from morning to morning! Leakage is the technical issue-:) As plumbers with so many years of experience we can deal with overload, with complications but cooperation brings us a quality . Thank you my dear client! Anta Team with spring wishes!

10/10

Rockwood responds to phone and email promptly and thoroughly, and when visiting their store, I was always greeted promptly and courteously. Christina is patient and accommodating, and Vanessa is brilliant with design input. We came with our own, and she enhanced it, as well as incorporated some industry standards and codes. The Owner came to measure, and was efficient and friendly and kind. So was the Fabricator. Every deadline we agreed upon, was met. Price was clearly stated upfront. Although they got our initial attention with their "$5,500 kitchen" which of course, we didn't meet, they kept our business, with the quality of material, versatile design, and seasoned/expert input. I would most definitely use them again, and would eagerly recommend their services.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Our complex of five apartments have used Daniel's services for our joint parking lot area, which includes two driveways, and walkway areas in front and rear of property, as well as for lawn care services which include spring and fall clean-up. His team comes as promised, and Daniel, the owner, responds almost immediately to any texts, phone calls, or emails. He is reliable, courteous, and meticulously conscious in completing all responsibilities, often going the extra mile to keep his customers exceptionally satisfied. We are renewing the contract for our fourth year, and have every intention of continuing his services year-round. He may also service residential properties as well.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I've used services from Kingcal for several years now, and without exception, they've proven their knowledge at figuring out how best to accomplish something every time I needed their assistance. They come quickly for urgent needs, and come when promised, all other times. And they are friendly and courteous every single interaction. What a great company to work with.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I was taking a lot of time searching for three personal gifts for three very different demographics: a long-time friend for a landmark birthday, a young executive who isn't prone to wearing any form of jewellery except a classy watch, and my upcoming anniversary gift. I finally took a friend's advise and checked out Varouj's store. To my relieve he had a vast selection of unique items for every demographic, from inexpensive to very expensive. He aims to match personality and where at all possible, meaning, to the person about to wear the jewellery. And he did a magnificent job. I found all three gifts and for around $1,000 after tax. I could have selected far less expensive, or far more expensive, as the selection is vast. And while waiting for my items to be wrapped, he cleaned the jewellery I was wearing as well. I will go there for future purchases as well.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

My car was filthy due to my transporting plants and earth and bags of various materials which had spilt. I researched Google and Yelp for strong review ratings and called several places. Wash Me Now was the only place where a person answered (as opposed to having to leave a message), the price was below the other quotes and they also come to your home. Their fee had been based on of two men working for 1.5 hours. Although they ended up working continuously for 2 hours, the price remained the same. Excellent work, competitive price, reliable professional gentlemen: Victor and Koby.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I own and manage commercial and residential properties. So I have a vested interest in using HomeStars every single time I require a trade or vendor. I look at star ratings as well as definitely read the reviews. (And I feel equally responsible to write my own reviews.) And the trades and vendors are definitely aware of these reviews. Some have actually asked me to write a review for them after they know I'm satisfied. HomeStars Team also responds quickly when needed. So thankful to have this service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review! Glad to hear that the team has been working with you to get the most out of HomeStars.


First Review

10/10

We purchased furniture from Modera and found the owner/operator Sharjeel to be honest, patient and most willing to assist a customer regardless of whether or not it benefited his business. For Sharjeel, the customer's interests really do come first. And when we had an issue due to our fault, he handled it promptly and to our complete satisfaction. He is a man of integrity and we hope to do future business with his company.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

Paul Previdsa was contracted to renovate my home and required 50% deposits prior to starting each new task outlined in the contract. He would continually start new tasks, demand upfront deposit, but not continue the task, merely begin another new task. Being new at renovating at the time, I had quickly paid upfront for substantial work he would never complete. And any arguing to demand work be completed first, before new tasks/deposits taken, resulted in his walking off the job - while holding my hefty deposits. Ultimately I sued him SC-11-00089533-0000 and won a settlement for almost $14,000. This was half the funds I was out, but I couldn't bear further legal costs after 4 years of delays. Still I was unable to collect from Paul Previdsa/Previdsa Carpentry. So I placed a lien against his house and garnishment against his bank account. The happy ending is that after doing so, Previdsa has now paid off his full debt.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

The owner and lead installer, Moe, came punctually and promptly provided me with an estimate, which turned out to be the most competitive price. After accepting the quote, we booked a date for installation. When he needed to delay that date as his current job required an extra day, he let us know several days in advance (rather than the night before). His team arrived early , worked steadily the entire day, did an impeccable job, then swept the place and left it spotless. Moe and his team are nice, respectful people who completed a great installation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Rhonda for your Kind words, I would do it over and over, I will work harder and harder to keep improving and bringing top quality work to every home owner.
365 Installation Services
"Get an instant quote:
www.365installation.com
Check out our Instagram for updates:
www.instagram.com/365installationservices
We SPECIALIZE in Floor Refinishing
647-686-3693

10/10

Gary's quote was competitive, installation, fine and clean-up, perfect. But the reason for this review is because their word and warranty are EXCEPTIONAL. I have called them twice in the past 5 years. First, turned out it was a problem unrelated to the roof. But they arrived within 24 hours of my call to check out the issue. The second time I called, they also came immediately. And they did the minor repair within days. All times I've interacted with Gary Robar, he's had a cheery disposition, and a smile on his face. Nice bonuses.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

I have several properties and deal almost daily with dozens of trades and vendors. But this owner-operated Company stands far above the norm. Herman runs his company with personal care, honesty, integrity and morals. Believe me, these traits are a rare find in the construction industry. Herman: - returns texts and phone calls almost immediately; - calls when he says he will; - shows up when he promises; - works with his team tirelessly and oversees the entire project the entire time, another rarity. Herman unequivocally stands behind his workmanship and is true to his word. He also took the time to patiently answer my questions; he's knowledgeable and meticulous. He laid duradek across my balcony and also specializes in other forms of construction waterproofing.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

0/10

We hired Top Notch for year-round maintenance of our 5 low-rise apartment complex. In Spring, we spent much time creating a lawn and separate snow-removal contract. We clearly wanted them as our year-round provider. Lawn care is largely mowing straight across lawns on side-by-side apartments and are thus easy services to obtain, So we took many weeks to form a contract for both summer and winter services. Over the course of those 2 months it was absolutely clear that we sought a year-round provider. The 5 landlords involved would not sign one contract until wording on both lawn and snow-removal services was agreed to. In November several of the landlords made many phone calls to Top Notch requesting to formally sign our snow-removal contract agreed upon 6 months earlier. It took almost 6 weeks to speak directly to the owner, Dave, because Top Notch uses a 7/24 answering service. At that point it was MID-DECEMBER, and during a phone with owner Dave, regarding another matter. Then Dave was asked specifically about the snow contract. To our astonishment, he said we hadn't signed and pre-paid in May, so he hasn't space in his route to accommodate us now. Incredulously, we asked why we weren't advised in May of this requirement to pre-pay 6 months in advance, nor notified in September that we didn't have snow-removal services with them. When confronted, Dave admitted that he should have told us. But it was too late. He doesn't have room in his route for us. This appears to be a case of "Top Notch" finding more lucrative work and leaving us in a very precarious position. As if this review wasn't enough, I now have an addition. I had paid Top Notch through my credit card. Almost 10 months since we stopped using them, I was just billed on that same credit card!! They were not even at my property for lawn care the entire month!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

On many occassions I have required the services of Lock-Up Services. Without exception, I have found every staff member friendly, professional, and very service-oriented. They are prompt and punctually service within the agreed upon time-frame. However, I did have an incident in which I was not pleased. I had requested a deadbolt be placed on the new front door of my apartment building. They accomodated my request promptly. But only afterwards, was I informed that my intercom system would not function with a deadbolt. Thus, when tenants were expecting company, the tenant would have to come downstairs and unbolt the deadbolt to personally permit their guests entry. Obviously, this was ridiculous. I wished they had told me prior to installing the deadbolt. If the above wasn't bad enough, postal service could not leave mail. They have a key to enter apartment buildings, but are not allowed to accept building-specific entry keys. Thus, my deadbolt must be unlocked at precisely the time mail was being delivered. Again, ridiculous. I wished they had alerted me to these facts prior to installation, as they were well aware of this, seeing my intercom system blatently in view at the front door. I relayed my situation to the owner, Chris Wright. I was entirely at his mercy, since I had paid immediately upon installation. To his credit, he had the front deadbolt removed without charging me that labour fee. In addition to this, he also refunded me the cost of the deadbolt. Now this latter item did take several calls to accomplish. But again, to Chris's credit, he refunded me the full cost. I wish to add that at first, I had presented the wrong invoice for the deadbolt. Chris said the one I bought was more than double the invoice I had brought in. He certainly didn't have to disclose that. I feel the test of integrity and customer service truly reveals itself in how a company handles a difficult situation. Lock-up handled this with flying colours.

Was this review helpful?
2/10

I have purchased from RHD refurbished and "scratch & dent" coin laundry machines, stoves and fridges for my commercial property. I only purchase items relatively new, and clearly represented as being only 2-3 years old maximum. However it's now been one year since these purchases and everything is needing expensive repairs. Only recently I began checking with manufacturers to cross-reference model/serial number to age of appliance. It turns out that RHD sold me "almost new" appliances whose ages were actually from 2001 and 2003. So I recommend you check age of appliance you're intending to buy, before purchasing from RHD Appliances.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We sell refurbished coin operated washer/dryer. NOT scratch & dent... Must be misunderstanding.

10/10

I got my air ducts cleaned 2 years ago after extensive renovations. Recently I learned of all the air duct cleaning disreputable providers and suspected that I had also fallen victim. So I went on Home Stars to find a legitimate company to remove all the plaster that I thought might still be in the air ducts. I called several and went with The Duct Cleaning Specialists largely because of the extensive information relayed during our conversation. It seemed Paul knew what he was talking about, and willingly guaranteed I'd be able to view the job through the camera both before cleaning and afterwards. Paul's cousins arrived promptly and when showing me the camera view, we all realized that my ducts had indeed been properly cleaned earlier. I actually didn't need the service at this time. I accepted the service fee for coming and bringing in all their gear, as was only fair. To my shock, Paul called later and offered to reduce the $85+tax fee to $45+tax. I am shocked, and feel this deserves a top rating. Talk about service!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rhonda. Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience with us. The previous company that did the work for you, did a decent job, and really all we had to do was vacuum out the vents, which anyone can easily do, so just charging you for our time to come out was fair, so glad you appreciated the adjustment to the service call as you were not far of a travel for us anyways. Glad you were happy with your decision to have us in, and happy with our honesty. I'll pass the kind words to the guys as well. If there is anything else you need, feel free to contact us. Thanks again for your business, it is greatly appreciated. Paul


First Review

10/10

It isn’t often that a person meets a tradesperson who inspires the kind of trust that I felt for Tali, because of the kind of exceptional person he is. I hired Tali initially to paint my newly renovated open-concept main floor. I was impressed by his excellent cutting ability, and attention to detail such as removing the glass in the front screen door to properly paint the surrounding door frame. Yes, a painter should do this. No, many painters won't. I liked his work and had him continue and paint my entire house upstairs, basement, and exterior. The exterior was quite extensive, including a wrap around 2nd story deck with glass inserts between railing slats of which he was required to paint. Again, he did a great job. Throughout this massive task, he conducted himself with utmost honesty, agreeable nature, cleaning up after himself every evening, and long hours of work, well beyond an 8-hour day. Tali embraces a type of easygoing, yet full of integrity, approach to his work AND HE MAKES DEADLINES. After renewing my house, he worked on some commercial projects I have. He put in the extensive hours to meet timelines. Incredible person. Expert painter.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks

10/10

I am immensely impressed with AnTa Plumbing. I recently had a roof repair in which I was advised to obtain plumber services to snake both (flat roof) drains. I looked on Homestars to find companies, and spoke at length with Tanya. She first guided me that snaking was not appropriate under these circumstances. (I don't fault the roofing guy. It's not his expertise.) But I do like that she didn't just "go with what I requested." She then guided me to the internet to an excellent remedy I could get done with a skilled handyman at a fraction of the cost (diverting external eavestrough into lawn area). Because my apartment complex didn't have eavestroughs, she then advised me to hydro jet the drains (force flood with water to clear debris). She provided a quote. They came immediately to my property to confirm solution. I gave the go-ahead and the work was completed the same day for exactly the quoted figure. Ironically, at the same time they began working at my apartment, a house that I rent out around the corner from the apartment, called me saying their basement had water coming in from the entire front of the house. So I asked AnTa to come there to advise me. Within 24 hours AnTa had water proofed the inside front wall of the house. They used heavy plastic to protect the rest of the basement from dirt caused by drilling up basement and digging up dirt. They also did a great clean up and carted away all immensely heavy bags of concrete and gravel debris. And they honoured their quote even after they had to extend repair to a second basement wall. They had me stuck, yet they didn't increase the quote. And a thorough clean up as well of a big mess. I am most impressed by their thorough job and express service!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for that amazing review! Here at Anta our customers' questions and concerns are handled as efficiently as possible. Each call and issue requires it's own resolution and solution.The uniqueness of our customers' requirements is what keeps us on our toes, and encourages our techs and staff to research and learn from each project. We are certainly happy to have been able to provide the waterproofing service within the same time frame. Water that seeps in from the the foundation walls of a house can certainly make a mess, not to mention create damage and health hazards. In many cases we have seen, water seeping in under the floorboards has done damage to the drywall and/or floors. Mold can also begin to grow in these areas, which as we all know is a health hazard. It is a pleasure to be able to assist a landlord such as yourself who takes such care of thier buiding, and is concerned with the health and safety of thier tenants. Both our plumbing technicians and excavation crews take great pride in leaving the job sites thoroughly clean and presentable. Thank you again for that wonderful review!

4/10

I have an six-plex apartment complex. January 29th 3 tenants contacted me due to water leaking continuously into all three apartments (one apartment above the other). I called a number of roofing companies and Dominion Roofing was the first one met with me at the property. He sales rep saw the large soup pots of water, and ceiling damage (design-textured plaster ceiling). He also went up onto the flat roof to inspect the problem. He estimated the repair to take between 2-3 hours. He continued that a deposit was required to secure a repair appointment. I paid this immediately. Then I waited. The following week we had spring-like weather. But my 2-3 hour repair appointment wasn't scheduled. Fourteen (14) days after taking my deposit, I still hadn't been given an appointment. However by now the snow was melting and water was streaming continuously through all 3 apartments. Water damage was now extensive, spreading across 30 % of the ceiling and soaking hardwood floors in all 3 apartments, which hadn't originally been a problem. I relayed the severity of damage to Dominion Roofing asking them to see for themselves the pervasive damage far beyond that originally requiring roofing repair. Why had they pressed me for a deposit? Even when paying the deposit I questioned when my repair would be scheduled. The answer was, deposit first before appointment detail could be provided. Now if my situation was not urgent, I could understand a slippery appointment timeline. But under the circumstances, the damage to my 3 apartments now exceeds $1,000. This amount slightly exceeds the cost of my roof repair, and is absolutely due to Dominion Roofing not making my 2-3 hours a priority. Anyway, two weeks after losing my deposit to them, and faced with daily calls from tenants, I became insistent with Dominion Roofing to schedule my repair. I was told "tentatively in two days". The day before my "tentative" appointment I called several times to confirm the appointment. My calls went unanswered. On the day of my tentative appointment, I reached someone and was told they couldn't fit my repair in. After much discussion, they agreed to do it before the end of the week. Now the repair has just been completed. It is too soon to know if the job was done satisfactorily as only time will tell. Ironically, it took only take a few hours to fix. But now I must repair 3 apartments' ceilings and floors, which was absolutely unnecessary almost 3 weeks ago. So, if you need urgent repair, these are not the guys to call, even though they were first on the scene. They viewed for themselves that water was entering 3 apartments, yet my 2-3 hours wasn't their priority. If you are desperate enough to use Dominion Roofing, please don't give a deposit before securing a repair date. They got me good. But hopefully they won't get you. P.S. I feel compelled to update my review. I actually had reason to go up on the flat roof after Dominion Roofing had completed their "repair". It turned out the job was not completed! I immediately called them. They immediately agreed it required completion and scheduled it for the following business day. However I must stress that it was I who accidentily viewed the job and discovered that it was incomplete. Update. I had further problems with my roof indirectly resulting from correcting a plumbing problem. To Dominion Roofing's credit, they quickly came out this time to correct the issue, which they successfully accomplished.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review!

7/10

I paid Gem $4,000 for their Greenhouse window, with ~ $1,500 being the cost of window. They were repeatedly told it should be at 36 inch standard counter height. However, they measured it at 33 inch height. Thus my $4,000 window actually starts 3 inches below my kitchen counter, which it sits against. Gem salesperson promoted side-window openings. Unfortunately the cranks to open these windows are very difficult to reach because they are behind the kitchen counter. Also, the cranks are 3 inches below the counter top, which makes it impossible to crank. Thus, these side windows I paid extra for, are unusable. I feel the salesperson should have relayed this to me when promoting the feature, since he came to my house and knew precisely my kitchen counter plans. Also, the window locking mechanisms for these same side windows, are not reachable unless sitting on the kitchen counter. In Gem's defence, they did suggest I go into their showroom to look around. Unfortunately, I relied on the salesperson in my home and the brochures he walked me through. I wish I had gone to the showroom, although I'm still not sure I would have thought about reaching across my kitchen counter to access the windows. Hopefully you will now, after this review. If there is no counter between you and the window, then these side window openings are a nice feature. Because of the visual and practical obstacles on the $4,000 window 3 inches below counter height, I was upset and left many messages for a call back, which went unanswered. Finally, I took pictures and arranged a meeting with one of the owners, Jim, to show him my predicament. I believe a company can be judged by how they handle difficult circumstances. And to Jims' credit, he met with me. And we negotiated a resolution that met with our mutual satisfaction. To this date, approximately 2.5 years later, there have been a few minor issues with window locks. Though this does not happen often, I can say that each time, GEM / Jim stands behind his lifetime warranty, and promptly arranges a free GEM service person to remedy the situation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?